Blackberry Ice Cream

Click to enlarge

Blackberry Ice Cream

I tried my hand at blackberry ice cream tonight. I put 2c. in the batch pictured, but it was too tart/intense with the berry flavor for me (but not too tart for my husband).  Just not quite creamy enough for me!  So I’m lowering the amount of berries next time and have reflected that in my recipe below.  That said, YOU and YOUR family might not find it too intense on flavor/tartness with that many berries.  So you’ll have to experiment a bit with the amount of berries.

This is one I’ll definitely be making again!  My husband ate two servings with the higher amount of berries!   That’s as good as a thumbs up from him, as he’s a real ice cream lover.  :)  This recipe is not suitable until the berries rung of the OWL ladder.  If you don’t have the blueberry or blackberry syrup, you could sub DaVinci Vanilla  or French Vanilla and just omit the vanilla extract.

More delicious low-carb desserts can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1 c. blackberries, frozen, unsweetened (Do Not Defrost!)

1¼ c. heavy cream

1/8 tsp. vanilla

4 T. DaVinci blueberry or Monin Blackberry sugar-free syrup

12-16 drops liquid Splenda (or your favorite sweetener to taste)

2 tsp. food grade glycerine (optional, but keeps it a bit softer)

¼ c. powdered erythritol  (or reduce granular to a powder in processor)

DIRECTIONS:  Place erythritol in processor and reduce to powder.  Place all remaining ingredients in the processor and pulse until berries are broken up and mixture is fairly smooth.  Scrape out into dishes for a soft serve; freeze for 30 minutes for a firmer ice cream.  ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

282 calories

27.7 g  fat

8.25 g  carbs, 1.9 g  fiber, 6.35 g  NET CARBS

1.98 g  protein


14 comments on “Blackberry Ice Cream

  1. Can you direct me to a source for food grade glycerine? I looked on Amazon bur am not sure what I’m ordering. . . Thanks!


    • You sure can. I think it’s sweeter than Erythritol, so perhaps a little less.🙂 If you own dogs, be very careful with it and things cooked with it. Highly toxic to dogs and lethal for small dogs.


  2. Hello Peggy, I continually enjoy your blog and your recipes. Thank you for sharing them! I am really taken with the lovely footed dish in your Blackberry Ice Cream recipe. Would you possibly know the manufacturer or the pattern of it? Thanks so much for any assistance!🙂


    • I picked up a pair of them at a Marshalls or Tuesday Morning (can’t remember which to be sure, but now that I think back, I believe is was Tuesday Morning). I bought the only two they had at the time. Have seen them maybe one time since. The bottom reads Made in China. “Rose Chintz Gracie China” by Coastline Imports. Made in China. Being a Chinese import, probably difficult to run down. But Googling, they might turn up at other Tuesday Mornings. Worth a look see. I just bought them for taking photographs of ice cream and sauces for my website. It reminded me of that “Roses” pattern by Royal Albert a little. 🙂 Good luck on your quest, Janet.


      • Thank you SO much, Peggy!
        And thank you for all the wonderful recipes and the time you put into sharing them.
        I visit, enjoy, and use your site often. 🙂


        • Well I thank you for your support and vote of confidence, Janet. I hope to continue to please your palate with new ones. 🙂


    • No ice cream maker needed. I’m not familiar with Vitamix but since it works like a blender or food processor, I don’t see why you couldn’t use it.🙂 Hope you like this Sheila!


    • It’s real good, Mike, right outta the food processor bowl!! Saves on dish washing that way! LOL I just couldn’t stop eating it before I put it in the freezer so I could get a prettier pic. 🙂


Leave a Comment

