Cauliflower Pilaf

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I haven’t done too many riced cauliflower dishes since starting my Atkins journey and decided I wanted to try a new one to have with my oven-fried fish tonight. I had a huge, beautiful head of cauliflower in the fridge so I used half of it for this dish.  It came out very tasty and I will definitely fix this one again!  This recipe is very quick to put together and is Induction friendly.  This dish is OK for Induction.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


½ large cauliflower (6-7″ diameter head)

4 T. butter

3 oz. onion, chopped

½ c. chopped red pepper

½ c. cilantro, chopped

1 large clove garlic, minced

Dash each salt and pepper

1 c. Monterey Jack cheese, grated

DIRECTIONS:   Cut cauliflower into flowerets and place in food processor bowl (or blender in small batches).  Pulse until riced fairly fine.  You can do this with a hand grater, but it’s messy that way (gets cauliflower bits all over you and the counter).  Place riced cauliflower in a ceramic dish and microwave on hi for about 4 minutes, stirring at 1-minute intervals.  While this is cooking in the microwave, melt butter in a non-stick skillet over hi heat.  Add onion, red pepper and saute until they are tender.  Add garlic, salt and pepper and saute a few minutes longer.   Spoon sauteed vegetables into the cauliflower and add cheese.  Stir and pop into microwave and cook at 80% power for about 4-5 more minutes total.  Remove and serve with your favorite meat of seafood dish.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 5 servings, each contains:

197 calories

16.2 g  fat

7.06 g  carbs, 2.62 g  fiber, 4.44 g  NET CARBS

7.32 g  protein

252 mg sodium

15 % RDA Vitamin A, 17% B6, 79% C, 10% manganese, 320 mg potassium

4 comments on “Cauliflower Pilaf

  1. Oh Peggy,,
    thank you so much
    this is the best I have found yet..I too have
    Not done much with the RICE way of cauliflower but
    Fish is on the menu for today.. Already,, so I will do this to go with it.. I always do coleslaw but this will be such a great change..


    • My DH prefers coleslaw with fish, too, and I always make him some. But I love cooked cabbage better than slaw, so I always do a little cabbage stir-fry or some “potato-like” dish like this with fish for myself.🙂


    • Welcome to the site, Deborah! That pilaf was quite tasty and was real easy. I certainly do have that breading posted! It’s now our favorite fish coating. Sticks on better than any way I did fried fish pre-low-carb dieting.🙂 It’s actually baked in the oven instead of frying in grease. Just type “oven-fried fish” in the search box and it will bring it up for you.


Leave a Comment

