Chicken Cacciatore

Click to enlarge.  Shown with eggplant

Chicken Cacciatore (shown with eggplant)

I asked my husband what he wanted me to prepare with the chicken I thawed for dinner and he said “Something Italian.”    You can’t get much more Italian than Chicken Cacciatore, so that’s what I cooked for him.  It’s one of the dishes I made him before we got married. He tells me me often it and my shrimp curry cinched the proposal.  :)  As I prepared it, it dawned on me I have not yet included this long-time favorite on my website.   So here ya go!  This one only takes about an hour from start to finish to get it to the table, so that’s always nice.  This can be served on the tofu variety of shiratake noodles, but I find I really like it served with eggplant.

This recipe is not suitable for Induction unless you leave out the red wine.  But it just won’t be classic cacciatore without it, in my opinion.


1  chicken breast, (mine weighed 7 oz) deboned, cut into 3 slices (I leave the skin on)

1 large chicken thigh

1 large drumstick

2 T. olive oil

4 oz. sliced onion

1 medium green bell pepper, sliced

1 can sliced mushrooms (or 4 fresh mushrooms sliced)

1 clove minced garlic

3/4 c. chicken broth, low sodium

¼ tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. black pepper

1  can (14.5 oz) diced or crushed tomatoes (or 3 fresh Roma tomatoes, cut into wedges)

¼ c. red wine

DIRECTIONS:   Cut up the breast into 3 pieces, the thigh into two.  Heat 1 T. of the oil in a non-stick skillet and brown all the pieces well on all sides.  Remove the chicken temporarily to a platter.  Add remaining oil and saute onion and bell pepper a few minutes.  Add all remaining ingredients to skillet, stir and replace chicken pieces into the skillet.  Cover and simmer about 45 minutes or until the largest chicken pieces are fully done.   If it isn’t cooked down enough to be fairly thick on its own (tomatoes will vary in water content), I would thicken it a bit with a light sprinkle of your favorite thickener and simmer, stirring for a few more minutes before serving. This is traditionally served on spaghetti, but I usually just serve it by itself or with sauteed eggplant as shown above.  If you like them, the opaque tofu variety of shirataki noodles works well with this dish.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 4 servings each contains:  (does not include the optional eggplant)

274 calories

13.23 g  fat

8.83 g  carbs, 2.33 g  fiber, 6.5 g  NET CARBS

26 g  protein

741 mg sodium

2 comments on “Chicken Cacciatore

Leave a Comment

