Zucchini “Flower”

Zucchini Flower

Zucchini Flower

This fun creation was so easy!!  You could even let your children help you grow THIS flower!    And it tastes as good as it looks!  It was ready in about 30 minutes (if you cut your zucchini very thin), start to finish, as I keep a recipe of my pesto sauce made up in the fridge at all times.  Life is just so much easier when you keep stuff made ahead.  This recipe is only  Induction friendly if you leave the nuts out of the pesto sauce.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


9-10 oz. zucchini, sliced VERY thin

3 T. pesto sauce (or commercial pesto sauce)

6 T. grated Parmesan cheese

1/3 plum tomato

Dash each salt and black pepper

¼ tsp. dried, crushed oregano leaf (or 1 tsp. fresh chopped)

1 T. olive oil (a little more if using thicker, commercial pesto sauce)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease a shallow round baking dish or pie plate with a film of olive oil.  First, slice the zucchini very thin (I used a Rival slicer on the thinnest setting).  I had a very long zucchini, so I had to cut mine in half to get slices the right length for my ceramic quiche dish.  After thinly slicing all the zucchini, pull out the prettiest, rounded-end slices for the top layer.  After all, you’re striving for a pretty flower!  :)  Fan out a single (about 1/3 of the slices), slightly overlapping layer of zucchini in a circular fashion. radiating from the center to make the first or bottom layer of “petals” of your zucchini “flower”.   See the picture for what I’m trying to describe here.  Dot with 1 T. of the pesto thinly over this layer.  Next sprinkle with 2T. of Parmesan, salt, pepper and oregano. Now fan another layer of zucchini slices for your second layer, fanning out the outer ends a bit.  Dot with another 1T. of pesto sauce and follow with a  sprinkle on 2T. of Parmesan, salt, pepper and oregano.  Lay the final layer of “petals” of zucchini prettily in a similar fan fashion.  Sprinkle with the remaining Parmesan, salt, pepper and oregano. Strategically place the tomato slice in the middle for your flower’s centerpiece.  Drizzle the 1T. olive oil all over the final flower petals and pop into 350º oven for about 20-30 minutes or until zucchini is tender at the thickest/tallest center area when you insert a sharp knife point.  Serve at once with your favorite baked or broiled meat or fish entree.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 4 servings, each contains:

147.25 calories

13.45 g  fat

3.05 g  carbs, 1.05 g  fiber, 2.0 g. NET CARBS

5.1 g  protein

162 mg sodium

8 comments on “Zucchini “Flower”

  1. I made this a couple nights ago and it was delicious! As you mention, it was fun to make, even though my slicing skills need a little work. I even made your pesto sauce with walnuts, which was great, but it tasted a little bitter. I later learned that you should not make pesto in the food processor with EVOO – emulsifying EVOO is what makes it bitter – use regular olive oil instead. Have you heard of that? I’m sure I’ll make it again since the bitterness didn’t come through on the final zucchini product. Can’t wait to make it again.


    • Never heard of what you are describing. I always put EVOO in the food processor and have never tasted the bitterness your mentioned. You also see chefs putting it in their processors on television food shows as well. Don’t see how incorporating air could possibly make it get bitter. I don’t use walnuts in my pesto, but rather ground almonds. Walnuts themselves can taste bitter from brand to brand, species to species, so maybe THAT, rather than the oil, made your pesto bitter. Just don’t know what else might have done that. I’m glad you liked the overall flavor otherwise, and enjoyed making/eating the zucchini flower. If I had children I’d make this veggie often, as it is so fun to do and appealing to a child. 🙂


      • Thanks for your thoughts about the bitterness. I will try almonds next time – I can certainly see how walnuts might cause the bitterness.


  2. This is a wonderful recipe – I had so much fun making it, even though my slicing skills need work, and it was delicious. I even used your pesto recipe using walnuts, which turned out great, but a little bitter. I later learned that the problem was probably using EVOO instead of regular olive oil. Ever hear of that? Actually, the bitterness was mild and didn’t even come through on the zucchini. Can’t wait to make this again.


    • Welcome to the site, Sally! I was so pleased how pretty it came out. After I started putting it together, I feared I might have sliced my zucchini a little TOO thin and it would just break down to “mush”, bit it DIDN’T! Hope you try it some time and like it as much as we did.


  3. Just wanted to stop in and thank you for always commenting on my recipes at LCF! You are a dear! I wanted to send you an email but couldn’t find any contact information on your site here! Of course all of your recipes are divine!


Leave a Comment

