Yellow Squash Blossom

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I was so pleased with how my Zucchini Flower came out I decided to try it with yellow squash tonight.  Came out even prettier while still uncooked, but I browned it a bit more than I had intended, as a result of getting the slices almost too thin this time.   I served it with smothered steak and onions and a green salad.  Very easy and very good.  Again, I used my Rival slicer to slice the squash real thin, but will definitely set it for thicker slices for the yellow squash.  I’ll get a better picture next time I bake this but will go ahead and post this pic temporarily so readers will see how this dish goes together.   This recipe is suitable for Induction.


9 oz. yellow squash, sliced VERY thin

¼ tsp. onion powder

3 T. my pesto sauce:

3 T. grated Parmesan cheese

1½ T. olive oil

Dash black pepper

thick slice of a plum tomato

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat the oven to 350º.  Slice squash as thinly as possible.  Save out the prettiest round-ended pieces for the top layer.   Oil a ceramic round dish or pie plate with ½ T. olive oil.  Fan 1/3 of the squash slices around as shown in the picture.  Sprinkle with pepper, onion powder, Parmesan and dot with 1T. of the pesto sauce.  Repeat with the second 1/3 of the slices.  Place the final layer of slices on the pan and again sprinkle with onion powder, cheese, pepper and dot with the final T. of pesto sauce.  Now dribble the other tablespoon of olive oil (more if you like) on the top of the entire “flower”.  Pop into a 350º preheated oven for 20-30 minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

141.5 calories

13.8 g  fat

3.03 g  carbs, 1.0 g  fiber, 2.03 g  NET CARBS

2.58 g  protein

683 g  sodium

15% RDA Vitamin C

Leave a Comment

