Banana Pancakes

Banana Pancakes

Banana Pancakes

I’m getting real close to pancake heaven here.  The real banana in these makes these unacceptable until the “other fruits” rung of the OWL ladder on Atkins or until you are at Pre-maintenance or Maintenance.  But the carb count on these is respectable, considering the banana,.  These would be an occasional treat only, but a REAL good one.  I’ll be experimenting with this basic batter in future, as I think these were hands down my best low-carb pancakes to date.  I will be trying these with other berries, maybe crushed pineapple one day, pumpkin/winter squash, or maybe just plain next time.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 T. unsalted butter, melted

2 beaten eggs

1 T. cream

1 banana, mashed (3/4 cup)

1 pkt. stevia or Splenda

½ c. flax meal

2 T. almond flour

2 tsp. coconut flour

1 tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:  Melt butter in a medium microwavable bowl.  Add mashed banana and beat in the eggs.  Add cream and stir well.  Measure and add in all dry ingredients.  Stir well to a smooth batter. If batter is too thick, add a tiny bit of water, but mine did not require this.  Preheat griddle and lightly grease.  Using a ¼ c. measuring cup, dip ¼ c. batter onto hot, greased griddle into 6 pancakes, spreading batter out to size you like while still loose.  When 1st side is brown, slide spatula quickly under each and flip to brown second side.  These will puff up nicely.  Serve hot with butter and your favorite sugar-free maple syrup (I use Cary’s).

NUTRITIONAL INGREDIENTS:  Makes six 4″ pancakes, each contains:

132.3 calories

9.52 g  fat

8.78 g  carbs, 3.88 g  fiber, 4.9 NET CARBS

4.87 g  protein

91.7 mg  sodium

18 comments on “Banana Pancakes

  1. I just discovered your site two days ago and am trying one of your recipes as soon as I’m off here. So grateful to be able to try new goodies. I am back to goal weight but even better than that, I’ve overcome type 2 diabetes and no longer need blood pressure meds! I do not consume the poison they call artificial sweeteners and am not real fond of Stevia. I’m just wondering if you have tried Xyla, made from Birch bark. Not the one made from corn. It does have some calories in it but tastes and measures just like sugar. It does however, metabolize differently than sugar, making it safe for diabetics in moderation. No, I have no connection to the makers of Xyla, have just taken my health issues seriously and done extensive research. Thanks, hope this helps others. Sorry I’m so wordy!


    • Congratulations on reaching goal weight and I’m glad you discovered my site. Nearly 9900 recipes here now. All great for diabetics and modifiable for any sweeteners you prefer. Low-carb really is a miracle for diabetics, isn’t it? No, not familiar with Xyla at all. I may check it out though.


    • WOW, Denise! I’m impressed if these went over well with teenagers. They’re usually so picky about what they’ll eat, especially junior high kiddoes. I used to teach 15 year olds.🙂 Tell your son I’m glad he and his friend liked them so much!


    • Well I just don’t know the answer to that, Teresa. 3/4c. banana is a lot of moisture just to delete. I’d increase the eggs and cream until you get a pancake batter consistency. Not making any promises on how they will cook up. You just have to experiment a bit.


  2. Any special tips on using fresh blueberries in place of the bananas? Just picked up some blueberries at the store today and Dear Husband really likes blueberry pancakes! Trying to keep it low carb…..also looking for a blueberry syrup (low carb, of course). So enjoy all of your information and appreciate your help!! THANK YOU!


      • Thanks so much for your response……..yes, I did see your Blueberry Pancake recipe, but I’ve got to place an order with Netrition for some of the ingredients in that recipe….and, I have ingredients for this pancake recipe. Will try it in the morning for our special weekend breakfast! So glad I found you!! Thank you again!


        • QUOTE: So glad I found you!! Thank you again!

          Well I am too!! It’s always good to hear folks are enjoying the recipes so much. Good food is what makes the effort involved in maintaining this site worthwhile. If it helps people stick with a special eating regimen, Atkins or whatever program, we’re ALL winners! 🙂 Hope you enjoy those pancakes, my dear!!


    • Welcome, Frank! I’m glad you like them! Aren’t those tasty? and I’m so glad a 63 y.o. former teacher could provide an easy homework assignment! 🙂 I have over 450 recipes and most of them are pretty easy! Happy recipe exploring.


Leave a Comment

