Blueberry Coffeecake


A yellow cake recipe of KevinPa on Low Carb Friends forums was my inspiration for this cake.  Though I have never made the base yellow cake as written, this variation of the basic batter came out  very good with the addition of some blueberries.  It reminds me of a good pound cake in density and texture!  It was delightful with morning coffee.  I’ll definitely be experimenting with other fruit additions in this as well!  This retains its high level of moisture (stored in the refrigerator) over time.  For this reason it would likely freeze well.   The blueberry flavor mellows on day 2 and 3 also!  My addition of coconut oil adds a slight hint of coconut flavor to this also.  This recipe is not suitable until the grains rung of OWL as there is some flour product in the Carbquick.  I order all unusual ingredients in this from from

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1c. almond flour

½ c. wheat protein isolate 5000 (use plain whey protein powder for gluten free)

½ c. Carbquick bake mix (or gluten-free bake mix )

1 T. oat fiber (Instead add 1 tsp. glucomanan for gluten free)

3 tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. salt

¼ c. granular erythritol

30 drops liquid Splenda (or equivalent sweetener for 1¼ c. sugar)

¼ c. coconut oil (or butter, softened)

3/4 c. sour cream

3 large eggs, beaten

2 T. heavy cream

1 tsp.  vanilla

1 c. blueberries, whole (or chop if you prefer, but batter will get tinged blue if you chop them)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Line the bottom of a larger 2¼” deep x 9″ round cake pan with waxed paper.  This helps tipping it out of the pan and onto a serving platter. You could also use a dutch oven or stew pot if you don’t have the size cake pan I call for.  You could also use TWO standard 9″ cake pans used for making layers cakes, dividing the batter equally between the two, but your cakes will naturally be thinner then mine above.  But hey, you could then smear some blueberry sauce or sugar-free blueberry jam between the two layers and maybe end up with an even more exciting cake than the one shown above!  Grease bottom and  sides of your pan(s) with a dab of oil of your choice and set aside.  In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter or coconut oil until soft and smooth.  Beat in the sour cream, eggs, heavy cream, liquid Splenda and vanilla.  Stir all the wet ingredients until well-blended.  Measure all dry ingredients on top of the wet ingredients and stir batter well.  Fold in blueberries gently to mix them in well.  Spoon batter into prepared pan and pop into pre-heated 350º oven for about 50 minutes or until toothpick stuck in center comes out clean.  Remove and cool slightly. Run knife around edge of pan to loosen.  Invert onto a plate and slowly peel off waxed paper.  Cut into 8 pieces and serve warm as a coffeecake (or cold as a snack).

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 8 servings, each contains:

252 calories

22 g  fat

10.91 g  carbs, 5.39 g  fiber, 5.62 g NET CARBS

10.99 g  protein

207 mg sodium


22 comments on “Blueberry Coffeecake

  1. Cant wait to try rhis recipe this weekend! Just a quick question…is the wheat protein isolate supposed to have a kind of a soury smell?


    • First, it is WHEY protein isolate. I comes from dairy, not wheat. I don’t know what all brands smell like, but the plain one I use smells somewhere between Carnation dried milk powder and a baby’s breath after they drink formula. I keep mine in the freezer, so I don’t know what it smells like when it goes bad.


    • The meal is not ground quite as fine as the flour. It tastes the same, but often has the almond skins ground up with the meat of the nut, so it will have brown flecks in it, too. The meal will render grainier cookies and cakes because of the larger grind. I order my blanched almond flour on-line from and it is the finest grade almond flour I’ve bought anywhere…VERY fine.


  2. This looks so yum! Do you think it would be okay to freeze? – just thinking of ways to stop myself eating to much at once!!!


    • Welcome Ange! I suspect it will freeze just fine but only for 1 month or less. Baked goods and bread tend to dry out fast in freezers. Hope you enjoy this delicious cake. I think it’s my best low-carb coffeecake. 🙂


  3. I have been saving this recipe and I finally tried it yesterday. Wish I hadn’t waited so long. It is fabulous, Peggy!!! The cake is great even without the blueberries, so I can see there’ll be 100 ways to change it up for something different. BTW I topped it with Whipped Cream frosting – delish.
    Thank you so very much for all the terrific recipes and hints.


    • LOL That’ll teach you to listen up when I say something is really good, Dee! LOL Isn’t that one super delicious? I, too love the basic batter’s versatility for other applications. Glad you’re enjoying the recipes here!


  4. Peggy,
    You mentioned using coconut flour in the recipe but I do not see it.
    How much did you use and did you sub it for something else? I’ve been wanting coffee cake and this would fit the bill!


    • Heidi, if you mean can you sub in oat fiber for the wheat protein isolate, the answer is NO. You should never use oat fiber one for one as a flour sub. If you subbed in 1/2 c. oat fiber the cake would be so dry and chalky you couldn’t swallow it. Oat fiber is used is very small amounts. It’s purpose is to enhance and improve texture and “mouth feel” to mimic real flour results in non-flour/low-flour baked goods.

      You could possibly substitute whey protein or maybe vital wheat gluten (but it’s carbier). Another option might be to increase the almond flour or Carbquick by 1/4 c. and add in 1/4 c. coconut flour and end up with a pretty nice cake with decent body and structure. Any such changes would require you recalculate the carb numbers, naturally, and I do not know the outcome with all possible flour substitutes. I have only made this recipe as written.


    • On Atkins, I get to deduct the non-digestible fiber from the total carbs so it’s only 5.62 g. digestible carbs that are digestible and that have any impact on your glucose levels.🙂


      • Sherry, maybe this little bit of info will help understand why it is sometimes added to baked goods: I’m hoping it will help with moisture retention and want to start introducing some to recipes I know tend to cook up drier, like scones maybe. I initially bought it to do some low-carb yeast bread experimentation last year. I have stored mine all that time in my chest freezer and just pull it out when I come across a recipe that calls for it or to try it in a new recipe of my own, like this one. I’m only just beginning to experiment with it really. If you Google “wheat protein isolate 5000 recipes” you will bring up some recipe with it that have been shared on various low-carb, particularly Low Carb Friends. One member there (KevinPa) used WPI 5000 and WPI 8000 extensively. There is a forum sticky atop the recipe forums there that highlights many of his outstanding recipes. Sadly, his untimely passing last year was a real blow to the low-carb baking arena. A very talented cook and quite the baker he was.

        That said, you could likely substitute whey protein, vital wheat gluten (but it’s carbier) or increase the almond flour by 1/4 c. and add in 1/4 c. coconut flour and end up with a pretty nice cake with decent body and structure. Any such changes would require you recalculate the carb numbers, naturally.


  5. Looks so good–I love love love blue berries–thanks for sharing–now to finish what I am currently eating before I try this-only one thing at a time for me!!


Leave a Comment

