Sausage-Greens Soup

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I love a good soup!  This one was made from a bunch of leftovers my refrigerator!  And as often is the case with soup made from leftovers, it turned to be VERY go0d!.  I put this together with:  cooked cabbage leftover from a keilbasa/caraway cabbage dish two days ago,  ½ c. leftover cooked kale and bacon, and one small piece of smoked sausage……it was delicious served with some of my new Rosemary Onion Almond Thins found here.  This soup is Induction friendly.


1 lb. pork bulk sausage

2 slices bacon, chopped

4 oz. smoked sausage, sliced or chopped to preference

1½ c. green cabbage, cut-up coarsely

1 ½ c. kale, cut up coarsely (or about ½ c. cooked kale)

1 oz. onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1 oz. poblano pepper, chopped (or jalapeno)  [optional]

1 can (14.5 oz) crushed or diced tomatoes (no salt added)

1 c. pork or beef stock

2-3 c. water

Dash each black and cayenne pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Brown crumbled sausage in bottom of a pressure cooker (or large stew pot).  Add chopped bacon and smoked sausage.  Toss in onion, garlic and poblano.  Saute until sausage is no longer pink and veggies are half done. Add tomatoes, stock, water and seasonings.  Close pressure cooker and bring to steam, lower heat and cook 8-10 minutes.  If using conventional stew pot, you will need to simmer until all meat and veggies are tender, or about 30 minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes about five 1½c servings, each contains:

403 calories

32.2 g  fat

6.8 g  carbs, 1.8 g  fiber, 5 g  NET CARBS

16.31 g  protein

871 mg sodium

352 mg potassium

16 % RDA Vitamin A, 10% B6, 36% C, 12% copper, 26% iron and 11% thiamin

4 comments on “Sausage-Greens Soup

    • Yes, I, too found that soup quite good. I love soups so much I’m getting pretty creative at just dumping different things and leftovers together into a soup pot. No recipes needed. Sometimes I surprise myself at how good they come out approaching it with this “casual” culinary approach. So glad you liked this one, Lisa! 🙂


  1. I made this last night and loved it! I found your site through Linda Genaw’s and now have 2 terrific sources for doable low carb meals. Thanks!


    • Welcome, Karen! Glad you found me! I just LOVE Linda’s recipes, too. She’s my go to site when I’m hunting for something new to try. And I’m so glad you like this soup. I love to put a bit of any greens in my soups. Adds so much flavor I think. Happy exploring on the site! Nearly 500 recipes here now.


Leave a Comment

