Almond Butter Cookies

Click to enlarge

Almond Butter Cookies

Made my hubby some delicious cookies this afternoon.  They came out kind of chewy and are still like that after they cooled off.  I got this base batter idea from the chocolate chip cookie recipe on the back of the Honeyvillegrain Blanched Almond flour bag.  I made some drastic changes to their basic dough, however.  They used all almond flour in their recipe and I’ve added some ingredients I find improve low-carb baked goods.  I’m very pleased with the chewy texture of these and will likely use this cookie dough for many variations in the future.  So far I have done variations with fresh cherry, pineapple and pecan, dried prune , currant-spice, pumpkin, and chia-chai .  All have been delicious.  If you’re tired of cake-y or dry/brittle cookies and and seek a low carb cookie that is moist and chewy cookie, this one you really need to try!  They really deliver!  They also freeze well and are even chewier when eaten right out of the freezer!!  These are not suitable until the nuts and seeds rung of the Atkins Phase 2 OWL carb reintroduction ladder.

DO NOT SUBSTITUTE OTHER SWEETENERS FOR THE SUGAR-FREE HONEY IN THESE OR THEY WILL NOT COME OUT CHEWY!  Real honey will work but will also jack up the carbs considerably!

You can have other tasty low-carb cookie recipes at your fingertips with your own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends latest cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  Click the link to see a preview of what’s in store in this 5-volume set.  They can also be ordered individually at Amazon or here.

DISCLAIMER:  I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes in these books.  I do so simply because I think they are GREAT recipes you’re going to want in your collection.


2 c. almond flour

½ c. coconut flour

1 T. oat fiber (substitute gluten-free oat flour for gluten-free version)

1 tsp. glucomannan powder (konjac powder)

1/8 tsp. salt

½ tsp. baking soda

½ c. coconut oil, grapeseed oil or softened butter, if you prefer)

2 T. almond butter

1 T. vanilla extract

½ c. granular Splenda

1 T. erythritol

1 egg, beaten

¼ c. sugar-free imitation honey (no substitutions, unless it’s REAL honey)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  In a large mixing bowl stir the almond butter and oil together until smooth.  Beat in the egg, vanilla and imitation honey.    Measure in all dry ingredients on top and stir well to form a smooth dough.   If your dough seems very dry or stiff (coconut flours vary), add in ½ beaten egg. Roll dough into 1″ balls and place them onto parchment lined baking sheet.  Leave 1″ space between cookies.  Press balls down slightly flat and pop pan into preheated oven.  Top with chopped, sliced almonds if desired, but this really doesn’t impact flavor, just the look.  Bake for about 7 minutes.  Do not over brown these cookies or texture will be drier and less chewy.  Remove from oven and cool on the pan a few minutes before removing with a spatula.  These are delicate while hot but “firm up” nicely when they cool. Store in an airtight container.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 28 cookies, each contains:

105.5 calories

9.1 g  fat

4.12 g  carbs, 2.07 g  fiber, 2.05 g  NET CARBS

2.05 g  protein

48.2 mg sodium

11.75 mg potassium

HOMEMADE IMITATION HONEY: If you don’t want to run to the store for sugar-free honey, but also don’t want to use all real honey because of the carbs, I have a homemade reciep you might want to try.  This was inspired by a recipe of Birgit Kerr on  Boil for 2-3 minutes: ¼ c. erythritol, 2 T. + 1 tsp. real honey and 1 pkt. stevia (or Splenda).  Cool (thickens as it cools) and put in airtight jar.  If it crystalizes over time in your pantry, just soften in the microwave on DEFROST for 1  minute or plunge into a pot of slow simmering warm water a minute or so before using.

35 comments on “Almond Butter Cookies

  1. Splenda is really bad to eat. On top of that it gives me migraines. Is there a way to make this without the Splenda or artificial sweeteners? I don’t care if it’s less sweet. I just would like to be able to bake once in a while without baking high carb (or making me suffer the effects of a serious migraine for days)


    • I don’t happen to agree with all the hype personally. That said, I sure wouldn’t want to eat cookies with NO sweet agent. Splenda is measured 1 for 1 with sugar, so use whatever sweetener you tolerate to equal the amount of Splenda (sugar) shown. You will have to recalculate the carb counts for your choice.


      • Splenda causing migraines is no hype. If you are one of the fortunate people that can tolerate it, then good for you. In many people it causes real head banger headaches. These people are usually also sensitive to other sugar substitutes especially the sugar alcohols…which eliminates xylitol, erythritol, maltitol etc. It is a huge dilemma for this demographic.


        • Aspartame is the only A.S. that causes me axe-splitting headaches, so I avoid it like the plague. I tolerate all other sweeteners. But my blog has existed for 7 years and I have shifted over to mostly stevia in the last year or so. I don’t consume much of ANY sweetener anymore, because I’ve never been a dessert fan, when you get right down to it. I only create these treats for my T2D husband who has an awful sweet tooth. I’d rather have him eating low-carb treats than regular sugared desserts at the bakery and donut shops.🙂


    • I buy most of mine on-line from with a credit card. They have flat-rate $5.99 shipping, so I wait until I need a lot of items to save even more. Their prices are pretty competitive and I’ve had no problems doing business with them for some 6 years now. Plus you just can’t find most low-carb baking ingredients in a regular store. Wouldn’t be worth their while to stock such items as few people in their market would buy it. I buy my almond flour and coconut flour from Again, great folks to do business with. 🙂


  2. Hello! Love your recipes! I’ve never used glucomannan and I just bought some xanthan gum and never used that either. Can I substitute? ALSO—someone gave me some agave nectar. Can I use that instead of honey? THANKS!!


    • Welcome, Shelly. Those two ingredients aren’t really interchangeable. Glucomannan’s fiber makes it a baked goods volumizer. Xanthan does nothing to increase volume. But xanthan is a texture enhancer, so you can sub it in for that benefit.

      On the sugar-free honey, that is what makes these cookies chewy. I learned that the hard way and ruined a batch. The agave therefore just will not do as a sub. Not only is agave incredibly high in carbs, it is extremely bad for you health-wise, as your body sees it as pure sugar and pure honey. The body metabolizes it just like high fructose corn syrup and it goes to fat storage immediately as it doesn’t know how to break down its molecules.

      Go to Youtube and watch the video “Sugar: the Bitter Truth” sometime, Shelly. A very eye-opening movie by a pediatric physician about different forms of sugar and sweeteners and how our bodies digets/metabolize them. Well worth the time to watch it. Watching it WILL be life-changing for you. So I’d toss that out if it were in MY pantry. In fact, I did just that with a whole bottle of it my husband brought home for his “bar” drinks. He’s T2 diabetic and has no businiess with any form of real sugar. Most people have no idea agave is processed internally just like HFCS…..straight to your hips and belly.🙂


  3. I agree about branching out, but I think I love this recipe the best. I also made the pumpkin cookie, although it is good, I love the almond butter.🙂


  4. Very good! I did add some almond extract and that really gave them a great flavor in addition to a little more vanilla extract. I love vanilla extract.


    • Oh, I’ll bet the almond extract WAS good in them. I’ll have to TRY that. Glad you enjoyed these. This dough makes a great base for branching out with all sorts of other cookie variations.🙂


Leave a Comment

