Mini Fruit Tarts

Mini Peach Tart

Mini Peach Tart

I bought a few lovely small peaches today and decided to make a combination cheesecake, fruit tart dessert.  I prefer no-bake cheesecakes, so would be simple.  I’ve been wanting to use my 4 new Wilton mini-tart pans I bought recently.  I decided to mix up basically 1½ recipes (so as to make a large and 4 mini tarts) of Linda Sue’s Cheesecake Pudding recipe (with some changes), 1½ recipes of my Pecan Pie Crust , and top off one of the minis with fresh sliced peaches, one mini with strawberry slices, one mini with raspberries, one mini with purple grape halves and left the large tart plain vanilla.  Pineapple cubes or kiwi slices would have been nice, but I didn’t have any on hand.  This came out FANTASTIC with the pecan crust!   My husband emphatically said “This one’s a ‘keeper'”.  We liked the peach version the best.  :)  This recipe is not suitable until the highest fruits rung of the Atkins OWL ladder, in pre- maintenance.  If you prefer, you can use full-fat cream cheese, but I am close to goal and must watch calories as well these days.  Nutritional info is calculated using the fat-free version.  The different fruits only change the nutritional counts by a couple calories and only fractions of a carb, so I’m not going to provide the numbers for all the fruit variations possible here.  You can half this recipe and just make the large tart if you prefer.  Each mini tart will actually serve 2 people as it is so rich.🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1 3/4 c. + 2T. finely ground pecans
4½ T. unsalted butter softened
1½ packets Stevia
1/4 c +2T. flax meal (I used mostly dark mixed with a little golden)

Combine all crust ingredients in a bowl (I chopped nuts and mixed in a food processor) and slightly press half of it into the bottom of an 11″ tart pan and the remaining half equally into four 4″ mini tart pans.  Bake all on a sheet pan in 375º oven for 10-11 minutes to slightly toast pecans to  bring out their flavor. Do not over brown or the pecans will become bitter!  Cool and fill nearly to top with cheesecake filling below.


8 oz. fat-free cream cheese, softened (I’m watching calories as I’m close to goal.  You should use full-fat cheese, which will increase fat and calories a bit.)

6 oz. sour cream

4 oz. Greek yogurt

2½ tsp. vanilla

3/4 c. erythritol

4 pkts. stevia

1/4 tsp. glucomannan powder or xanthan gum (optional but helps thicken it up)

1½ c. whipping cream, whipped

DIRECTIONS:  While crusts cool, whip the whipping cream in a medium mixing bowl until very thick and set aside.  In another bowl, beat all other filling ingredients together until smooth.  Fold the whipped cream into the cheese mixture and mix until smooth.  Carefully spoon the filling gently into the pecan crusts trying not to dislodge any crust as you spread it with a rubber spatula.  There should be ample filling for the large tart and four mini tarts.   Top with slices of 3/4 fresh, peeled peach, or 21 raspberries, 21 seedless grape halves, 2 sliced strawberries, some pineapple chunks or kiwi slices).  Chill 1 hour before serving.  I found the mini tarts served two people just fine and slid half of it onto a plate with a knife.  These are quite rich and extremely filling.  the large tart will make 8 nice servings.  Here’s a pic of the raspberry tart:

Click to enlarge

Mini Raspberry Tart

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  This very large recipe makes one 8-serving 11″ tart and four 4″ mini tarts that will each serve 2 people.   That is a total of 16 servings.  Each serving contains:

261 calories

25 g  fat

5.59 g  carbs, 2.26 g  fiber, 3.33 g  NET CARBS

5.43 g  protein

104 mg sodium


11 comments on “Mini Fruit Tarts

    • It’s a sugar alcohol with little blood glucose impact. You can substitute any sugar sub you like. I would suggest Splenda, liquid form for fewer carbs.


    • Yes, flax has a lot of carbs, but most of it is indigestible fiber that passes right out of the body unprocessed. 13 g. of flax has 4.0 g carbs, but something like 3.75 -of it is dietary fiber. So you can deduct the grams of fiber from the total carbs for the true digestible carb value of the flax. That said, if you still want to remove it, you can sub in any alternate flour you like: whey protein, nut meals, Carbquick, hemp hearts. whatever.


  1. Peggy, would you come participate on a thread in either the LCF Main Lobby or in the Recipe Help section about Labor Parties on a Budget! I would love to quote you in an article! Purty please?🙂


  2. Wow beautiful desserts. They sound so tempting and satisfying while being lite at the same time. Love it! Don’t you just love adding in the Greek Yogurt as an extender? I know we’ll all find it doesn’t make much diff, but I use 1/2 Greek Yogurt as a Sour Cream and Mayo sub all the time. I now make “creamy” dressings using Greek Yogurt, too. I also make my horseradish sauce with Greek Yogurt – and my Tartar Sauce. It has a slightly different tang but it’s delicious!!!

    Peggy, I’m so glad I can see your images again. For awhile there I quit coming cuz I all I would see was red X’s in the left hand corner! I thought it was my IE or Mozilla! But it’s fixed now and I’m thrilled!


    • Oh, my, I’m glad you can see the pics now, too! Yes, I need to start using yogurt more to cut out a few calories here and there. I find the Greek (or drained regular) to be just as rich and creamy in everything.


    • Ah, good. Glad you found it. Yes, as I’m so close to goal, as with most post-menopausal women, I have to seriously tighten up on calories as well as carbs. As cream cheese is one of the highest calories foods I eat (outside pure butter and coconut oil) I decided to trim calories there a bit. Am starting to inject some yogurt into these high-dairy desserts to cut calories as well. We have to do what we have to do when we get near goal and do battle with the last 10#. I know my readers will sub in full-fat cream cheese most likely. I will, too, when I get to goal weight. 🙂


  3. This not only looks so pretty and presentable (as do all your recipes) but sounds sooo good. Question, in the recipe it says “While crusts cool, whip the whipping cream”, I don’t see any whipping cream. And fat free cream cheese? I thought that had more carbs than low fat? It sounds like you are dropping the weight that you said you needed to, congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Comment

