Fresh Cherry Cookies

Click to enlarge

Fresh Cherry Cookies

Made my hubby some delicious cherry cookies this afternoon.  He loves anything cherry!  They came out chewy, moist and are still like that after they cooled off.  I got this base batter idea from the chocolate chip cookie recipe on the back of the Honeyville Farms Blanched Almond flour bag.  I made some drastic changes to their basic dough, however.  They used all almond flour in their recipe and I’ve added some ingredients I find improve baked goods a bit.  I’m very pleased with the chewy texture of these and will likely use this cookie dough for many variations in the future.  These freeze well and are even chewier eaten right out of the freezer!!  These are not suitable until the advanced fruit rung of Atkins OWL ladder, or near Pre-Maintenance.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


2 c. almond flour

½ c. coconut flour

1 T. oat fiber

1 tsp. glucomannan powder

1/8 tsp. salt

½ tsp. baking soda

½ c. softened butter (I use unsalted)

2 T. almond butter

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 tsp. almond extract

½ c. granular Splenda

1 T. erythritol

1 egg, beaten

¼ c. sugar-free honey (I buy Honey Tree brand at Walmart)

20 fresh cherries, pitted and chopped coarsely

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Line cookie pan with parchment or silicone sheet.  Measure out all wet ingredients into a large mixing bowl.  Beat to blend well until smooth.  Measure out dry ingredients on top of the wet and stir in until you have a smooth dough.  It will be moderately stiff.  Work cherries into dough with your hands like you were making a meatloaf.  The cherries WILL discolor your batter a bit.  Such is life.  But that won’t impact flavor ONE bit! Roll cookie dough into 1″ balls and place them onto baking sheet lined with parchment or silicone sheet.  Press balls down slightly flat and pop pan into preheated oven.   Leave 1″ space between cookies.  Bake for about 8-10 minutes.  Do not over brown these cookies or texture will be drier and less chewy.  When totally cooled, remove with a spatula and store in an airtight container.  These freeze well and can be eaten right out of the freezer for an even chewier cookie!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 30 cookies, each contains:

98.6 calories

8.51 g  fat

4.39 g  carbs, 1.96 g  fiber, 2.43 g  NET CARBS

2.42 g  protein

45 mg sodium


9 comments on “Fresh Cherry Cookies

  1. Can I leave out the sugar free honey and the glucomannan powder? What is their purpose? Also can oat flour be subbed for oat fiber? Thanks.


    • Can’t leave out the honey or they will be awful. I know, because I accidentally forgot to put it in one batch. Dry, chalky and hardly swallowable without it. You’ll just have to sub the oat flour and see. I’ve never done it. The glucomannan helps with volume and rise, and I don’t know what the cookies will be like without it. You’re asking to restructure the entire recipe and I can’t know the answer to what that will result in.


  2. I finally made these. I mixed up the batter yesterday and made a few today. I did add a few chopped nuts and some of my home-made chocolate chips. YUM. Oh Peggy, I had a hard time even trying to stop eating the dough. Whoa, just like old high carb times, ha! Thank you!


    • I think the cherry cookies were my favs of all the flavors I did with this batter. I’m looking forward to trying an oatmeal/prune and a chocolate chip soon. So glad you liked them, Nancy, and thanks for the feedback for my other readers! They DO taste like a high-carb cookies, don’t they?


  3. Thanks so much Peggy–I appreciate all the time and effort you put into your recipes and blog and all the help you give here and on LCF also. It sure helps me and countless others I am certain!


  4. looks wonderful but I have two questions–I have all the ingredients except the almond butter–can I just use coconut oil? and instead of splenda granular can I substitute liquid or is there a reason for the granular? I am enjoying all the cookie recipes–not sure I can trust myself with cookies tho–the freezer is a great place to keep them!! thanks for your recipes–love your blog–Jeanne


    • Hi, Jeanne! I think you could certainly sub in liquid Splenda for the granular. But I would NOT sub in oil for the almond butter. Instead I would sub in smooth peanut butter. That way the texture won’t change and they also won’t be oily on the surface when you handle them, which I think extra oil would do to them.

      I’m delighted you’re enjoying my recipes and hope you enjoy all the various versions of these cookies! Knowing folks like them makes the sharing all the more enjoyable for ME! 🙂 My husband and I just a few minutes ago had a pineapple and cherry cookie. Mmmmmm. 🙂


Leave a Comment

