Montreal Chicken Soup


I was quite taken with a recipe I saw on Peace Love and Low Carb’s blog not long ago and was inspired to create a similar but I suspect, considerably different-tasting soup today.  This chowder recipe was my inspiration:  I decided to greatly reduce the bacon (I’m extremely salt sensitive) and inject the milder taste of pure ground pork instead.  I also added some coconut milk to my recipe, so there was a subtle taste of coconut to my final dish.  Perhaps the biggest flavor difference in my creation, I decided to use my version of McCormick’s Montreal Steak Grillmates seasoning (rather than thyme), since the chicken I was putting into the soup was not sauteed chicken, but some leftover Montreal Baked Chicken, which has a distinctive flavor.  this baked chicken recipe has become one of the most popular on my blog.  I eliminated the salt from the original recipe, again, because I am very sodium sensitive and the bacon provided ample salt for me.

I’ve altered the amounts of several other ingredients.  I deleted the celery entirely and added chia seeds not only for their incredible nutritional value but also for their their ability to thicken liquids. I grind mine before using.

All I can say is this soup is incredibly rich, has depth of flavor and the strong flavor of bacon and coconut in this soup takes my Montreal Baked Chicken flavor to a whole new level!  I want to thank Kyndra for my inspiration for this recipe.  It ‘s a keeper for sure!  I look forward to trying her original version with thyme one day as well.  This soup is not suitable until the OWL nuts and seeds phase of Atkins, due to the coconut milk.

More delicious low-carb soup recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or here:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


12 oz. cooked chicken meat, diced

4 oz. lean ground pork (or bulk pork sausage)

4 oz. lean bacon, chopped coarsely

2 oz. onion, chopped

1 T. shallot, chopped (I used 1 T. dehydrated shallot)

3 cloves garlic, minced

5 oz. sliced mushrooms

1/3 c. chopped parsley

3/4 c. leek, well washed and very thinly sliced

¼ tsp. black pepper

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

1½ tsp. homemade Montreal Steak Seasoning

4 oz. cream cheese

1/4 c. heavy cream

3/4 c. coconut milk

2 c. chicken stock (low sodium)

3 c. water (more if final soup is too thick for you)

1 tsp. chia seeds, ground (I use 5o:50 dark and white)

DIRECTIONS:  Cut up the chicken into small bites and set aside.  Cut bacon and brown a bit, add onion, leek and garlic.  Saute until onion is getting tender.  Add sausage, mushrooms, parsley, and all seasonings.  Saute, stirring for 4-5 minutes. Add in cream cheese in small bits at a time, the diced chicken, chicken stock, water, coconut milk and ground chia seed.  Simmer over low heat for about 15-20 minutes to allow the flavors to blend.  Lower heat and stir in heavy cream.  Simmer about 5 minutes longer at lowest heat to slightly thicken up. Add a bit more water if the overall soup is too thick or doesn’t have enough liquid for your liking.  I found I wanted 1 c. more water in mine, as I don’t like too high a solids:liquid ratio in my soups.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Entire recipe has 35 net carbs.  I found my recipe made eight 1-cup servings, each containing:

315 calories

25.4 g  fat

5.74 g  carbs, 1.38 g  fiber, 4.36 NET CARBS

16.5 g  protein

580 mg sodium


14 comments on “Montreal Chicken Soup

  1. what could I sub for the coconut milk? Just don’t like the taste. Maybe unsweetened almond milk? Or just omit or sub cream or l/2 l/2? I love your recipes Peggy!


    • I would use cream. It’ll taste much better. Almond milk makes everything taste awfully watered down IMO. So glad you are enjoying my recipes, Judy. 🙂


  2. I cannot have nuts or seeds due to a medical issue. What substitute can you recommend for chia seeds, or can I just leave them out?


    • They are added primarily here for thickening. You could just omit, or if you desire the soup thicker, use a light dusting of xanthan gum or your preferred thickener.


    • Yes, I apparently omitted that word. It gets added right after the onion is softened. Thanks for noticing so I could insert that in the instructions. Hope you like this!! It was delicious!


Leave a Comment

