Cheesy “Cornbread”

Click to enlarge

Cheesy Cornbread

I’ve been wanting to make a basic cheese cornbread and finally got around to doing that tonight.  I used my Peppered Bacon Cheese Bread recipe and deleted the bacon.  This bread is not suitable until you reach the nuts and seeds rung of the Atkins OWL phase.   If you omit the corn flavoring, this is suitable for Primal diners that consume occasional cheese.  This was one of my better low-carb breads to date and was absolutely delicious served with seared pork chops and  a salad.  Leftover and toasted, it made a lovely breakfast sausage biscuit as well!

This bread can be baked up in a loaf, scone shapes, as biscuits, muffins or wedges cut from a 9″ round pan or 9 large squares cut from an 8×8 pan version.  This bread holds together well and will not crumble apart. Muffins or biscuits will only take about 15-20 minutes to cook.  Scones, a round version or loaf/square version will possibly take a little longer, around 30 minutes.  Check with a toothpick in the center for doneness.

Note:  The corn flavoring I use from time to time is “Fresh Corn” available at Selectflavors website (formerly marketed under the brand of Superior Products).

Many delicious low-carb recipes like this one can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends.  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site: DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote the books because they are great cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1½ c. almond flour

2 T. coconut flour

¼ c. golden flax meal

1 3/4 tsp. baking soda

1 c. grated cheese (I use cheddar)

5 eggs, beaten

2 T. coconut oil, melted

2 T. olive oil

1 T. cider vinegar

1 tsp. corn flavoring (optional)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease your pan or muffin tin cups (or use paper liners) and set aside.  Measure all dry ingredients and cheese into a medium measuring bowl, stir and set aside.  Beat eggs and all liquid ingredients in a small bowl and add them to the dry ingredients.  Stir to blend all into a smooth batter.  Using a rubber spatula, scrape batter into a greased loaf pan, 8×8 square dish, a round 9″ pan, or onto a greased sheet for cutting into 10 scones, rolls or biscuits.  Shape dough evenly as desired or spoon into 10 greased muffin tin cups or loaf pan.  Pop into preheated 350º oven for about 20 minutes for biscuits, rolls or muffins; bake 30-35 minutes for a loaf, 9″ round or 8×8 square version.  Ovens vary, so check with toothpick test.   Remove and cool in pan a few minutes.  Run sharp knife around edges to loosen and tip out onto a cutting board. Slice loaf or scones into 10 servings.  Serve warm with butter.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 10 slices, muffins, biscuits or wedges.  Each serving contains:

293.6 calories

26.0 fat

6.16 g  carbs, 3.18 g  fiber, 2.88 g  NET CARBS

11.24 g  protein

481 mg sodium

106 mg potassium

7 comments on “Cheesy “Cornbread”

  1. Hello, I made this last night. I’m not really sure why, but it had a very strange smell and taste. Kind of like the smell of chlorine. Is this normal?


    • Most definitely not normal, Sally. You know, the oil in flax can actually go rancid if flax isn’t kept under rerfrigeration. And we never know how long it has been on the shelf at the grocer store. Your flax may have gone bad on you is the only thing I can think of that might cause what you are describing. Usually my bottled flax oil goes bad faster than flax. But I did have a container of ground flax meal turn bad on me once (and it was maybe only a week old. The taste was so horrid I had to throw out what I had baked and the whole bag full of flax immediately.


    • Welcome Lisa! And thank you for sharing a new source for corn flavoring with my readers! I’m familiar with Natures Flavor website, but didn’t know they had a corn flavoring, too. I just had a piece of this with a piece of sausage for a lovely breakfast sausage biscuit. It was quite good used this way.


    • Hi, Char! I have a bottle of the Superior Products Flavors (in Charlotte, North Carolina) brand of corn flavoring I ordered a year or so ago. But I don’t think they widely distribute their products. They may not even carry that one anymore for all I know. It’s pretty good, too, so I’m really disappointed if that one has been discontinued. In fact I don’t think they maintain a website for orders any longer. But you can Google and get this phone number for them, so I don’t think they’ve gone out of business.


Leave a Comment

