Jalapeno Cheese Bread

click to enlarge

Jalapeno Cheese Bread

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at a low-carb jalapeno cheese bread and finally got around to it.  I must say my first experiment turned into a delightfully tasty bread!  For some reason, this bread is better when completely cooled rather than right out of the oven.  Not sure why, but many low-carb baked goods just are!  This bread is not suitable until you reach the nuts and seeds rung of the Atkins OWL phase.   It is acceptable for Keto diets. It is suitable for Primal diners, if you eat occasional dairy, but not acceptable for Paleo.

This makes up nicely as muffins, too, as the crust is very nice on this bread.  I discovered that leftovers make an outstanding cornbread stuffing!!  Muffins will only take about 15-20 minutes to cook.

I chose to use fresh jalapeno, but will try my next batch using pickled jalapenos to see which I like best.  Those that like their jalapeno bread “hotter” may want to use 2 jalapenos.  My husband and I don’t like it too hot.  :)

The corn flavoring I used to buy was Superior Products brand, which I last bought direct from Superior Products.  Sadly they have gone out of business or sold out.  Only places I’ve seen corn flavoring since is either at Select Products (where I order it and love the flavor) or at Naturesflavors.com (but I haven’t tried their’s yet).

For many more delicious low-carb bread recipes, visit the Facebook page for the best-selling cookbooks, LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS by Jennifer Eloff and several other very talented cooks, including well-known Chef George Stella!  There you’ll see a preview of the many recipes you will find in this wonderful 5-volume set.  Have no fear, they are also available individually, in regular or coil-bound.  Order your today at Amazon or here.

DISCLAIMER:  I do not receive remuneration for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so simply because they are great low-carb tools to have in your low-carb toolbox.  Nice to have them at your fingertips.

INGREDIENTS:

1½ c. almond flour

2 T. coconut flour

¼ c. golden flax meal

1 3/4 tsp. baking soda

1 c. shredded hard cheese of your choice (I used cheddar)

1  jalapeno, seeded, finely chopped (I use fresh, but pickled is fine)

5 eggs, beaten

2 T. coconut oil, melted

2 T. olive oil

1 T. cider vinegar

1 T. Fresh Corn flavoring (optional) Source:  selectflavors.com  (scroll down the alphabetical flavors to see Fresh Corn)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Lightly grease a loaf pan and set aside.  I use an unusual shaped loaf pan, non-standard, that is 4½” wide, 2½” deep and 12″ long.  So I can easily get 10 very thick slices out of a loaf.

click to see in my 4x12" x-long loaf pan

click to see in my 4×12″ x-long loaf pan

Measure all dry ingredients and cheese into a medium measuring bowl, stir and set aside.  Seed and finely chop jalapeno and add. Add cheese and stir all dry ingredients together to blend.   Add all liquid ingredients to the mixing bowl and stir to blend.    Using a rubber spatula, scrape batter into greased loaf pan and pop into preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Ovens vary, so check with toothpick test.   Remove and cool in pan a few minutes.  Run sharp knife around edges to loosen and gently tip out onto a cutting board. Slice into 10 servings and serve warm.

SPECIAL NOTE:  This bread makes an outstanding “cornbread” stuffing for your holiday turkey as well, with or without that corn flavoring!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 10 large slices, each contains: (calculated using 1 c. cheese only)

242 calories

21 g fat

6.2 g  carbs, 3.2 g  fiber, 3.0 g  NET CARBS

9.95 g  protein

386 mg sodium

24 comments on “Jalapeno Cheese Bread

  1. Thank you for sharing all your delicious recipes! I have a question; csn you use regular all purpose flour or another heathier option of flour instead of almond flour? If so, which kind, I have a tree but allergy an unfortunately cannot any but type flours.

    Thank you in advance for your help

    • I would use oat flour instead. Using wheat flour will probably not work as that change will impact the wet:dry ratios more than oat flour. Otherwise, you’d be better off finding a regular Jalpeno Cheese Bread recipe on the net that uses regular flour up front. Your recipe will NOT be low carb using all purpose flour, Lori. Just so you understand you’d be going from a lo-carb to VERY HIGH-carb bread.

Leave a Comment

