Butter BBQ Sauce

Click to enlarge

Butter BBQ Sauce

Being almost Texan (Dad was Texan, I’m Texan by marriage and have lived here 46 years now), they might lynch me from the nearest tree if I uttered aloud that I don’t much like traditional Texas tomato-based BBQ sauce on my smoked pork.  Oh, don’t get me wrong, I can eat it, and even enjoy it, but my North Carolina roots prefer grilled pork just heavily smoked with buttery vinegar sauce with a little spice added.  It’s much richer to me that way.  Although the specific spices I might throw into the melted butter will vary, depending on my mood, the following recipe reflects the most frequent candidates. After all, as far as I’m concerned, it’s not the spices but the butter that’s really in the driver’s seat here. 🙂

Of course, you can use any cut of pork for this, but I used some pork “grilling strips” my husband brought home from the store last week, which were cut from a large pork Boston butt according to the label.   Only my husband, God love him, can be sent to the store for a Boston Butt and come home with a cut of pork I never EVER heard of.  :)  But pig is pig and it’s ALL good smoked, non?  And boy, did this come out really good!  The leftover meat is great reheated the next day, too! This recipe is suitable for Atkins Induction if you omit the wine.  This sauce is equally good for grilling seafood and beef.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


4 T. unsalted butter

¼ c. diet ginger ale (optional, but adds a nice flavor layer)

2 T. white wine (omit if on Induction)

1 tsp. red wine vinegar

1 T. Steviva (use honey for Primal or Paleo)

Pinch each salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, dill seed

1 tsp. each minced dehydrated onion and minced dehydrated garlic

½ tsp. ginger root, minced

1 tsp. tomato paste

DIRECTIONS:  Melt butter over low heat in saucepan.  Add all other listed ingredients.  Baste meat several times while you grill over hot coals.  Serve with your favorite sides.  I love mine with my Chipotle “Sweet Potatoes” https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2009/09/29/chipotle-sweet-potatoes/ and a green vegetable or salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Numbers below are for the sauce alone and not whatever meat you use this on.  Recipe makes enough sauce to baste 1½ lb. meat several times during cooking.  Makes approximately 5 servings, each containing:

90.4 calories

9.24 g  fat

.94 g carbs, .1 g  fiber, .84 g NET CARBS

.2 g protein

36 mg sodium

24 mg potassium

3 comments on “Butter BBQ Sauce

  1. The lynch comment is really distracting me from your message. Is that common usage in Texas? Kind of shocking for me to see in print. It uses a horrific death that is a painful part of our history as a joke. I know there were many phrases that I grew up with that I had to remove so I didn’t hurt others.

    Your recipe looks delicious, though.


    • It is frequently and commonly used for impact and emphasis. It’s supposed to convey just how serious an issue is. Horse stealing was a hanging offense throughout the Western United States…….not just Texas. Sorry, I’m just not willing to remove the reference from the post for “politically correctness” or your personal feelings. If we did that we’d be deleting have the written English out there as MUCH of it is offensive to someone out there. A good bit of what people say on Facebook I find far more offensive and vulgar than this reference. As the wife of a history teacher, we can’t just “erase history” because we didn’t like or are personally ashamed of parts of it. History is what history is…..fact and truth, not just the parts of history we like. Just sayin’.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

