Broccoli-Cabbage “Souffle”

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

My husband just LOVES souffles and my college roommate always made a broccoli souffle he was remembering this week. So I decided to make one with the leftover stir-fried cabbage I had in the refrigerator and the two stalks of broccoli left in there also.  Served it with my oven-roasted brisket last night and wondered why haven’t I made this in so long?  It’s so easy and so good!  This is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Primal-Paleo as well.  My roommate would also include either pimiento or chopped red bell pepper in hers, which is good.  But my husband isn’t so fond of them, so I didn’t add any this time. Feel free to add that if you like.


2 c. broccoli, cut into big chunks, steamed or boiled until tender

1 c. chopped cabbage

2 oz. chopped onion

1 T. olive oil

½ c. drained, canned water chestnuts, sliced

2 jumbo eggs, beaten

Dash black pepper

¼ tsp. salt

4 T. Parmesan cheese, grated (optional, but included in stats below)

DIRECTIONS:  Steam or boil broccoli until just tender.  Preheat oven to 350º.  While that is cooking, heat the olive oil in non-stick skillet and saute cabbage and onion until wilted and tender.  Remove from heat.  Drain broccoli.  Add all ingredients, veggies, eggs and seasonings to the bowl of a food processor (or blender), and process to a coarse chop.  Pour into greased deep baking dish (I use a 7″ Corningware vegetable bowl for my souffles).    Bake for about 20-30 minutes, just until it is dry in the center.  Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 nice servings, each contains:

130 calories

8.3 g  fat

8.2 g  carbs, 2.3 g  fiber, 5.9 g  NET CARBS

7.8 g  protein

288 mg sodium

267 mg potassium

13% RDA Vitamin B6, 22% B12, 64% C, 11% copper, 16% iron, 10% manganese, 20% phosphorous, 22% riboflavin, 22% selenium, 10% Zinc

4 comments on “Broccoli-Cabbage “Souffle”

  1. My husband and I both loved this. It sent me searching your site for other vegetable souffle recipes, but I didn’t find any. Did I overlook anything. Thank you so much for sharing your recipes. I love the spices you use.


    • Yes, it does, G. But I find when I put huge stalks in my processor, some of the stem never chops up fine enough before the rest of it is mush. You don’t have to if you don’t encounter this issues with your processor.


Leave a Comment

