Chicken-Eggplant Parmigiana Casserole

Chicken-Eggplant Parmegiana Casserole

Chicken-Eggplant Parmigiana Casserole

This Italian dinner was created with leftover cooked chicken breast meat I had in the refrigerator and a small amount of cooked spaghetti sauce and some commercial no-sugar sauce I wanted to use up.  I bought a beautiful eggplant yesterday and some mushrooms, so I created a quick Parmigiana casserole.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Primal followers that eat occasional cheese.  This meal would not be suitable for Paleo diners due to the cheese.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try. Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or our direct order site:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not receive money for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


8 oz. cooked chicken meat, in bite size pieces

2 T. olive oil

6 oz. mushrooms, sliced

5 oz. eggplant, sliced 1/4″ thick (I do not peel)

¼ c. low-carb spaghetti sauce (I use Lucini with no added sugar)

3/4 c. homemade spaghetti sauce   [you could use all homemade or all Luccini sauce]

6 oz. Mozzarella cheese, grated

½ c. grated Parmesan cheese

½ tsp. dried oregano (or 1 tsp. fresh, chopped)

¼ tsp. dried basil (or 1 tsp. fresh, chopped)

¼ tsp. dried rosemary (or ½ tsp. fresh, chopped)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 400º. Use a small amount of the oil to grease your casserole dish and a small baking sheet.  Place eggplant on baking sheet and bake at 400º for about 15 minutes, turning once during this pre-cooking.  Remove from oven and lower temperature to 350º.

In a non-stick skillet, saute the mushroom slices in the rest of the olive oil. Place eggplant in a single layer on the bottom of your greased casserole dish.  Top with the shredded chicken meat.  Spoon half the spaghetti sauce over the meat. Sprinkle on half the Parmesan and half the mozzarella cheese.  Sprinkle with half the spices.  Spoon on the remainder of the sauce. Sprinkle on the rest of the two cheeses and the last of the spices.  Top with the sauteed mushroom and pop into your 350º oven for about 30-35 minutes or until cheese is melted and the casserole is hot hot in the center.  Serve with your favorite salad or green vegetable and some garlic bread made with low-carb bread.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 4 servings, each contains:

427 calories

26.1 g  fat

10.4 g  carbs, 2.98 g  fiber, 7.42 g  NET CARBS

38 g  protein

270 mg sodium

12 comments on “Chicken-Eggplant Parmigiana Casserole

    • Hmm. Interesting. Glad you liked the flavor on this dish. The “watery” more likely came from sauce/spaghetti sauce (water bleeding out from the tomatoes). Only time I have to salt/bleed off my eggplant is for frying or baking. I never do that for layered casseroles. But salting on paper towels will sure lower the moisture a little. If it’s your brand of spaghetti sauce it may still bleed water on you. Brands will vary. I find my homemade sauce is so thick it doesn’t bleed, but commercial brands often do much to my dismay.


  1. This dish was a hit! Super easy and leftovers are even better the next day. Made this with the low carb cheddar bay biscuits.


  2. We are eating paleo and I just leave off the cheese, equally good, however I do love that you were specific about the eating plans it fits into, also thanks for the turn on to luccini spaghetti sauce, yummy


    • Welcome, Denise! My local Walmart started carrying the Lucini last year and I’m so glad I tried a jar. I had been ordering Belo Vita on-line, but actually like the Lucini better. Not cheap, but quite good. Glad you like it, too.


    • I figure most folks following a set nutritional plan already KNOW if a recipe is suitable or not, with just a quick glance at the ingredients. But I do try to specify that in my recipe intro for anyone just starting out on their plan and still a little bit “foggy” on the plan guidelines they cannot cross.🙂


  3. Dear Linda, I love periodically to read your posts (I still have yet to get LC 100% or Paleo even though my sister swears by LC and done well and I did well in the past.) I just CAN”T seem to get back on board, completely. I now have severe DVT and digestive issues…I believe I need some carbs and lighter fare to settle my tummy. But I wonder if that is an old wive’s tale. Anyway, I want to write as do love your posts. I really , really miss the home page picture of the pretty bridge scene. I esp. enjoyed coming to your site as yours had that serene and pretty picture. It brought believe it or not, peace and comfort to my soul and then I enjoyed reading beyond that. Doyou know where I can find that picture again? Thank you.


    • I’m Peggy, not LindaSue. A Freudian slip there? LOL That misty bridge picture is built into Word Press’ theme called “Misty Look”. It WAS a peaceful photograph, though, wasn’t it? I miss it and am planning on restoring, if I can. Misty Look is no longer fully supported by WordPress, so I’m not sure I will be able to.

      EDIT: I fixed it on my website! Now it will soothe BOTH of us each morning. 🙂 You could do a “snip” of the pic, if you want to use it elsewhere, by using the Windows7 snipping tool and saving it as a .jpg file. O you could do a screen capture if you have software that does that.🙂


Leave a Comment

