Montreal Meatloaf

Montreal Meatloaf

Montreal Meatloaf

I’ve wanted to try McCormick’s “Grillmates” Montreal Steak Seasoning in a meatloaf for some time now and I finally got around to doing that today.  I shouldn’t have waited so long!  It was delicious!  This is nothing at all like my Italian Meatloaf I’ve been making for 40+ years, but is was flavorful and a pleasant change from our norm.  I ordinarily use tomato sauce atop my meatloaves, but I happened to have some very rich, grass-fed beef gravy in my freezer from the last grass-fed brisket I cooked.  So I decided to make a delightful sauce with that, adding a dab of tomato paste and red wine.  This recipe is suitable for Phase 2 (OWL) of Atkins.  Paleo and Primal diners can also enjoy this meatloaf provided they either omit the red wine in the sauce, or substitute straight tomato sauce for the top of the loaf (adding it the last 30 minutes of cooking).

Using grass-fed beef, check out the fantastic nutritional information below for this meatloaf!

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try. Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or our direct order site:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not accept payment for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 lb. grass-fed ground beef

1 lb. ground pork (I use very lean ground loin)

2 oz. green bell pepper, finely chopped

2 oz. onion, finely chopped

1/4 c. parsley, chopped

1 T. flax meal soaked a couple minutes in 1/4 c. water

1 large egg, beaten

2 tsp. homemade Montreal Steak Seasoning

1 c. rich beef gravy

2 oz. red wine

1 oz. tomato paste

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  You can saute the onion and bell pepper in 1 T. oil first if you prefer, but I did not bother this time, as this loaf is large enough and will bake long enough to get the veggies tender without pre-sautéing.  Caramelizing these vegetables won’t have a great flavor impact here.  Your call there. In a large mixing bowl, mix all ingredients well, either with a fork or your hands.  Spoon out onto lightly greased baking pan.  Shape into long loaf about 8″x 4½” (or whatever shape you prefer).  Pop into 350º oven for about 1 hr. 20 minutes, or until meat thermometer reads 155º.

While meat is cooking, Simmer the beef gravy, wine and tomato paste over low heat until thick and smooth.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Set aside until meat is done, reheating a minute or two right before serving. Remove meatloaf from oven when it reaches 155º internal temperature and slice into 8 servings.  Spoon sauce over meatloaf and serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 8 servings, each contains:

404 calories

27.4 g  fat

3.83 g  carbs, .75 g  fiber, 3.08 g  NET CARBS

31.88 g protein

471 mg sodium


2 comments on “Montreal Meatloaf

    • Welcome, Shirley. For this meatloaf, if you don’t happen to have some on hand leftover, you might want to just substitute the tomato sauce for the top. If you’re a low carber, you’d have to hunt down a commercial low-carb gravy, and honestly, I’ve never seen one, but such a thing may exist (but it’s likely not very good). Sometimes in the mushroom area of your grocery, they have sliced mushroom in steak sauce and that’s not too bad for a quick little beefy gravy. If you’re asking me how to make beef gravy from a beef roast, I just lift the meat out of the metal baking pan (leaving all pan juices/drippings in the pan). Add some water to the pan and place over lowest possible heat (if it’s a glass dish, you’ll have to scrape the water-soaking drippings with a wooden or rubber spatula into a metal pan. Over low heat, stir, deglazing all the baked on meat juices by scraping the bottom and sides of the pan with a spatula. The pan juices will get browner and richer as you deglaze the pan. I then sprinkle in salt, pepper, and a dash of garlic powder and taste for further seasoning needs. I used to thicken my gravies with cornstarch mixed in cold water, but now that I’m low-carbing, I use xanthan gum, guar gum or glucomannan powder (I order from dusted VERY lightly over the gravy in stages, stirring constantly to incorporate as quickly as possible to prevent clumping. Wait between each light dusting to be sure it has a chance to do its thickening before adding more. Too much IS NOT a “pretty thing” and will ruin your gravy, turning it gelatinous/slimy. Once you get the hang of using these odd thickeners, it’s easy really. I’ve only messed up maybe 2 batches in hundreds of batches of gravy. I’m a gravy girl from way back!🙂


Leave a Comment

