Zucchini “Donuts”

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge (bottom view)

I wanted to cook zucchini tonight and although a fritter of some sort was formulating in my head, I decided to make them in a fun shape for visual impact.  This is a great way to entice children to eat a veggie they might not otherwise eat!  After all, what child doesn’t like to eat donuts? I used my non-stick Wilton Donut pan (the large one, with 6 large donut shapes in the pan).  Thye cooked nicely and tasted GREAT!  They weren’t as crisp as I like my fritters, buy my husband thought they were just fine like this. They brown as shown above on the bottoms.  These are not suitable until Phase 2 of Atkins.  They are not acceptable for Paleo-Primal due to the oat fiber and lupin flour.  This is what they look like on the tops when done:

VARIATION:  You could omit the onion powder and Parmesan cheese in these, sub in 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and a couple packets of sweetener and have a sweet version for morning coffee.  Or double the recipe and do half as a veggie side dish, half as a morning sweet.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge (top view)

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


9 oz. zucchini, grated

3/4 tsp. onion powder

2 large eggs, beaten

Dash each salt and cayenne pepper

2 T. oat fiber (not oat flour, or oat bran, which are high in carbs)

1 T. coconut flour

1 T. unflavored, unsweetened whey protein powder

1 T. lupin flour (or 1 T. more unflavored whey protein powder)

3/4 tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. glucomannan powder (konjac powder)

2 T. grated Parmesan cheese

1 tsp. olive oil for oiling pan

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Using a basting brush, lightly oil non-stick donut pan with olive oil and set aside.  Grate zucchini onto paper towels, blot on top with more paper towels to remove some of its natural water.  Place zucchini in medium bowl, add all other ingredients and stir to blend well.  With a slim rubber spatula or small spoon, dip the mixture evenly into the 6 compartments, leveling the batter.  The compartments will be pretty full, but this doesn’t rise up much, so that’s OK. If you don’t own a donut pan, you can use 6 muffin cups.  Or you could use a mini muffin pan, filling those slots nearly full with the mixture.    Pop into 350º oven and bake for 15-20 minutes or until firm to the touch.  Loosen from the pan with a knife tip and serve at once.

CAUTION:  Lupin beans are technically a legume that is closely related to peanuts.  If you have a peanut allergy, I would encourage you to make the suggested substitution, as there have been reports of some peanut sensitive people reacting negatively to lupin beans.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 6 zucchini “donuts”, each contains:

62.33 calories

3.73 g fat

5.28 g carbs, 3.42 g fiber, 1.86 g  NET CARBS

4.85  g. protein

126 mg sodium

10 comments on “Zucchini “Donuts”

  1. I have never been a very big cook, but my life has changed due to diabetes, heart disease, and over weight. I am getting much better with health and cooking and so greatful to have found LC is the key to it all. But just getting started and trying to buy all the ingredient staples and kitchen utensils to cook with is very expensive. I want to thank you for your wonderful recipes. I am doing very well using them. I would like to try the zucchini donuts, I was wondering if the ingredient “glucomannan powder (also called konjac powder)” can be substituted for xanthan Gum, like I said I am really ignoriant to cooking so I don’t know if it’s in there for thickening or if it adds taste, or texture etc. and all I know about xanthan Gum is I bought it to try and make gravy, which I have not tried yet. If the recipe is better with the konjac powder then I will wait and order it, but if so what other recipes do you use it in? Thanks!
    P.S. I live in Sarasota, FL do you know of any groups or people in my area that are or might be willing to form a group to get together and share how to make and cook and keep with the Low Carb lifestyle?


  2. HI Peggy! I am curious if Lupin flour can be used as an even swap for white flour? Does it have a nut taste? Is it smooth? Could I use it to thicken things??



    • Hi, Traci! From what little experimenting I and a few others on Low-CarbFriends have done with it to date, I would say NO it cannot be swapped 1 for 1 for white flour. All recipes I’ve seen for it on the web mix it with at least one other flour sub. It will render anything you make with it VERY yellow in color, and yes, it has a taste, but I would liken it more to beans than nuts in flavor. And I’m not yet sure I like that taste in everything. It’s a back taste similar to Carbquick in that is is ever present in most things you use it in. On a positive note, it does render a very smooth cake/bread texture (fewer air holes) than other flour subs. I’ve not personally used it to thicken, as I don’t think I’d like the yellowing effect in gravies. Some I chat with at LCF say they have dredged veggies and meat with it for frying, but again, I have not personally, primarily because I don’t want everything I eat to be yellow. You know me……food has got to LOOK good as well as taste good.🙂 So far, I’ve restricted my use to things I expect to be yellow, like lemon cookies, lemon cakes, cornbread recipes and perhaps in a yellow cake one day.


  3. Oh, I need something different and these look great! I will have to use a muffin pan, but I absolutely try these. Thank you so much for all your wonderful recipes! Keep them coming!


    • Yes, Celeste. You could just use 1 T. more coconut flour, or 1 T. more whey protein powder. I think either way would cook up just fine. If you go with more coconut flour, they might have a faint taste of coconut, but probably not pronounced.


Leave a Comment

