Meyer Lemon Pound Cake

Click to enlarge

Meyer Lemon Pound Cake

My last lemon pound cake was basically my dessert bread batter with the zest and juice of 1 Meyer lemon added.  Came out very moist and incredibly delicious!  If you’ve never tasted them before, Meyer lemons are a cross between a lemon and a Mandarin orange in flavor.  A very aromatic taste indeed!  You could use a regular lemon for this if you can’t find Meyer lemons in your grocery store.  I can’t get the Meyers all the time, but my local store has them once in awhile.  I snatch up a bag whenever they are on the shelf!  I’m growing a 1 y.o. Meyer Lemon tree, but it will be several years before it fruits, I imagine.  It did bloom last year though, and I did see some bees pollinating them.

This recipe is not suitable until you reach the nuts and seeds rung of the Atkins OWL carb ladder.  It is suitable for Primal if you use a plan-acceptable sweetener.  This pound cake is so moist, it is delicious without frosting.  But it was also good with a cream cheese frosting made from 4 oz. cream cheese, juice and zest of another Meyer lemon and a little sweetener.  But I didn’t calculate any frosting in the nutritional info below, so be sure to add in numbers for any frosting you put on this cake.

More delicious low-carb treats can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or here:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1/3 c. coconut flour

2/3 c. almond flour

¼ tsp. sea salt

1 T. glucomannan powder (optional, but improves texture & fiber)

Sweetener to equal 3/4 c. sugar (I used ¼ c.+ 2T. Steviva)

6 drops liquid Splenda

3 T. coconut oil

1 stick unsalted butter

½ tsp. vanilla

Juice of 1 Meyer lemon (or regular lemon)

Zest of 1 Meyer lemon (or regular lemon)

¼ tsp. Boyajian lemon oil  (see “where to buy” tab atop this page)

8 large eggs, beaten

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Melt butter and coconut oil in microwave in a medium mixing bowl.  Add almond flour, coconut flour, salt and glucomannan powder to the melted butter and oil and beat with a spoon until smooth.    Add vanilla, lemon zest, juice and Boyajian lemon oil now.  Add sweeteners and beaten eggs.  Beat with spoon until all lumps are out of batter.  Using a rubber spatula, scrape the batter evenly into a lightly oiled non-stick loaf pan (mine is extra long, but shallow 4″x 2.5″x10).  Level batter as best you can with the spatula.  Pop into preheated oven for 40-45 minutes or until it is lightly browned on top and passes the toothpick test in the center.  Remove and cool before attempting to remove from pan and slicing. Enjoy plain or with a thin lemon frosting on top.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes fourteen ½” thick slices, each contains:

168 calories

15.3 g  fat

3.56 g  carbs, 2.03 g  fiber, 1.53 g  NET CARBS

90 mg sodium

45 comments on “Meyer Lemon Pound Cake

  1. I am sorry, what I meant to ask was : “Is there any way you could suggest a low carb lemon glaze recipe that I can make and put on this cake ? “


    • There really isn’t a good substitute. If you have xanthan gum, you could try 2 tsp. of that instead. If not, just leave it out, since recipe says optional. The texture will be a little different without it but the cake should cook up OK.


  2. Hi Peggy, thank you for all your yummy recipes. Do you have any recommendations as a substitute for almond flour? My daughter has an almond allergy. Thanks 🙂


    • Well, you can certainly use a mixer if you like. With only 1 cup total “flours”, just didn’t seem necessary for this cake. Most low carb cake batters are grainy, and our alternate flours like almond and coconut are not powdery like wheat flour. 😉 But surprisingly, this grainy quality is rarely noticed in the baked, final products. Let me know how you like it, Gwen! 🙂


    • Welcome to the site, Di Kemp! 1 stick of butter is 1/4 lb. or 4 oz. or 113.5 grams. Hope this helps you and I DO hope you enjoy this delicious cake recipe!


  3. This looks wonderful! I don’t use artificial sweeteners though. I’m thinking I’ll use Swerve for the sweetener, should I up the amount for the splenda drops or sub stevia drops? If so how much would you recommend? Thank you for your lovely recipes!


    • Swerve is stronger than what I’m calling for, so you may not need the drops at all, actually. If up to it, taste the batter and decide whether you want to add any stevia drops. I think the Swerve alone will be enough. Hope you enjoy this.🙂


  4. I made this last night, and I was wowed! It looked and tasted just like a wheat flour cake. Best low carb cake I’ve ever made! Thanks!


    • Ditto on your first comment. Ditto on your second comment. This one is a keeper for us, too. I plan to play around with the basic recipe for an orange and lime version, and maybe a base batter for other cakes as well. 🙂


  5. I’m new to stevia, splenda, and other sugar alternatives so I’m learning as I go! I’ve got powdered splenda on hand as well as the stevia liquid drops. Is it actual drops or the number of squeezes? I’ve seen recipes that call for “4 squeezes” (approximately 4 tsp according the the packaging) but just want to make sure before I make a loaf of this beautiful and amazingly delicious sounding cake! Thank you!


    • The liquid Splenda I was using at the time was EzSweets, which releases 1 drop at a time. Sucralose to go and other squeeze types I really don’t like. Do the shortest squeeze possible. The squeeze bottles that are so popular now are inaccurate, make cooking measurement impossible and are very wasteful. I’ve switched back to liquids that can be dropped 1 drop at a time. I like EZsweets and order it on-line. I hope you like this cake, Bethany. 🙂


Leave a Comment

