The Most Cherished Post On My Website

I still can’t believe it!  My blog has topped 2,000,000 hits!  Five years ago my friends on the Atkins community Forums (where my weight-loss journey all began)  asked me, several even begged me, to set up a website where they could get to all my recipes more easily.  Suffice it to say, search engines do not always find what we are looking for. Who knew it would take the direction it took?  Never in my wildest dreams did I think there was enough interest in low-carb cooking to make a go of a low-carb recipe blog.  My brother, a professional chef before retirement, didn’t think there would be enough interest to make it worth my time and effort either.  Well, we were both wrong!  Thanks to all my wonderful readers you’ve made it clear that you ARE interested in my low-carb creations.   Many take the time to come back and tell me so.  As long as I live I will never forget the touching, appreciative thank you letter from reader Lynne Daniel, administrative assistant to Dr. Eric Westman (co author of The New Atkins for a New You,) and his low-carb diet support group at Duke University.  It truly brought tears to my eyes.  Whenever I think to myself “Is this blogging really working?”, I come back to this Pesto Sauce post, read her kind comments and am reinvigorated:

Lynne Hi, Peggy!! OMG……you totally have a “fan club” here and I’m definitely self-appointed president!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you for all you are doing!! (Just shared your site with an endocrinology resident/MD and nutrition fellow/PhD who were in meeting with me this morning at Duke. Both wanted/needed low carb recipes, as they’ve recently started low-carbing themselves…so I promptly sent them both links to your site, as we conversed (thank God for Blackberry!). Please don’t ever doubt the power of your posts…the gift you give all of us everytime you create and post another recipe out there for us. You are changing lives, helping others improve health and quality of life through all that you have done and are doing. And I am so grateful!! Please let me know if you’re ever coming back to North Carolina for a visit…would love to have you visit with us in our Low Carb Support group here anytime (Dr. Eric Westman is our group leader…….   I wanted to let you know that your beautiful recipes have been a huge reason why I’ve been able to lose 130 lbs. since November 2009. You are a godsend and I just wanted to say “Thank you!!” from bottom of my heart for all you have done and are doing for all of us out here who are making life-saving changes in our diet and nutrition choices. I help lead the low carb support group here at Duke, and your wonderful recipes are always topic of conversation at our monthly meetings. We ….. love your recipes!! (I include your blog link in our monthly meeting recap, too…so hopefully, there are others from the group signing on, too – there are at least 50 other “low carbers” here locally following you…not to mention about 10 of us from my office here!). It’s a joy to see what you’re going to post next…and I believe I speak on all of our behalfs when I say your “low-carb labors of love and deliciousness” in the kitchen could not be more enjoyed or more appreciated!! I’ve got a ton of basil growing at home right now, too…so guess what I’ll be doing in the kitchen this evening!. Thank you so much again!! And best and brightest blessings always – you and your wonderful recipes are treasures and blessings to a lot of folks! :) Lynne

I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank ALL my readers who have been supportive and who come back to the site again and again.  I love your feedback, whether positive or negative.  Reader reaction to the flavor of my food is why I do this and that alone makes it enjoyable for me.  HAPPY COOKING to all of you out there.  You truly are seeing to it that this blog is a busy, happy and most enjoyable endeavor. :)  And as of April, 2014, the blog has topped 4,000,000 hits! :)  I couldn’t be more pleased my recipes are clearly reaching the greater low-carb community now, and not just my buddies on the Atkins Community forums. 🙂

31 comments on “The Most Cherished Post On My Website

  1. I “discovered” you less than two months ago, but have already recommended your blog and recipes to others. Congratulations on your milestone, and thank you for everything you do for so many.


    • Anita, thank you so much for your kind words. You don’t know how much it means. Those professional chefs and restaurant owners come around to your table and ask how you liked your meal for a reason. They genuinely want to know so they can fine-tune what they’re cooking to better suit their patrons palates. Thanks for being a recipe fan!


  2. Thank you for doing what you do. It makes a difference to those of us who are carb intolerant. I’ve had a weight problem since my 20’s eating what the USDA teaches you, low fat…vegetables…the whole food pyramid thing.. All that did was make me heavier. Thanks to attending a free class at our new local Whole Foods. I learned of low carb. I’ve lost 65 pounds. I struggle with feeling limited in my choices and you have helped a lot of your recipes. Thanks very much. Alison


    • OMG Congratulations on your weight loss Allison! Wonderful accomplishment you can be proud of. If I contributed to your success in the tiniest way, I’m happy. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell me. Makes it all worthwhile.


Leave a Comment

