Sofrito Deli Melt Sandwich

Sofrito Deli Melt

Sofrito Deli Melt

I make stromboli-like sandwiches once in awhile and had a hankering for one today.  It occurred to me to add a dab of my sofrito sauce I keep in the freezer in a sandwich bag, as a condiment.  MAN, I’ve discovered a wonderful thing! That stuff is fantastic with deli meat and cheese on a bun!  This sandwich is suitable once you reach the nuts rung of the Atkins OWL carb ladder.  Those still on Induction will need to wait to enjoy this sandwich. This recipe is not suitable for Paleo-Primal dining.

VARIATION:  A little olive Tapenade or chopped or sliced black and/or green olives added to this sandwich would be a tasty addition, making it more like a muffaletta sandwich in flavor

Don’t be too quick to write this baby off as being a little too high carb before checking out the macros below. The carb price brings with it considerable nutrition.  As with any processed meats, if you can afford the better quality, lower sodium stuff, like Boar’s Head, by all means, use that.  As all deli meats and cheese carry a heavy sodium load, be sure to drink lots of water on days you indulge in them.

Many more delicious low-carb sandwich ideas can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ latest cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a myriad of delicious recipes you are going to want in your collection.  Order your set (or individual volumes) TODAY from Amazon or here:

DISCLAIMER:  I do not get paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


2 slices of my Gluten-Free Grain-Free Focaccia Bread

½-1 tsp. my Sofrito sauce

4 wafer thin (1/16″) slices quality hard salami

1 oz, wafer thin slice quality deli ham

1½ oz. grated mozzarella cheese

2 slices tomato

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  On a small sheet of foil, place 1 slice of the bread.  There is no magical sequence of layering the ingredients here.  This is how I do it though:  spread half the sofrito sauce evenly over the 1st slice of bread. Next, lay on 2 slices of the hard salami.  Sprinkle with half the mozzarella cheese.  Place the slice of deli ham on the stack next.  Spread the rest of the sofrito sauce evenly on the ham. Lay on the last 2 slices of hard salami and sprinkle the remaining cheese on top.  Finally, place the top slice of bread.  Fold up the foil, folding tightly the top and ends.  Pop wrapped sandwich into the preheated 350º oven for about 10-12 minutes to allow the cheese to melt.  Remove from oven, open the foil package, add your tomato slices.  Serve at once.  ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Each sandwich contains:

623 calories

45 g  fat

11.2 g  carbs, 3.6 g  fiber, 7.6 g NET CARBS

46 g  protein

1760 mg sodium

9 comments on “Sofrito Deli Melt Sandwich

  1. Nom this looks good🙂. I haven’t really been missing bread or sandwiches since going LC, but seeing this has given me a little hankering… Thanks for sharing


    • Sorry for any inconvenience. This is the first message I’ve received, as I have discovered mobile apps messages don’t always “come through on my end”. Unsubscribing can only be done by clicking the unsubscribe feature inside the emails themselves, or by going to my website and clicking the FOLLOWING button on the webpage, which toggles it off (to UNFOLLOW). I’m sorry, but I cannot do this for you. I sent you a direct email to this effect also in case you don’t return here and see my reply.


Leave a Comment

