Cashew-Peanut Butter Cookies

Click to enlarge

Cashew-Peanut Butter Cookies

I decided to tinker a bit with the classic 3-ingredient low-carb peanut butter cookie recipe that floats around everywhere on the internet.  I’m not too fond of peanut butter; never have been.  So I decided to back off on the peanut butter and add half cashew butter to my version instead.  GOOD decision for this girlie!  I also wanted to pump these up with a little more nutrients and body and added some whey protein to the mixture.  These came out DELICIOUS!  Even my husband likes these cookies, and trust me, he HATES peanut butter!  These gems are not suitable until the nuts and seeds rung of the Atkins Phase 2 OWL carb ladder.  They are not suitable for Paleo-Primal followers at all.  Hope you folks able to have these like them as much as we do!

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


½ c. (rounded), or 2½ oz. raw cashews

1 T. coconut oil)

½ c. unsweetened chunky peanut butter (I use Laura Scudder)

3/4 c. granulated erythritol

1/4 c. granulated Splenda

¼ c. plain whey protein powder (I use NOW brand)

1 large egg, beaten

DIRECTIONS:  Soaking your nuts in some water and then draining to swell and soften them isn’t absolutely necessary, but it’s easier on your food processor blade and will render a smoother cashew butter.  I soaked mine 2 hours in warm water and then drained.

Preheat oven to 350º.  Line a cookie sheet either with parchment paper, a silicone sheet, or grease the pan well. Place cashews and coconut oil into food processor or blender and blend until smooth.  Scrape into a bowl with a rubber spatula.  Add the erythritol, Splenda, whey protein powder, egg  and chunky peanut butter.  Stir to blend mixture well.  In the name of uniform cookie size, using a teaspoon,  mark off the dough in the bowl into 4 equal sections.  You should get 5 cookies from each section, or a total of 20 cookies. Dip up enough dough with your spoon to roll into 1″ balls in your palms.  Set the balls onto the pan about 1″ apart.  These don’t spread much during cooking, so you can probably get all 20 on 1 large pan (4×5) .  When the 20 balls have been formed, take a fork and press them down slightly for that classic peanut butte cookie imprint we all know well.  Pop into preheated 350º oven for approximately 12-14 minutes or until just slightly brown on the edges.    These are crumbly when hot, so allow them to completely cool on the pan before removing with a spatula.  Store in an air-tight container when fully cooled.  ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 20 cookies, each contains:

76 calories

5.8 g  fat

2.6 g  carbs, .51 g  fiber, 2.09 g  NET CARBS

3.56 g  protein

30 mg sodium

34 mg potassium

15 comments on “Cashew-Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Hi Peggy, I just made these and I had some issues. Curious if you might have any input. I soaked the cashews, and instead of turning into a nut-buttery substance in the food processor, they ended up a gluey, greasy lump of cashew “stuff.” I proceeded with the recipe, using a mixture of Truvia and Swerve in lieu of the listed sweeteners (not usually a problem, in my experience), and mixing by hand rather than in the (miniature) food processor. As I combined all of the ingredients, the dough began to exude oil. Copious amounts of oil, actually. During the entire mixing and baking process, at least 1/2 cup of oil seeped from the dough. No verdict on taste or texture yet; they’re cooling. I’m going to try again. I’ve already made the cashew butter from un-soaked cashews, which turned out just as it should. I suspect the soaked cashews were the issue for me. Do you have any thoughts on how I might have butchered your recipe? =) Apologies for that! I’m sure it’s actually great.


    • Well, considering there’s only 1 T. coconut oil ADDED (to facilitate blending), “copious amounts” had to have exuded from either the raw cashews themselves or the peanut butter. Your brand of peanut butter might be oilier than mine is the only thing I can think of? There’s nothing omitted from the ingredients list, I just rechecked.
      Are you certain you couldn’t have forgotten the whey protein powder? That would absorb oil.

      To be quite honest, I don’t recall ANY oil exuding into my bowl from the batter. I DID soak my cashews in water before processing them with the coconut oil and peanut butter. But I don’t see how that would have made any difference on oil content in the batter. I’m so sorry that your first batch didn’t come out. Why don’t you try omitting the coconut oil from yours and see if they will come out next time. I have to add it to get the nuts to form a butter, but that’s all I could suggest if you’re willing to try them again.


      • Hi Peggy, thanks for the reply. The second batch that I made last night turned out very well! The un-soaked cashew butter, to which I did add the 1 T of oil, worked just fine. It’s a good recipe; I’ll just not soak the nuts in it, I think. It was, of course, the oil from the nuts that was seeping out of the first batch. It seemed like the water absorbed by the soaked cashews prevented them from emulsifying properly. I did add the protein powder, and actually added a little more than called for to try to absorb the oil. Anyway, thank you again for the help and the recipe, one of many we’ve enjoyed.


        • That is truly a mystery, because I did soak my cashews. Hmmm. Well, I’m sure glad you figured out a fix that worked for you and that you folks liked them on round two. It may have been that you hand mixed and that wasn’t powerful enough to get the emulsion to take. We’ll probably never know. 🙂


  2. You indicated these weren’t at all suitable for primal diet folks but I’m not quite sure why? Is it the whey protein ingredient that is a grain?


    • I can buy it at my local Natural Grocers. I have also ordered it from It’s a sweeteners that is made from sugar alcohol during the processing of sugar. No impact on blood glucose levels, which is why I use it.


    • Use an equivalent amount of your preferred sweetener that equals that amount of real sugar. You’re asking to remove the only flour here. Yes, you can sub in other flours, like almond (do not use coconut), but I have no idea how they’ll cook up, good, or crumbly (I suspect the latter). Low carb baking is a science experiment and when we tamper with the items the results can be unpredictable. Give it a try and see what happens is all I can suggest.


    • I know I’m the odd man out on that one. The cooks at LCF are always posting peanut butter cheesecakes, cookies, pies, cakes……but I usually don’t even open up those discussions as I REALLY don’t like PB very much……only marginally better than hubby, who usually won’t even taste anything made with it. I plan to try these with all cashew butter next time (but roasted cashews instead of raw next time) and see what that tastes like.


Leave a Comment

