Low-Carb Corn Tortillas


Corn “Tortillas”

My inspiration for these tortillas was a low-carb tortilla recipe I recently saw on Ditch The Wheat website:  But I’ve slightly changed them and added a couple key flavor ingredients to give them a corn taste to make enchiladas with.   I’m pleased with the result and plan to make some beef enchiladas with them tonight.  I’ll be posting that recipe soon, so stay tuned.

This recipe isn’t suitable until the nuts and seeds rung of the Atkins Phase 2 OWL carb ladder.  It would not be acceptable for Paleo or Primal guests due to the minute amount of cornmeal and artificial corn flavoring used in them.  Omitting the cornmeal will lower carbs only a wee bit, but it will lower flavor, too.  I use it here because it does bring a mild cornmeal flavor to these tortillas, along with the Fresh Corn Flavoring I have included.

The “Fresh Corn” flavoring I use really tastes like buttered corn.  Only place that carries it anymore is  Select Products.  The corn flavoring can just be omitted in this recipe, as the flavor it brings is truly mild, at best.   Or you could add some pureed baby corn with juice to the batter, but not very much.   Another possible substitution for the corn flavoring would be 1 T. corn bran (pure fiber), if you have it, on hand.  Corn bran can be ordered from Honeyvillegrains.com.

VARIATION:  For a sweet use, omit the corn flavoring and cornmeal.  Fill with fruit fillings and top with whipped cream laced with your favorite liqueurs. 

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1 T. yellow cornmeal

3/4 tsp. baking powder

3 T. + 1 tsp. coconut flour

1 T. flax meal (I use golden in these)

3 T. almond flour

½ tsp. psyllium husk powder (I use NOW brand)

3 T. light olive oil

3 beaten eggs (medium or large)

½ c. + 1 T. water

2 tsp. “Fresh Corn” flavoring [optional, but adds a bit of flavor]

8 tsp. light olive oil (for frying the tortillas)

DIRECTIONS:  Whisk the eggs, water, corn flavoring and 3 T. olive oil well in a mixing bowl.  Measure and add in all the dry ingredients.   Whisk well too a smooth batter.  Heat a non-stick skillet over medium high heat.  Ad 1 tsp. oil and spread it around in the center of the skillet with your spatula. Using a 1/4 c. measuring cup, scoop up 3 T. batter (about 3/4 of the cup), and holding the skillet in your left hand, ready to tilt, pour the 3 T. batter quickly into the skillet in a circle with your right hand.  Tilt the skillet to allow the batter to roll into a nice 4-5″ circle.  Brown the tortilla on 1 side for about 2 minutes, flip and brown the second side.  I slid my tortilla around on the skillet surface so the oil would continue to keep it from sticking as it cooked.  With a spatula, remove the cooked tortilla to awaiting paper toweling to drain and cool so it can be handled for whatever application you are using them for. Repeat this process, adding 1 tsp. oil to the skillet before forming each of the tortillas.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes eight 4½-5″ small tortillas, each contains:

142.5 calories

13.2 g  fat

3.86 g  carbs, 1.43 g  fiber, 2.43 g  NET CARBS  (2.4 g NC if the cornmeal is omitted)

3.63 g  protein

84 mg sodium


23 comments on “Low-Carb Corn Tortillas

  1. These look great. We are fans of corn tortillas because we like hardshell (fried) tacos. Have you (or anyone reading this) any feedback on how they perform when fried? Traditional flour tortillas do not fry like corn tortillas so I’m looking for a recipe that can approximate the corn tortilla experience.


  2. Peggy, you may have found it by now but there is a company called Select Flavors that sells the “Fresh Corn” flavoring. I believe I read that they actually bought out Superior. At any rate, I scoured the web (whatever did we do without it except collect yellowed newspaper recipes in old shoe boxes) looking for the flavoring after I read and wanted to make your recipe authentically (which is fabulous by the way!). Here’s the url: http://www.selectflavors.com/trial-flavor-pack/ and here’s my Pinterest post just for some additional info: SELECT FLAVORS | Trial Pack of Your Choice of 5 Flavors (2 oz. each) @ 5 for $19.99 & Free Shipping. Includes unique flavors like: Fresh Corn (great for flavoring low carb muffins to taste like cornbread); Cotton Candy; Bubblegum; Apple and more! Try this recipe with the Fresh Corn flavoring and you’ll wonder if you made the high carb version by mistake; it’s that good: https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/low-carb-corn-tortillas/


    • Thanks for telling me, Pamela. Actually I had found the Select Flavors folks and deduced they may have bought out Superior. But when I went back to the Select Flavors a second time, my PC Firewall started screaming that the site was infected with malware and I GOT THE HECK OUT OF DODGE, luckily without infecting my pc. Been afraid to go back there ever since. Luckily my bottle isn’t used up yet. I’m hoping that maybe by the time it is, the site will have been “cleaned up”.

      Update: I just now went and plugged the URL into to my trusty “URL Void” website to check it out and it came up clean by all their Antivirus scanners. Looks like The Select folks rid the site of whatever was embedded there. That’s GREAT to know!🙂 Thanks so much for letting me know about this so I could check them out again. I appreciate it Pamela. The Superior Fresh Corn, Coconutti, Pineapple and Almond flavorings are just amazingly good. 🙂


  3. I recently tried a horrendously textured retail 0 carb bread, but realized its one redeeming factor: it tasted like a corn tortilla! only ingredients that might impart flavor were oat fiber, egg whites, and psyllium husk. Wodnering if oat fiber has a place in these or it would inhibit frying? perhaps in place of the coconut flour?


    • I think oat fiber would dry these out too much. But you could try it one time and see what happens. Low-carb bread ingredients can be so unpredictable, I just don’t know if oat fiber could be substituted for the coconut flour. I don’t really think so, as I think it will dry them out too much.


  4. Hi Peggy. For what is is worth for this or other recipes, I have seen folks using the liquid from canned baby corn–and even the contents of the can whomped in the blender/food processor to add corn flavor to baked goods. I see there is little liquid in this recipe, so I suspect that this tip would be more useful for LC “cornbread”, etc.


    • Yes, indeed, and I have done that before in some of my cornbread recipes. I suspect I’ll keep fine-tuning this tortilla recipe over time and appreciate the liquid-sub tip! It’s something I plan on trying out in future. But I’m dong a re-Induction phase right now and won’t be cooking any breads for awhile.


    • Yes, but not the Fresh Corn, sadly. The sets they sell are the more frequently used flavors only. I’ve been aware of ShopBettys for awhile and never see the Fresh Corn flavor there. 😦 Thanks for mentioning them though for others to be aware of that outlet for other flavors. 🙂


  5. Hi, Peggy – I love your recipes, but success with the tortillas (this and the no-flour microwave one) is eluding me. I think the problem is the consistency of my batter, but I’m not sure how to gauge it. Should I be going for a crepe-like consistency, or a thicker spoonable gloppy type? With the latter, I have trouble getting the batter to swirl thinly enough before it starts setting. With the former, I have trouble with my end product breaking in the middle. Is it because I’m using water to thin the batter? I used to make sourdough crepes fairly proficiently, so I’m feeling a bit lost. Please guide me to great tortillas!


    • Mine was a little thicker than typical crepe, watery batter and I had to tilt my pan REALLY fast, or mine started to set up on me, too. What might be at play here and causing your difficulty is the fact that coconut flours (and even almond flours) vary so much in their moisture absorption quality. You might have one that thickens a bit more than my Honeyvillegrains brand, which is very loose and ground quite fine. Try adding 1 more tablespoon of water to your batter (might even take 2 T. more water) until you get a batter about like a “thin” pancake batter, but mine was definitely not as thin as crepe batter. Hope that works for you. These are definitely more delicate that real corn tortillas, but I was able to fill/roll them to make my enchiladas. My No-Flour tortilla is a sturdier wrapper, but you’d have to add corn flavoring to that recipe to get that taste: https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2010/08/01/no-flour-tortillas/


      • I bet the flours really are part of the problem, since my coconut flour is super absorbent, and my almond flour isn’t ground as finely as the Honeyvillegrains. I also use cast iron, so I’m going to try a lower heat to buy myself some time before the batter sets. Thank you so much for your advice (and your biscuits!)!


    • Well, I’d be lying if I said my “corn” tortillas are as good as the real deal. But they do have a hint of corn taste and leftover, an even more pronounced corn taste. 🙂 Hope you like them Beverly. They were real easy to make.🙂


    • Why thank you for sharing that here, Camilla! I and my readers will want to try it. The price is sure great! I was so dismayed to learn my other product maker was defunct. I’ve bookmarked your suggestion and will definitely try it when my bottle of Superior brand runs out. Again, many thanks!


Leave a Comment

