Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

Click to enlarge

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

I whipped up a bunch of whipping cream yesterday for making a birthday dessert for my hubby and had quite a bit leftover.  In order to use it up promptly I decided to try my hand at some whoopie pies.  Been wanting to try making them for a long time now.  I don’t own a whoopie pie pan, but do have an Ebilskiver pan with seven 3″ slots that works just fine for such things (provided you use the correct amount of batter for each one).

These came out delicious, for my very first foray into the whoopie pie world.  :)  Both hubby and I gave them a 2-thumbs-up!  Very nice texture in the cookie part.  I will definitely want to try my hand at a chocolate version one day.  Stay tuned!  Due to the oat flour, these are not suitable until Atkins Pre-Maintenance or Maintenance.  They would also not be suitable for a Paleo-Primal lifestyle on several levels.   I used liquid sucralose to cut carbs. These cake-y cookies can be eaten plain, just as a good gingerbread cookie as well.  :)  If you want to cut carbs a bit, instead of using 2/3 c. oat flour, you could sub in almond flour or coconut flour for 1/3 c. of the oat flour.  I would not recommend more than that or they may get crumbly.

Many more delicious, guilt-free sweets like this can be at your fingertips in Low Carbing Among Friends, the latest low-carb, gluten-free cookbook series by international author Jennifer Eloff and a group of other talented chefs, including George Stella, well-known to the low-carbing community.   Order you personal cookbooks at Amazon or here:

VARIATION:  ¼ c. pumpkin added to the whipped cream filling would be very good, but that will likely necessitate a few more drops of sweetener.  


2/3 c. oat flour (ground from 100% gluten free rolled oats) [or 1/3 c. oat flour + 1/3 c. almond or 1/3 c. coconut flour, to lower carbs a bit)

1 c. plain whey protein powder

3/4 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. cinnamon

¼ tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. allspice

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

½ tsp. ginger

Liquid sucralose to equal 3/4 c. sugar  (less if you don’t like things too sweet)

¼ c. erythritol

1 T. oat fiber, optional for smoother texture (omit for gluten-free version)

1 T. flax meal

4 egg whites, whisked until frothy

8 oz. baby food carrots (I use 2 the tiny 4-oz. jars)

1 T. blackstrap molasses

1 T. coconut oil, melted

½ tsp. glucomannan powder (optional, but greatly improves texture)

COOKIE DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Lightly oil your baking pan slots with a brush and set pan aside.  Place egg whites in a large mixing bowl and whisk until frothy. Add all other liquid ingredients and whisk well.  Measure all dry ingredients into the bowl right on top of the liquid ingredients.  Stir batter well to blend ingredients.  This is a very thin batter, but that is normal.  They will cook up quite nicely.  Using a 2-tablespoon measuring cup, spoon 2 T. of batter into each greased slot.  The batter will make 20 cookie halves.  Pop into 350º oven for about 10 minutes or until dry to the touch in the center. Remove and cool int he pan.

FOR THE FILLING:  Whip 1 c. heavy cream with a hand mixer until thick.  Add liquid sucralose or liquid stevia to taste, 1/4 tsp. vanilla, and most important of all, add 1/4 tsp. glucomannan to stiffen and stabilize the final whipped cream filling.  Chill an hour before filling cakes and serving.  I used 2 T. filling per whoopie pie.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 10 Whoopie Pies.  Each filled whoopie pie contains:

158 calories

11.5 g  fat

8.36 g  carbs, 1.73 g  fiber, 6.63 g  NET CARBS

7.68 g  protein

88 mg sodium

156 mg potassium

29% RDA Vitamin A, 19% manganese, 13% phosphorous, 9% selenium

17 comments on “Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

  1. I am seeing this in 2015 on Pinterest. These look and sound delicious…except I can’t have dairy. What can I use instead of the whey protein powder? Thank you!


    • I don’t have a recipe with both banana and apple sauce. I think that may be George Stella’s recipe you may have seen on the LCAF page at FB. I think he posted it this week. You could try browsing the photos on the LCAF FB page and pull it up there to reprint. Or go to his website (Stella Style) and browse through all his pancake recipes? Sorry I can’t help more, but I do think that’s a Stella recipe.


  2. I really like your Aebleskiver pan, do you remember where you got it? I’ve been searching the web but so far have not seen one like it…. most are round on the bottom but I really like yours – more english muffinish


  3. This sounds wonderful! Have a question. Do I need to have liquid sweetner also? Can I not just use the powdered Stevia for it all? I don’t know the why yet for many recipes requiring both liquid and powdered form of sweetners. Anne


    • Using all of 1 sweetener will not result in a product as sweet as products that use 2 or 3 sweeteners. Dr. Atkins points that out in his books. That said, yes, you can use all 1 sweetener, but I don’t think you will like all stevia. I’ve never baked anything with it exclusively that I liked. It under sweetens and over sweetens real easily. And sadly, you can’t know those results, or the amounts to use, until the cake or whatever is already baked and find out it’s too much, or too little. I guess whaat I’m saying is stevia is much more unpredictable in baking, so it’s the “minor” one I add in, and never ever the “major” one I use.


  4. These look delicious! I’m a real whoopie pie addict… I’ve never heard of using glucomannan as thickener and stabilizer, definitely have to give it a try! Thanks for the great idea!


    • Yes, Elvira, that glucomannan trick I’ve just learned in the last year. Before, I would use a pinch of S/F vanilla pudding powder to accomplish that. Gluc is a much healthier option. 🙂 Hope you like these if you decide to try them.


    • You could try and see what happens. I just don’t know. If you try it, I’d go with half almond flour and half coconut flour and see how that comes out. I suspect the texture will be very different though. Not making any promises that suggestion will work.


    • Say, nothing wrong with a little creativity. A girl has to make do with the pans she’s got. 🙂 I’m assuming you plan to fill the donut pan slots fuller? and then slice them to fill? I’m sure you know they’re gonna be a little messier to eat in that shape. My filling tended to ooze out the “rim” on mine as I ate mine. Yours will likely ooze out the rim AND the centers. LOL So EAT FAST!!!! Tricky, but certainly doable!


Leave a Comment

