Chipotle Jicama Hash

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

If anyone had told me what I concocted for our lunch today would have been as good as it was, I would have said “Noooooo, Waaay”. But I’m here to tell you it was just DELICIOIUS!  I’ll be making this dish often.  So easy, so quick and so good!  My husband liked this, too, and he’s not so fond of jicama. This dish reminds me a little of German Potato Salad, but jicama is somewhat crunchy.  Jicama, although lower in carbs than potatoes, is still fairly carb-y.  Substituting rutabaga will eliminate the crunchy quality jicama has if that bothers you, but will make the dish higher in carbs.  Using diced turnips will pull down the carbs even lower and remain soft.   In all honesty, the pièce de resistance here wasn’t the hash itself, but the chipotle mayo that went on top!  I daubed 2 T. over the top of my serving of hash and just sort of spread it around with my fork.  You could of course toss the entire batch in a large bowl with the 4 T. of mayo if you prefer.  But I feared that wouldn’t take as pretty a picture here.  Because this dish is slightly higher in carbs than most of my entrees, it may be difficult to fit this in to your menu during Atkins Induction.  However all foods in it are suitable for Induction.  It would perhaps be better to wait and have this when you get to Phase 2 OWL. This dish meets Paleo & Primal guidelines.

More delicious low-carb lunch ideas can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually also) from Amazon or here:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

Click to enlarge

Chipotle mayonnaise


4 slices bacon, chopped coarsely

12 oz. jicama, peeled and diced small

4 oz. purple onion, chopped

1 oz. green bell pepper (or poblano), seeded & chopped

4 T. my Chipotle Mayonnaise

DIRECTIONS:  Brown the bacon in a non-stick skillet over high heat.  Remove solids to paper toweling to drain.  In the remaining bacon grease, saute the chopped onion and jicama until the onion is tender, caramelizing and the jicama is browning (the jicama will remain somewhat crunchy).  Add the bell pepper toward the end of cooking and cook the hash just until the bell pepper is tender.  Plate the hash onto 2 plates and serve each dabbed with with 2 T. chipotle mayo.  If you prefer more mayo on your portion, you will need to recalculate the stats below to include any additional mayo used.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 2 servings of hash, each contains:

547 calories

48 g  fat

21.15 g  carbs, 9.4 g  fiber, 11.75 g  NET CARBS

482 mg sodium

465 mg potassium

20% RDA Vitamin B6, 17% B12, 65% C, 18% copper, 18% iron, 10% magnesium, 10% manganese, 20% niacin, 22% phosphorous, 12% riboflavin, 24% selenium, 20% thiamin, 13% zinc

11 comments on “Chipotle Jicama Hash

    • Well, Sandy……fat has calories and lots of them. Low-carb diets are high-fat diets. There’s bacon in this; there’s mayonnaise in this. So it necessarily will have a lot of calories. I suppose you could eat it without any sauce if calories are so important to your particular eating plan. Low-carb plans, however, do not count calories…..only carbs, and amazingly people still lose weight. But to imply the recipe is “unhealthy” is personal opinion, not fact.


  1. I make a cold jicama “potato” salad like this. Everything just like poatato salad only very little olive oil mayo and jicama in place of potatoes. Yummy.


  2. Peggy and Charlotte, reference daikon radish. I’d never heard of it, bought one, thin sliced 1/2 of it with a mandolin for ‘chips’, the other 1/2 I sliced long and slender for ‘french fries.’ I heated grape seed oil (higher temp) and fried the chips first 3 or 4 at a time because they brown very quickly, pulled them out onto paper towels and salted them. Then came the ‘fries.’ They did not get golden in color, but they did ‘tan/brownish toasted’, onto paper towels, and salted. I could NOT tell I was NOT EATING potatoes! The ‘fries’ took longer because they were thicker, but OMG. French Fries. Potato Chips! Back on the menu.

    Oh I also froze about a 3″ piece, and it indeed was squishy/soft upon thawing, and I threw it out! Well, I’m going to experiment and see if it’ll work for home fries🙂


    • Maria, I have indeed cooked daikon once and only once. Maybe I got an old one; maybe i got a particularly bitter one; maybe I got a bad one, although it sure didn’t look bad. I cooked it in a liquid, simmered skillet dish as I recall. It was the strongest, most bitter, unpleasant-tasting and smelling radish-y vegetable I have ever put in my mouth. And I’ll eat just about any vegetable. Love ’em all. This thing was so awful and had so effectively ruined our meal, we couldn’t eat the dinner. We got up and went out to dinner that night, and that has only happened twice in my 50 years of cooking. Now I know a lot of people say they like daikon, because they mimic potatoes so well. Obviously I got one that was not peak in flavor. But I have been reluctant to explore them again, it was such an unpleasant experience. Maybe I’ll summon up the nerve to try them again one of these days. For now, I stick with rutabaga and jicama or sauteed red radishes.


  3. I make hash out of daikon radish! Which I believe is lower in carbs than jicama. Cheaper than jicama and easier to find in my area. It’s good, and I never would of guessed.


    • I must be the only person in the world whose first experience cooking daikon was an absolutely awful experience. It was strong, “hot”, somewhat bitter vegetable, moreso than a very old turnip. Maybe it was just an “old” one? Dunno, because everyone says they like daikon cooked as a potato sub, but like I said, my first experience with it hasn’t sent me rushing to the store to ever buy another one. 😦


      • I also had a bad experience with daikon radish, way bitter, I was so excited to try too, bcuz of others saying it was like a potato, haven’t bought another either, took me months to find in my area also. Have you ever gotten the jicama to get tender? I use them, but have never gotten them to get tender, wondering if a pressure cooker would do it.


        • No, jicama only slightly softens frying it in a skillet like this dish. Boiling for hours doesn’t soften it enough either. Some say freezing it first softens it, but I haven’t tried that. Seems like it would just be mushy when thawed. Guess I should try it. But when I want soft, I usually just use turnips (or even better, rutabaga, if I can afford the higher carbs). I just don’t mind the crunchy quality of jicama that much. Your idea of using a pressure cooker is intriguing. I do own one and use it often. I may try that one day and see what it does to jicama. Worth a try, anyway. Thanks for that idea.


Leave a Comment

