Gluten-Free Grain-Free Slider Buns

Click to enlarge

Gluten-Free Slider Buns

I made my popular Gluten-Free Grain-Free Focaccia Bread recipe again tonight as slider buns.  I used my whoopie pie pan to make them.  The batter made exactly 16 little pieces, so you will get eight 2-pc buns out of this batter.  These are not suitable until Atkins Phase 2 OWL.  They are not suitable for Primal-Paleo.  Paired with  leftover meatloaf or small meat patties , these make a delightful lunch.  In addition, they are good eaten at room temperature, so they make a marvelous picnic option, school lunch option or tail-gate treats for football season.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

Click to enlarge

Meatloaf Sliders


2 T. lukewarm water

1 tsp. dry yeast (only for flavor)

3 T. cream cheese, softened

2 eggs beaten

1 tsp. cider vinegar

1 T. cream

½ c. almond flour

¼ c. flax meal

¼ c. plain whey protein powder

1 tsp. baking powder

1½ c. Monterey Jack Cheese (or mozarella, or a mixture of the two)

Note:  If you’re NOT gluten-free, I highly recommend adding 1 T. oat fiber for a more “flour-y” flavor

DIRECTIONS:   Lightly oil a whoopie pie pan (or muffin top pan) and set aside.  You can use muffin pans, but you’ll need to evenly place the batter into 16 slots.   Preheat oven to 350º.  Soften cream cheese in a medium glass bowl in the microwave on defrost.  In a little dish, dissolve the yeast in the warm water.  When the cream cheese is soft, add the beaten eggs and almond flour.  Beat with a spoon until smooth.  Add dissolved yeast, cream and cider vinegar.  Stir to blend.  Fold in the cheese.

Measure all dry ingredients on top of the wet ingredients.  Stir and fold the batter with a rubber spatula until it is smooth and well-blended. Using a 2-Tbsp. measuring cup, Scoop a scant (not quite 2 T. batter) into each slot of the pan.  Slots will be nearly filled up.  I had exactly enough batter to make sixteen 2½” wide pieces.  With only 1 pan that has 12 slots, I had to bake these in two batches.  Pop the pan into preheated 350º oven for about 15-16 minutes or until dry to the touch in the center.  Do not over brown these or they get really dry.  Place 2 oz. leftover meatloaf or a small 2 oz. grilled burger patty between 2 buns for a slider that will really please.  The buns are so filling probably 1 of these sliders will satisfy most adults.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 16 pieces or eight 2-pc. slider buns.  Each 2-pc bun contains, (not including any fillings):

194 calories

15.6 g  fat

6.65 g  carbs, 5.07 g  fiber, 1.58 g  NET CARBS

11.7 g  protein

291 mg sodium

33 comments on “Gluten-Free Grain-Free Slider Buns

  1. I had not made these buns in quite a while and was really craving some bread so I made them . I forgot to add the mozzarella!! Would you believe they came out wonderful even with that drastic mistake??? They are really good. What a great recipe!!


    • You know, I confess I did that one time with a different bread recipe and it cooked up OK for me, too. Flatter than usual, less of it, but it cooked and tasted just fine. It happens to all of us. Glad it worked out! And glad you like this one.


  2. HI Peggy,
    I’d like to know if I use the oat fiber… do I need to increase the liquid any ?? and if so how much ?
    If you have already addressed this, I must have missed it …sorry


        • Abby, I buy NOW brand, unsweetened, unflavored whey protein isolate in what they call a bulk MEGA PACK (10# bag), wherever I can get the best deal on it. I store it in my freezer and take out a pound or so to keep in the pantry as needed. 🙂 It’s a chunk of change to lay out up front, but it saves so much on the per pound price over the 1# and 2# canisters. A cyber friend tells me the concentrate tastes awful, but I’ve been baking with this brand for 6 years now and it never lets me down. I use it in shakes/smoothies occasionally, too. 🙂 Just won’t pay Jay Robb prices for what they say is the best out there. Many like the Isopure brand for flavor and lowest carbs, but it’s pretty pricey, too.


        • Thanks so much for the info. I want to make these buns soon, so need to get my supplies tomorrow. I love these buns, over the last few years I’ve used them for just about everything you can imagine.


        • Me, too, Abby. I next plan to sweeten this batter up a bit and try some sweet bread/roll applications. It seems to be a very forgiving and versatile batter. 🙂


  3. I am curious why so many people say oats have gluten? They only have gluten if they are contaminated with gluten grains and the contamination has been shown to be very low. Thanks for the great recipe -.


    • Nobody thinks they do, Tamara, at least those who have read anything on the subject, or spoken to their celiac attending doctors. Most plants processing oats aren’t willing to lay out the cash to invest in TWO sets of grinding equipment or two separate buildings/plants to process solely oats. So the cross-contamination occurs at most mills. If you are “allergic” or celiac, even the smallest trace amount of gluten from wheat means a violent physiological reaction. When a mill “certifies” oats to be gluten free, it is stating that they HAVE got a dedicated equipment and a dedicated building/location for just processing oats, to avoid even the “lowest level” of cross-contamination.

      Totally not an issue for me, as I’m not GF or Celiac……….but it is an issue for many folks.


    • Oh for sure. Others have used them successfully already on this recipe for buns. They will be bigger around though, just so you realize that, more like hamburger buns. Hope that you like them!


      • I made these this morning. OH MY!!! These are soooo good! I only made 12 in the muffin top pans so I will change the nutrition, but I sliced one in half and ate it with butter. It is almost like the wheat bread I used to make before. Adding the yeast sure makes a difference. Thank you so much. So easy, too. I don’t like them…. I LOVE them.


        • Oh, I’m so glad and thank you for taking the time to come back and tel me, Donna. That’s frequently the reaction to this recipe. it’s certainly mine. Almost just like real white bread. Only difference IMO is it isn’t pure white. But that doesn’t slow me down eating them. This freezes nicely for up to 1 month, too. The recipe makes GREAT pizza crust and loaves as well. Happy bread making to you, Donna!


        • I haven’t had pizza in so long. That may be my next project. Thanks for the ideas. Cauliflower pizza crust just doesn’t sound good. I haven’t tried the zucchini crust, but this is certainly doable. You’re the best!! Thanks


    • Glad you’re enjoying my recipes Donna! No, oat fiber is not the same thing. The oat bran that is readily available in the grocery stores’ cereal aisle is quite high in carbs. Oat fiber is just that, 96% fiber, so the carbs with it get to be deducted, making it extremely low carb. I know of no stores that carry oat fiber. you can order small 1# from; I order larger 4# bags from and store the overage in my chest freezer. It’s cheaper in the larger bag, but not always. I check both places each time to be sure to get the best deal on it.😉


        • Never mind.. I’ll leave it out this time. Thanks again for your quick response. You must sit at the computer waiting for us..


        • I’m just not familiar enough with psyllium fiber baking to answer that question Donna. I’ve only put a bit into one cake recipe. It’s Maria Emmarich that does all the psyllium baking. I wouldn’t begin to know how much or if it would work. Sorry about that.


        • No problem. I appreciate all you do. It sure makes a difference in the quality of the foods we with diabetes can eat and really enjoy. I’ll be making these in the morning. Thanks again.


    • I personally don’t like to freeze baked bread products (these keep just in the fridge for 3 weeks), but others have told me they have frozen this bread recipe successfully. I wouldn’t keep ANY baked breads frozen for more than a month. They dry out pretty badly int he freezer.


    • I wouldn’t use all coconut flour, Melisa, at least not more than 1 T., or they will be much drier. I am getting to where I don’t much care for CF in my breads (unless the tiniest quantity) for this reason and the tell-tale coconut taste it invariable leaves behind. Instead, I’d up the almond flour 2 T. and the flax meal 2 T. for the 1/4 c. bulk. But it’s your call. The buns will probably have a considerably drier texture, using ALL coconut flour to sub, ant the flavor/appearance will be different I suspect. You may even have to add an egg if you use coconut flour as it is a moisture “sponge” and may make your batter too stiff.


    • Welcome, Lee! Whoopie pies are a name that has evolved over time, for what I, in my childhood, called a moon pie. It’s two large cake-like cookies with a cream or marshmallow filling in between, just like my picture shows. Whoopie pies are just a bit smaller than the moon pies of old. I sup[pose you can use a cupcake pan, but they may be a bit trickier to get out of the pan if it isn’t made of flexible silicone. Oil it well.🙂


    • Janis, I had to remove it so the title would be accurate. I’ve removed the reference to oat fiber in the recipe introduction now. Thanks. I add 1 T. oat fiber to most of my bread recipes now. It brings a real flour taste to them I think. Neither of us are actually gluten-free so I can afford that luxury. It really does improve low-carb baked goods both in flavor and texture.


  4. NOTE TO SUBSCRIBERS: I was too fast hitting the PUBLISH key and needed to delete the oat fiber for these to live up to their name. Please omit the oat fiber if you need to be 100% gluten free. I’m not GF, so I use the oat fiber in mine and simply forgot to omit it in my typing of this recipe. Sorry about that folks. Please line through the oat fiber from your printed copies.


Leave a Comment

