Porc à la Mayonnaise

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I made some fresh homemade mayonnaise today not only because my jar in the refrigerator was nearly empty, but I also needed some to use on some pork loin I was planning to bake tonight.  This simple, very nutritious dish was VERY good and my husband REALLY liked it, but then he really likes any creamy pork dish.  🙂   Me, I love rosemary and onion in just about anything:  bread, crackers, pork, beef, lamb, chicken.  That is indeed a flavor match make in heaven.  This dish is easy yet really delivers on flavor.  The meat comes out tender and not the slightest dry, as pork loin can be sometimes since it is so lean.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets, and Primal or Paleo regimens as well.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


16 oz. boneless pork loin or pork steaks, cut ½”  thick

2 T. fresh rosemary (or 1 T. dried)

½ tsp. onion powder

Dash each coarse black pepper and cayenne pepper

6 T. my Homemade Mayonnaise

2 oz. onion, sliced crosswise into very thin ringlets

1 sprig fresh rosemary for garnish (optional)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Pound the meat on a wooden board with a meat tenderizer or mallet on both sides.  Sprinkle all meat surfaces with the onion powder and a light dusting of black pepper and ever so little cayenne pepper.  Lay the meat slices on a non-stick or oiled baking pan.   Spread the homemade mayonnaise evenly over the tops of the slices of meat.    Chop and sprinkle half the rosemary over the meat.  Slice the onion as thin as you can and separate into ringlets.  Place them evenly over the meat, overlapping as needed.  Sprinkle the remaining rosemary on top. Pop the pan into 350º oven for about 35-45 minutes or until done.  Serve with your favorite vegetable sides.  I served it with mashed cauliflower and fresh green beans.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes four 4-oz servings, each contains:

386.5 calories

27 g  fat

1.52 g  carbs, .27 g  fiber, 1.25 g  NET CARBS

33 g  protein

65 mg sodium

463 mg potassium

5% RDA Vitamin A, 39% B6, 67% B12, 8% D, 21% E, 21% copper, 34% iron, 11% magnesium, 37% niacin, 51% phosphorous, 60% riboflavin, 143% selenium, 73% thiamin, 47% zinc

10 comments on “Porc à la Mayonnaise

  1. What would be a good substitute for Rosemary? There aren’t many things I don’t like, but I just can’t tolerate the flavor of rosemary.


  2. I have tried the pizza and it’s divine!! But not as good as a “creamy pork dish”, no way!! I can’t wait to try this one.
    How is your husband doing? Was so sorry to hear about his trip to the hospital. It seems more and more people are on coumidin (my husband’s blood won’t react to it so he does lovenox shots twice a day) for clotting problems. Maybe more doctors should get a clue that fat is good, sugar and wheat are bad and THAT is what is causing the clots.


    • Thanks for asking about my DH, KathyJo. He’s much better and only had to do the Lovenox 2xdaily shots for 8 days. He responded well to Coumadin the one time he used it before years ago, so I expect it will work for him.

      I’m glad you liked that pizza crust. I knew you would. I hope you like the pork dish, too.


    • I did leave that comment out, didn’t I? Sorry about that. It doesn’t really matter. I put half on before the onion slices, and half sprinkled on after the onion went on. But really any way you want to do it would be just fine. I’ve noted the recipe how I did it. Thanks for bringing that to my attention, Andi.


Leave a Comment

