Pork Patties with Dipping Sauce (dumplings optional)

Click to enlarge

Pork Patties with Dipping Sauce

Finally, a way I can have Pot Stickers on the table and EAT them, too!  But since low carbers like me can’t have the dumplings they are traditionally wrapped in,  I’ve found a way to have this tasty dish without the wrappers!   Instead, I make a batch of very small simmered dumplings that I make with glucomannan powder and eat them “along with” the meat and dipping sauce.  It’s almost like eating real steamed Chinese dumplings!!  So good!!

I’ll be trying to sear the little dumplings in a hot skillet next time, so they’ll be even closer to the “fried” Pot Stickers.  I tried a bit of red bell pepper in my meat tonight, which you can see in the pic. But that flavor definitely conflicted with the other flavors and I will not be including it again.  I therefore am not including the red bell pepper in the recipe ingredients or nutritional info below.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets.  To make these suitable for Primal-Paleo, omit the peanut butter in the sauce, use a plan suitable vinegar and coconut aminos for the low-sodium soy sauce.  Apologies to my readers, but I failed to get a picture of the dumplings before the meal was consumed.  I will definitely do so next time I cook them, will sear them and let you see what they look like done that way.

As promised, here’s a pic of my “fried dumplings” that mimic Asian Fried Pot Stickers when eaten with these meat patties and sauce.

Click to enlarge

Shown with seared “Dumplings”

I formed the meat this time into 18 smaller patties.  Then I made a recipe and a half of my dumpling batter and formed that into 18 balls I then slightly flattened into little “pillows” of dough.  I simmered them for 10 minutes in SLOWLY SIMMERING chicken broth and then seared them off in a large skillet in 2 T. olive oil.  They were simply DELICIOUS and very psychologically satisfying!  Almost like eating real Pot Stickers!!

This dish is suitable for Atkins Induction if you do NOT have the “dumplings” as they have oat fiber in them (although not much).

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb. lean ground pork

1 beaten egg

2 jalapenos, seeded, ribs removed and minced fine

2 tsp. coconut aminos (or low-sodium soy sauce)

2 cloves, garlic, minced

2 T. olive oil (for frying)

OPTIONAL:  1 recipe and a half for 3 people eating 6 small “pot stickers” per serving of my Dumplings

DIPPING SAUCE:

2 tsp. sesame oil

1 tsp. creamy natural peanut butter (I use Laura Scudder Natural, but omit if on Induction)

2 T.  rice wine vinegar

1 tsp. ginger root, minced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp. Sambal Oelek chili sauce (or Sriracha sauce)

2-3 drops liquid stevia or sucralose

1 T. low sodium soy sauce (or coconut aminos)

1 T. finely minced green onion

2 T. water

DIRECTIONS:   If you wish to serve this dish with the dumplings on the side, prepare a recipe and a half of my glucomannan dumplings at the link above according to that recipe’s instructions, simmering them in plain water that is barely at a simmer.  Be sure to make them real tiny, about ½” is what I did, as they swell to about 3/4″ during simmering.  When they are done, using a slotted spoon, dip them gently onto a plate.  With paper towels, blot away as much water from around them as you can.  Set the plate of dumplings aside for now.

Mix the dipping sauce ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.

Mix up the meat ingredients in a medium bowl with either a fork or your hands.  Heat the 2 T. olive oil in a non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.  Form into 10 patties (mine were about 1½ oz. each and about 2″ long).  Place the meat patties in the skillet and brown on both sides until golden brown, making sure pink juices are no longer coming out of the meat when slightly pressed with the edge of your spatula.  Turn off heat and dip them onto a serving platter in a circle.  If serving with dumplings, serve those in the middle of the platter.  You can rewarm the dumplings on defrost in your microwave if you feel so compelled, but I find room temperature is just fine since the meat is piping hot.  Pour the dipping sauce into 3 tiny bowls and place one at each person’s place at table.   I forked 1 dumpling with a bite of meat, dipped into the sauce and shoved the two right into my mouth!  Pure heaven it was. I swear it tasted just like steamed dumplings!  Must try to brown my little dumplings in a skillet next time!   Pic of the fried version shown above. 🙂

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes ten 1½-oz. meat patties.  Each meat patty & sauce contains:  (includes 1/10th of the sauce).

NOTE:  The info below does NOT include the optional dumplings, but since they have negligible food value, I wouldn’t worry about them too much.  They are virtually pure fiber.  I get around 36-40 mini-dumplings or gnocchi out of the dumpling recipe so 3 dumplings only have around .1 net carb (or less)!  Like I said, virtually negligible. 

167 calories

14 g  fat

1.11 g  carbs, .16 g  fiber, .95 g  NET CARBS

8.7 g protein

142 mg sodium

26 comments on “Pork Patties with Dipping Sauce (dumplings optional)

  1. I am on a meatball making kick. Easy to heat, easy to eat. Great for work lunches. Do you think these meatballs would be tasty enough without the sauce, or should I try to incorporate some of the sauce ingredients into the meatballs? Any ideas?

    Like

    • I actually HAVE incorporated some of the sauce ingredients into these (and also Indian meat patties) before. They’re pretty good done that way. But I do like the sauce on the side a little better. Seems to “moisten” them up as you eat them.🙂

      Like

  2. I sauteed the cabbage,onions,garlic,and ginger. Added it to the sausage and browned the patties. Used the dip… fabulous !

    Like

Leave a Comment

