Beer-Braised Beef Shanks with Leeks

Beer-Braised Beef Shanks with Leeks

Beer-Braised Beef Shanks with Leeks

Bought some beef shanks recently that were too pretty and lean to pass up!  I like to braise them in beer or wine as a rule.  This is one of my all-time favorite braised beef recipes and ever so simple.  Cooks itself really, after searing the meat.   This dish is equally good made with large pieces of chuck roast or with beef short ribs, if you can’t get shanks.  The carbs are coming from the leeks but they are really good with this meat.  This dish is only Induction friendly if you omit the beer. It sports an incredible nutrient analysis.  I served mine with buttered, steamed carrots and my Seeded Dinner Rolls   . My husband likes his leeks stewed to “death”, as they appear in the photo.  But I would recommend if you like yours less “dead” (as do I), wait to add them to the pot after the meat has simmered for the first hour hour.   I thicken my broth with xanthan gum, but you can use whatever thickener is acceptable for your eating plan.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


2½ lbs. lean, cross-cut beef shanks, I used grass-fed

1 T. coconut oil

2 oz. yellow onion, sliced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 leek, cleaned and chopped into 2″ pieces

7 oz. large mushrooms, wiped clean

12 oz. low-carb beer (I used Michelob Ultra)

1/4 tsp. ground thyme

1½ c. rich beef broth

about 1 c. water (enough to cover meat)

thickener of your choice

VARIATION:  Use 1 c. white or rose wine instead of the beer

DIRECTIONS:   Cut root tip and top 1″of green part off the leek.  Slice it lengthwise and wash carefully with water between layers to get all “hiding” dirt out.  Cut into 2″ pieces and set aside.  Wipe mushrooms clean with a dry cloth, cut huge ones in half, leave others whole.  Set aside.    Heat a large dutch oven or stew pot until nearly smoking and add coconut oil.  Sear the pieces of meat on high flame until they are well browned on each side.  Add yellow onion, garlic, broth, beer, water thyme, salt and pepper.  Cover and lower heat to  slow simmer.  Simmer 1 hour.   Add mushrooms and leeks, lightly stirring them into the broth.  Cover again and simmer for about 30 more minutes or until meat is very tender.  Serve with your favorite low-carb bread or dinner rolls and a salad or another vegetable if you prefer.  ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 4 servings, each contains: (I have calculated the stats below assuming you consume an entire 1/4 of  the thickened broth, which is probably unlikely.  Actual consumed net carbs on the broth might be less than the 6.22 g. shown below.  But the actual consumed would be difficult to calculate any other way than I have shown at 1/4 the broth, 1/4 of the meat and 1/4 of the veggies.)

310 calories

10.4 g  fat

7.55 g  carbs, 1.33 g  fiber, 6.22 g  NET CARBS

40.2 g  protein

450 mg sodium

8 comments on “Beer-Braised Beef Shanks with Leeks

    • No, as I can’t eat lamb anymore. Ate it when my family lived in Iran age 10-12. There they butchered at <1 year of age so it was very mild. Haven't been able to eat it the gamey lamb marketed in the States BEFORE we lived in Iran or AFTER we returned. Cannot handle what is imported from New Zealand either. Cannot even be around the smell of it cooking, as it evokes some very unpleasant olfactory memories of the unrefrigerated meat markets over there, and carcasses hanging on the hook. But I’m sure lamb would cook up just fine in this recipe if you're a fan.


  1. Peggy – just wanted you to know I made this recipe and loved it – I didn’t have a leek so put in 3 medium turnips, a can of condensed French onion soup instead of the onion and used some red wine instead of the beer and put in the crockpot. Very delicious!
    Thanks for all your recipes, hope you and your husband are doing well and happy holidays from another Texan!

    Barbara McNamee


    • I’m delighted you liked this braised dish, Barbara. My Mother was fond of braising and executed it well, so it’s kinda like comfort food for me.🙂 I’m down in San Antonio getting my mother settled into a nursing home this week and hope to get back home in the next 2 days or so so I can enjoy the holidays with hubby. Mom has dementia and took a pretty hard fall last week. Nothing broken the ER confirmed, but in much pain and not able to transfer from bed to walker or do much of anything for herself without skilled nursing. We hope physical therapy will turn her around so she can go back home, but are not optimistic that is going to happen. Will have to wait and see.

      I edited your comment to delete your phone# and email address for privacy/security protection reasons.


      • Miss Peggy
        can you tell me why…. only on your site… when I copy to send to myself.. several of the fractions do not copy???………it is a total pain to have to go back and redo them.. and I LOVE YOUR RECIPES.. you are right in line with me ………you are great…………i just love to follow
        merry christmas and happy new year.
        sheila in ga


        • It probably has to do with the special character ALT+Numeric Key fractions I create. Some printers don’t recognize ALT special characters. But Sheila, if you’ll use the PRINT AND PDF print button below the recipes (rather than a copy/paste), I think that issue will go away for you.


          i hope you had a great day… i am give out and all i did was
          cook or warm up a ham.. make a few deviled eggs… and some
          sauteed kale………… but give out anyway..
          happy new year my dear friend…. how i wish i could be in the
          kitchen with you once in a while… we would have a blast…
          sending hugs


Leave a Comment

