Indonesian Pork Bites

Click to enlarge

Indonesian Pork Bites

I wanted meatballs for dinner tonight but not “the usual”.  So I opened up my spice cabinet by the stove and just started throwing Asian/Indonesian ingredients into the bowl.  It never ceases to amaze me that sometimes those “no-recipe” creations end up coming out soooooo tasty!   These had a very delicate flavor, despite the fact that the ingredients have pretty strong flavors.  I guess my ingredient amounts were spot on for our taste buds as we both just LOVED these little pork bites!  I served them with steamed cauliflower and green beans.  As the raw meat mixture was quite “sticky” (not sure why) they were difficult to roll into smooth, round meatballs.  So I improvised and ended up dropping little “roundish” blobs of meat onto my hot, greased skillet and then flattened them with the back of my spatula a bit.

Made even smaller and served with toothpicks, these would be great party food or a first course when entertaining.  As I used nut-based crackers, as written, this recipe would not be suitable until you reach the nuts and seeds level of the Atkins carb ladder in Phase 2 OWL.  Substituting an Induction suitable cracker, those on Induction could also enjoy these little pork delights.  These fit a Keto lifestyle nicely, too.  Paleo-Primal followers will want to use a nut butter in lieu of the peanut butter. 🙂

DIPPING SAUCE:  If you want one to go with these morsels, the one in this recipe is very nice.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb. lean ground pork

1 beaten egg

1 oz. onion, finely minced

2-3 T. chopped cilantro

¼ tsp. Thai green curry powder

1/16 tsp. cayenne pepper (optional)

4 low-carb crackers of your choice (I used Almond-Arrowroot Crackers ), crushed

1 tsp. coconut aminos (or low-sodium soy sauce or tamari)

1 small clove garlic, minced

2 tsp. fish sauce (I use Thai Kitchen brand)

2 T. all natural peanut butter or other nut butter of your choice

1 T. olive oil (for frying)

DIRECTIONS:   Mix all ingredients together using a fork or your hands in a medium mixing bowl.  Heat the oil in a  non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.  Form into 13 “rough” meatball shapes, drop onto hot greased skillet, and with the back of a spatula, press them slightly to  flatten to about ½” thick.  Fry until golden brown on both sides.   This will take about 5 minutes per side.  Serve at once with your favorite Asian stir-fried vegetable dish.  ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 13 pork bites, each contains:

133 calories

11 g  fat

1.2 g  carbs, .4 g  fiber, .8 g  NET CARBS

7.45 g  protein

133 mg sodium

 

7 comments on “Indonesian Pork Bites

  1. I also wanted to tell you that after making your chicken liver recipe, I decided to try and make chicken tenders the same way, and they are good.

    Like

    • I use that coating approach for fish, chicken fried steak and even oven-fried veggies like okra, onion rings, eggplant, squash and so much more. Alison, there just isn’t anything I haven’t been able to use it on for oven-frying that hasn’t come out better than the skillet fried versions. Glad you liked it and thanks so much for taking the time to give me the positive feedback!

      Like

  2. I never have crackers, do you think I could put some ground pork rinds in this instead? If so how much do you think? Thanks in advance.

    Like

    • Hmmm. I think they would work. Gosh, when I crushed my crackers they just filled one tightly closed fist, so maybe 1/4 cup? It’s just to loosen up the meat and prevent them from being so hard when cooked. You could accomplish the same thing with a bit of chia seed gel or another small egg added to the meat mixture. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Comment

