Individual “Irish” Chocolate Cake

Individual "Irish" Chocolate Cake

Individual “Irish” Chocolate Cake

Today I offer my readers a delicious, quick dessert to top off that corned beef and cabbage on St. Patrick’s Day.  Tasty and quite easy, too!  The cake goes together in minutes, microwaves in 1 minute and the icing is just as easy.  And boy, oh, boy, is this icing ever tasty!  This is the very same batter I used in my recently posted Chocolate Tea Cakes batter as my base (a variation on the famed 3-Minute Chocolate Flourless Cake).  This cake is moist and has just the right amount of whiskey flavor.

I normally bake this cake for 1 minute in a glass dish in the microwave.  But since I wanted to use a very large, metal shamrock cookie cutter, I baked it this time in my regular oven (15 min 350º), using foil to form a “bottom” for the cookie cutter.  But when the cake was done baking and completely cooled, I still had trouble getting “the stem” out of the pan as the stem portion of the cookie cutter had for some reason, contracted inward.  Thus it formed a stem too narrow to remove and it broke off.  BOO HOO!  :(  So I had to piece a stem out of the 1 extra cupcake I made from the bit of batter leftover that wouldn’t quite fit into my shamrock “mold”.   Lucky I had that, actually.  Every cook has the occasional accident. 🙂

I would recommend baking this either as 4 cupcakes or as I usually do, in a 5″ square or round glass or ceramic dish.  you could also use two small “mini-cake pans if cooking in the conventional oven.  If doing cupcakes, fill them evenly, which will be about 3/4 full.  Don’t worry, this batter doesn’t rise too much during baking.

This recipe is not suitable until phase 2 OWL of Atkins and those on Ketogenic diets may get bumped out of ketosis consuming alcohol.  But luckily there is very little whiskey in this, so that might not happen.   Of course, you can always leave the booze out entirely.🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try. Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not receive money for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 T. butter, melted

4 pkts. stevia (I use Sweet Leaf)

¼ c. erythritol

2 large eggs, beaten

1 T. Irish Whiskey (I used Powers)

¼ c. cocoa powder, sifted

1½ tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. glucomannan (konjac) powder

1 tsp. oat fiber

CAKE DIRECTIONS:   Spray or grease your dish(s) or pan(s) with coconut oil or oil of your choosing.  Melt the butter and place in a medium glass bowl.   Add the stevia, erythritol and stir well.  Next beat in the two eggs.  Add the vanilla and Irish Whiskey and stir again.   Sift the cocoa on top and measure the remaining dry ingredients in next.  Stir gently to incorporate the dry into the wet ingredients.  Beat the batter with a spoon until it is smooth.    Pour into greased glass or ceramic pan(s) and bake for 1 minute on HI.   If using metal pans or conventional oven, bake at 350º about 13-15 minutes or until dry to the touch in the center.  Remove, cool completely and ice.


1 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 T. softened butter

2 tsp. Irish Whiskey (I used Powers)

¼ tsp. vanilla

2 T. plain whey protein powder (I use NOW brand)

2 pkts. stevia

3 T. powdered erythritol (I just powder it in my food processor)

FROSTING DIRECTIONS:  Soften the butter and cream cheese in a small bowl.  Add the protein, whiskey and vanilla.   Stir well until smooth.  Begin adding the sweeteners slowly, tasting as you go and STOP when it’s sweet enough for you, or add more if needed.  Everybody is different on sweetness preferences.    You can use food coloring to make your frosting green if you like (about 13-15 drops).  Frost the cooled cake(s) and serve at once or chill and then cover with plastic wrap if you must hold them over.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 2 large servings, each contains:

316 calories

23 g  fat

11.2 g  carbs, 5.1 g  fiber, 6.1 g NET CARBS

13.5 g  protein

434 mg sodium

121 mg potassium

31% RDA Vitamin A, 30% B12, 27% calcium, 36% irom, 66% phosphorous, 25% riboflavin, 29% selenium, 8% zinc

5 comments on “Individual “Irish” Chocolate Cake

    • Well some folks might call this single serving, but it’s too much for ME to eat by myself. Am rested up from moving Mom into the Alzheimer’s facility. Hopefully getting back into the swing of kitchen experimenting. thanks, Nancy.🙂


    • Ya know, I have to confess I really don’t know, as I’ve never seen one that originated from my site. Somehow I don’t think so, though. There is one on the recipes themselves, down at the bottom of the recipe.


Leave a Comment

