Einkorn Dumplings

Click to enlarge

Einkorn Dumplings

For those who are familiar with my incredible Dumplings made with glucomannan powder, they just got BETTER!  I added a mere 1 T. Einkorn flour (non-genetically modified wheat flour) and cannot believe the improvement!  If you Google Einkorn Flour, you’ll find a lot of information on this flour made from non-GMO wheat, often referred to as ancient wheat.  Even my husband, who isn’t very vocal about such things, said it was a great texture and flavor improvement over my straight glucomannan dumpling recipe.  Now granted, the carb count jumped from .1 g per dumpling to 1.65 g per dumpling with this modification. However the difference is worth the increase and these are still very low carb dumplings by anyone’s definition of “low-carb per serving”.  This new version has more “structure” and “body” and definitely has a bit of flour-y taste!  All goodness and desirable improvements in my opinion.🙂

Yes, I have read Wheat Belly and Grain Brain and am eliminating modern wheat products from my diet.  But I don’t think we have to live in an all or nothing world.   I sure don’t want to.  I espouse reasoned moderation over food fanaticism.  I’m still going to continue to experiment and consume the older form of wheat, Einkorn wheat, in very small amounts.  My old recipes I introduce Einkorn wheat in, will acquire the word Einkorn at the beginning of their name, for easy spotting by me in the archives, and to facilitate reader searches using the search box.  If you’re wanting to explore recipes with Einkorn flour, you will just need to type “einkorn” into the search box to pull up just those recipes to view. 🙂

I ate 4 of these dumplings (1/3 the batch) at dinner tonight in my chicken and dumplings and was quite satisfied.   So we could say this recipe should serve 3 adults.  But stats are provided below per dumpling to make it easier for you.  That means I got a mere 1 tsp. of Einkorn wheat flour in my digestive track.  Certainly not the 1/4 c. or so one would get in my Grandma’s dumplings, or in a whole slice of traditional flour-laden bakery bread, and most definitely also a lot less (and better flour,  I might add) than those low-carb tortillas low carbers are so quick to say proudly they eat regularly because they “only have 4 net carbs per tortilla”.

We all get to make our own food choices in life.  My choice is to experiment with Einkorn flour in tiny amounts < 1/4 c. total per entire recipe (usually much less).  I’m astounded at what a mere 1-2 T. brings to a recipe in both flavor and texture.  I don’t wish to justify that position on each and every recipe in which I use Einkorn flour and do not plan to do so.  If you’re not interested in those recipes, please just ignore the ones that begin with the word Einkorn and move on.  I’m not taking down any of the previous versions of those recipes, as I know many of my readers are gluten-free or choose not to eat even the tiniest amount of real wheat, even non-GMO wheat.  And that’s your choice.  It’s just not my choice.

It goes without saying this recipe is not suitable until the last and final grains rung of Phase 2 Atkins OWL.  These are suitable for Keto if you eat wheat and can fit the carbs into your daily limits, but clearly would not be acceptable for Primal-Paleo.  FYI I buy my Einkorn flour from Jovial Foods on-line.


3/4 ts. baking powder

1½ T. glucomannan powder

1½ T. oat fiber (do not use oat flour or oat bran)

1/8 tsp. salt

1 T. Einkorn Flour

¼ c. + 2 T. tap water

1 extra large egg, or 1 large egg, or 2 small-medium eggs, beaten

DIRECTIONS:   Beat the egg in a small bowl with a fork.  Add the water and beat until both are blended well together.  On a paper plate or in another bowl, measure out the dry ingredients.  Stir well.  Slowly sprinkle the dry ingredients into the wet, stirring with a fork or whisk.  Switching to a rubber spatula, stir and begin to fold the slowly thickening mixture over and over itself until it is a contiguous batter and eventually turns into a thick, almost dry dough.  I let mine sit by the stove 2-3 minutes.  Then, using a teaspoon, dip 3/4″-1″ dollops of the dough into your palm.  This step is important:  roll them slightly into a ball shape in your palms.  If you just drop them directly into the broth from the spoon without rolling, they tend to fall apart in the broth during cooking.  Or for gnocchi, using your hands, roll the dough into ropes on plastic wrap or parchment and cut into short lengths for gnocchi, if that’s how you want to use this dough.

Drop the dumplings/gnocchi into gently simmering broth or soup and cover.  Reduce heat to medium-low.  This is IMPORTANT, as you don’t want to “rough up” these delicate babies. From the time you cover the pot, set timer for exactly 10 minutes (only 8 minutes for small gnocchi).  I like to remove chicken, meat or large chunks of vegetables to a platter while the dumplings are simmering to allow ample room for the dumplings to rise and swell up. DO NOT LIFT THE LID or disturb the pot during this 10 minutes.  After 10 minutes, lift the lid and VOILA!!  They’re done!  They rise up incredibly during cooking but fall a bit after the lid is lifted.  You may want to thicken the stock depending on your personal preference.  I put 1-2 T. of water into the bowl I mixed them in and scraped the bits off the sides of the bowl with my rubber spatula for a bit of thickener and stirred it right into the broth.  Waste not want not. Worked just fine.🙂

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    UPDATED:  Math correction in the stats that actually lowers net carbs!  Yaaaaay!  This recipe makes twelve 1½-2 dumplings, each dumpling contains approximately ½ carb!

10.33 calories

.74 g  fat

1.62 g  carbs, 1.10 g  fiber, .52 g  NET CARBS

1.00 g. protein

66 mg sodium

9.9 mg potassium

21 comments on “Einkorn Dumplings

  1. Thank you so much for this recipe, I made gnocchi tonight and we ate them with boeuf stroganoff. After cooking them as directed I fried them up in some butter and to our surprise they almost tasted like our german Schupfnudeln. They are also a Kind of dumpling made of a potatoe dough that is formed into a half moon shaped thick “Nudel”. This dough is so great that I am thinking of making a meat filling for it and making a german dish called maultaschen, or italian style Ravioli …. Thanks again for all the Time and effort put in the dishes you let us partake in! Angela and Alex from Romrod, Germany


    • I’m so glad you liked your gnocchi made with this dumpling recipe! People seem to either love this recipe or just hate the texture. I find it is very good if the sauce or additives are stellar in flavor. Alone, this is pretty tasteless really. Your maultaschen sounds like an interesting application for this dough. I’ve also done an Italian dumpling version we really liked: https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2014/05/24/italian-dumplings/ . I’ve been wanting to try ravioli next and also Chinese dumplings with this dough. It will roll out between sheets of plastic wrap if done carefully, and not too thin. They tell me it can even be used in a pasta machine or noodle extruder if you have one of those. I haven’t tried either myself however. Only thing I’ve discovered this dough DOES NOT do well is pie crust that is cooked under dry oven heat. This dough absolutely REQUIRES moisture to swell and cook right. Still, so very many possibilities. Have fun experimenting with it Angela!


Leave a Comment

