Creamy Green Beans

Creamy Green Beans

Creamy Green Beans

This isn’t in any way intended to be like the classic green bean casserole we all know and love.  I wanted creamy, but also the tang of sour cream and a bit of cheese as well.  The final dish I created last night was DELICIOUS!  This one will definitely be in my veggie recipe rotations from now on.  I always have these ingredients on hand.  This dish is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.  My Primal-Paleo followers will have to pass on this one due to all the dairy.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


4 c. frozen green beans, French-Style, defrosted

1   4-oz can mushrooms, undrained

¼ c. sour cream

¼ c. chive and onion cream cheese, softened

1½ c. Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded

1 T. dehydrated or fresh sliced shallots (or minced dehydrated onion)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease an 8×11″ baking dish lightly.  Place green beans in a large bowl  Soften cream cheese in a medium glass bowl.  Add sour cream and stir to blend.  Add the mushrooms with juice and Jack cheese and stir again to blend.  Pour mixture into greased dish and sprinkle with dehydrated (or fresh sliced) shallots.  Bake at 350º for 30 minutes or until bubbly.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 6 servings, each contains:

188 calories

13.7 g  fat

8.61 g  carbs, 2.76 g  fiber, 5.85 g  NET CARBS

9.0 g  protein

365 mg sodium



14 comments on “Creamy Green Beans

  1. Thanks for this recipe. I will be trying it for the holidays. Do you have any idea how many cans of french style green beans I would need in place of the frozen?


    • Probably 3, well-drained. Got to be honest though, I don’t think this will come out as good with canned, as they are inclined to cook down so much. So don’t leave it in the oven too long if you use canned. 🙂


        • The ones I buy are at Walmart. Birdseye is the brand, I believe, and they come in a huge bag, like 3# maybe? I’ve gotten to where I really like them, as they cook so much faster to tender-crisp stage than the cut, whole beans. They’re particularly nice for stir-fry uses. 🙂


    • I don’t measure serving sizes of vegetable dishes like this, Dot. I just decide how many adults can eat that dish, what is an appropriate serving for an adult in my personal opinion (usually around 1/2-3/4 cup). I then mentally or visually mark the dish of food in half and dip up 1/3 of each half, making (in this case) 6 equal portions. I just don’t want to be bothered with weighing and measuring so much. Home economists have always said that standard servings for vegetables is 1/2 cup; for entree/meat casseroles it is 1 cup. My servings may deviate, probably a little larger I suspect, as I like veggies. 🙂


    • It’s the little printer icon down at the bottom of recipes to the left of the Pinterest icon. This wordpress theme has the mouseover text reading “Click to share” but it is the printer button.


    • Well, the original recipe used fried onion rings. I don’t think pork rinds will give you the onion flavor. But added to my shallot topping, they might give more crunch. You’d just have to try it and see if you liked it.🙂


Leave a Comment

