Dumpling Lasagna

Italian Dumplings

Dumpling Lasagna

I had exactly 1 cup of delicious spaghetti meat sauce in my freezer and decided to give it a whirl on my delicious dumplings for lunch today.  Man, was this ever delicious!!!  I felt like I was eating real gnocchi or noodles in this!!   This just made my regular recipe rotations and hopped right on up to the top of that list!  Although I made the dumpling dough in small round dumplings, it tasted like I was eating lasagna or ravioli.  The dumplings held up well in the sauce and through the baking process, too. Mmmm. This was sooooooo good!  This is suitable once you reach the Atkins Phase 2 OWL, and OK for Keto dieters.  It would not be appropriate for Primal or Paleo followers.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


(pot of simmering water to make dumplings)

1 recipe my Dumplings

1 c. my meaty Spaghetti Sauce (or low-carb Italian meat sauce of your choosing)

½ c. mozzarella cheese, shredded

¼ c. Parmesan cheese

¼ c. ricotta cheese

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Mix up the dumplings per that recipe’s instructions.  Form the dough into 24 small balls about 3/4″ in diameter.  Drop into boiling water and lower to a gentle simmer, cover and simmer for 8-9 minutes, DO NOT LIFT THE LID during cooking.   Drain off the water and pour the dumplings into a baking dish (no need to grease it).  Dot evenly with your spaghetti sauce.   Dot evenly with the ricotta.  Sprinkle the mozzarella over the top evenly and finally, top with the Parmesan cheese. Bake at 250º for about 15 minutes to heat all and melt the cheese.  ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 3 servings, each contains:

286 calories

18.7 g  fat

13.93 g  carbs, 6.76 g  fiber, 7.17 g  NET CARBS

21.03 g  protein

451 mg sodium





3 comments on “Dumpling Lasagna

  1. Hi Peggy. Can you clarify for me the temp to bake the gnocchi. It says to pre-heat to 350, but, it says to bake at 250. The oven temp needs to be reduced? Thanks. Your recipes are so good. I appreciate all the work that you put into this blog.


Leave a Comment

