Einkorn Sandwich Buns (or Hamburger Buns)

Einkorn Sandwich Buns

Einkorn Sandwich Buns

I can’t take full credit for this recipe.  My inspirational recipe was Maria Emmerich’s “Healthified Sub” recipe. I had tried to make that bread on a previous occasion with Konsyl psyllium.  Big mistake.  Had to toss the whole mess into the trash can, as the dough was a brick and impossible to work with.  Clearly Konsyl is a unique psyllium product, so do not use KONSYL brand of psyllium powder.

I finally ordered some NOW band Psyllium Husk Powder (I ordered from Netrition.com) to test the recipe again and did so today.  You all know I’m hopelessly addicted to tweaking recipes, so I made just a few changes.  I added a small amount of Einkorn flour.  I will probably reduce the amount next time to pull the carbs down a bit. I also added 1½ tsp. of dry yeast for flavor, reduced salt and increased the water to 1 cup.  These had way too much sodium for me as the recipe was originally written so I greatly reduced that.

Man, the house smelled like a bakery while these were baking…..you know that yeast-y smell?!  These rose nicely, have a chewy crust and have a very nice texture inside, as you can see in the photos above and below.  They have the mouth feel and taste of real yeast bread, perhaps a wee bit more “elastic”, but not unpleasantly so.  These were simply DELICIOUS!!  I got five 3″ small buns from this recipe.   Being made with psyllium, these are VERY filling. :)

I then turned around and made the recipe a second time, making just four larger 4″ hamburger buns.

It goes without saying this recipe is not suitable until you reach the grains rung of the Atkins carb reintroduction ladder in  Pre-Maintenance or Maintenance due to the Einkorn Flour.  I order my Einkorn Flour from JovialFoods.com.  I order my NOW psyllium husk powder from Netrition.com.

If you want a lower carb bun, either reduce the Einkorn flour, or I just make Maria’s bun as her recipe is written (no Einkirn flour at all), but I would still add the yeast and pinch of sugar, as that added a lovely yeast taste and aroma to these buns. :)

UPDATE:  These freeze beautifully for up to 1 month.  Reheat directly on the oven grate for about 10 minutes at 350 minutes or broil,  or toast in your toaster.  The crust will get semi-crusty and chewy again. Man, these are like eating REAL BREAD!  Not sure I need to do anymore bread experimenting.  And they make OUTSTANDING hamburger buns that hold up to hot meat patties.  They do NOT fall apart while you eat your burger!!  :)

Einkorn Hamburger Buns

Einkorn Hamburger Buns


1½ c. almond flour

5 T. psyllium husk powder (I used NOW brand; DO NOT USE  KONSYL BRAND!)

2 tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. sea salt (I used Himalayan Pink Salt)

1 tsp. dry yeast

¼ c. Einkorn Flour (I order from Jovialfoods.com)

Pinch sugar (consumed by yeast)

2½ T. apple cider vinegar

3 egg whites

1 c. boiling water

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Mix all the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.  Stir well to be sure it is uniformly mixed.  Mix the egg whites and vinegar in a small bowl with a fork and add all at once to the dry ingredients.  Stir quickly with the fork, to make a thick dough.  Pour the boiling water over the dough and using the fork, stir into a smooth liquid.  Transfer to using a rubber spatula and continue to stir and fold as it thickens up.   Portion off 5 equal portions (using your spatula) in the bowl (mark off only 4 portions if making the larger hamburger buns).  Roll each portion in your palms into a round ball.  Place on non-stick, silicone lined or oiled baking sheet.  Press them down to about 1″ thick.  They don’t spread much, so be sure you are shaping them the size you want right now.  Pop into preheated oven and bake for about 45 minutes.  Cool partially before attempting to slice or they will get pack-y inside just like regular flour bread when sliced too hot.


Makes five 3″ sandwich buns, each contains: 247 calories, 17 g fat, 20.16 g carbs, 11.18 g fiber, 8.98 g NET CARBS, 10.46 g  protein, 308 mg sodium

Makes four 4″ hamburger buns, each contains:  309 calories, 21.2 g fat, 25.2 g carbs, 13.97 g fiber, 11.23 g NET CARBS, 13.1 g  protein, 385 mg sodium




10 comments on “Einkorn Sandwich Buns (or Hamburger Buns)

  1. Hi there – I’ve been wanting to try this bun recipe for several months and finally did this morning since I want to use them to make turkey stuffing. These could not have been easier to make – and that’s saying a LOT because I am NOT a baker lol. I did weigh (vs. measuring) my almond flour and the psyllium as Maria suggested in the recipe you referenced. I measured the almond flour first and then weighed it – I was over 7 ounces and not at the 5 ounces that Maria recommended. That was shocking! So if anyone is having an issue with this recipe, I’d recommend weighing the flour instead of measuring it.

    The result was very beautiful. I made four ‘hamburger’ style buns. They were hard/crunchy on top straight out of the oven; felt a bit bottom-heavy and I thought, oh no, not going to be done inside. I was wrong! Done perfectly following the 45 minute bake time. (I made mine in a Breville countertop oven, used parchment paper that I greased with coconut oil in the black pan that comes with the oven.) I used Frontier brand powdered psyllium husk and it worked fine. For my tastes I may add a bit more salt and a pinch of sweetener next time.

    Peggy, do you have any thoughts on using this as a pizza crust? I’d definitely pre-bake it a bit. I can’t eat flax or I’d try your other crust. I’m just so impressed with this recipe that I want to use it as much as I can! Thanks again for this great recipe!!!

    • Glad this came out for you, Jackson. I just love these, too. They’re VERY filling though, with the psyllium in them. I’ve wondered about a pizza crust, but not sure it would work, as the ball of dough gets stiff really fast and you have to form your rolls really fast, or the dough becomes firm, drier and no longer one you can manipulate. I’m just not sure what attempting to “roll” it out would do to the dough, of even if you COULD roll it. But I’ll probably try it one day, and just manipulate it it flat with my fingers as fast as I can. If it doesn’t work, at worst, I’ll end up with a round loaf of bread that should be slicable. :)

  2. Hi, I was off the low carb wagon for a month and letting my food addiction get the best of me but back on for 6 days (and lost 6 pounds already) anyways, found some buns in the back of my freezer and wasn’t sure when they were from so popped one in the toaster, spread some braunschweiger and mayonnaise, tried it and immediately new this was your recipe. They tasted just as good as when I made them in September. I was just looking for some recipes to try today and am going to make your gluten free hamburger buns recipe today or tomorrow. I had initially lost over 60# but put some on over the last couple of years and have quite a bit more to lose, at least 50 so I’m thinking the other buns will be better for weight loss. Once I start eating sugar and bread, I just go crazy and eat way too much of it. The longer it goes on, the worse I feel, then I go back to low carbing. Wish I could break this vicious cycle. Oh well, sorry for TMI, but thank you so much for sharing all your wonderful recipes. They make it easier to stay on track!
    p.s. I’m trying to have something on hand for when I’m tempted to eat sweets cause everybody else is, but I’m not much in the cooking mood these days, not much time, needs to be simple,
    any suggestions?

    • When I’m wanting something sweet, and on the front end of a “new round” of serious low-carbing, I try to avoid cakes, cookies, and muffins. I only eat my flax-whey protein bread for awhile for sandwiches. Only way I can do it and stick with it. Bread and baked goods daily does me in. I keep a batch of fat bombs in the freezer which are like candy to me. Those take the sweet cravings away and don’t start that “vicious cycle” you mentioned. Type fat bombs in the search box and it will bring up the 2 recipes I have for them. Google on the net and you’ll find bunches more recipes for them.

  3. This is by far the best recipe I’ve tried for hamburger/sandwich buns (and I have tried SO many). And it’s easy – bonus! I can stop searching now. Thanks very much for your hard work.

    • No, don’t use regular flour. Einkorn is an ancient strain that has not been genetically modified and that is more digestible without the downstream metabolic syndrome issues regular flour has been shown to have. Some regular grocery stores carry it, but none where I live. You can order from Jovial Foods like I do. It’s only about $3.99 a bag. Pretty cheap, really.

Leave a Comment

