Egg White Protein Buns

Egg Protein & Rind Buns

Egg Protein & Rind Buns

I continue to try to improve the Oopsie-style sandwich buns.  My forays into using whey protein powder in the original Oopsie recipe dried them out a bit and made them crumbly.  This time I tried adding a bit of egg white protein and some crushed pork rind “flour”, a bit of glucomannan powder and eliminated the cream cheese totally.  The egg white protein idea I got from a bun recipe I saw over on Maria Emmerich’s blog, seen here:  Thank you for that idea, Maria.  I think I will use a little less egg white protein next batch in an attempt to make them a bit less chewy.  This adventure makes me want to try pea protein in these buns next time, which I have on hand.  :)  I know some folks having some amazing results baking with pea protein.  So many types of protein to try; so little time. :)  Lynne Daniel at the Duke University Low Carb Support Group put me on to the idea of pork rinds in them.  Thanks, Lynne.

Definitely this is an improvement.  They are sturdier, even chewy, without the slightest interior “egg-white wetness” the original recipe always had.  I could definitely eat a hamburger or cold cut sandwich on these.  I see some sweet applications for these in my future, too.  :)  The texture is somewhat like angel food cake to me, drier and somewhat chewier then the original Oopsie recipe, which I always found to be a little wet inside.  Best of all, these only have .51 net carbs, as the recipe makes nine 3-4″ buns!  Oh, and these toast pretty nicely for butter or your favorite jams, but be warned, set your toaster low, as they are inclined to burn around the edges.  Keep an eye on them as they toast.  :)  They tend to still get damp on the tops in the refrigerator, but I’m working on improving that issue next.  Perhaps a pinch of psyllium will stop that sticky top problem under fridge storage.

These are suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto, and Primal-Paleo as well.


5 eggs separated

½ tsp. cream of tartar

½ c. pure egg white protein (No substitutions. Some grocers carry in the baking aisle. I order on-line)

¼ tsp. glucomannan powder (pure fiber from the konjac tuber)

2 T. melted butter

3 T. (½ oz.) finely crushed pork rinds

DIRECTIONS:  Grease, line with parchment or cover 2 cookie sheets with silicone sheets.  Preheat oven to 350º.

Melt the butter.  Separate the eggs into two immaculately clean medium mixing bowls.  Add the crushed pork rind flour to the yolks.  Add the melted butter and glucomannan.  Whisk together and let sit to swell/soak up moisture.  Sprinkle the cream of tartar over the egg whites and with an electric mixer, beat them to the stiff peak stage.  Slowly sprinkle the egg white protein over the egg whites once they are stiff, continuing to run the mixer while you add them.  When all the egg white protein is incorporated, stop the mixer.

Using a rubber spatula, scrape the yolk mixture over the egg white mixture evenly and slowly, very gently fold the two mixtures together until they are well blended.  Do not stir roughly like cake batter or you will deflate the egg whites.  Using a ½ cup measuring cup, scoop the batter onto the baking sheets (they don’t spread much) and gently shape them round.  TIP: You have to use your finger to get all that batter out of the cup so they will all be uniform in size.  Pop into preheated 350º oven and bake for 17-18  minutes. Turn off oven and let them stay in there (DOOR CLOSED!) for a few minutes to begin to cool down. Remove and finish cooling.   I found the crust on these “powdery” and off-putting when right out of the oven.  But once they were totally cool and I bagged them up for an hour, the crust developed into a nice chewy crust.  They did NOT get sticky and stick to each other in the bag like the original Oopsie rolls always did.  Yaaaaay. 🙂

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes nine 3-4″ buns, each contains: (size depends on how much you spread the batter on the pan)

88 calories

5.81 g  fat,

.57 g  carbs, .06 g  fiber, .51 g  NET CARBS

4.48 g  protein

124 mg sodium

19 comments on “Egg White Protein Buns

  1. Always making revolution rolls…🙂 When you say to sprinkle the egg white protein into the stiff whites while the mixer is still running, should you run the mixer on high (like the speed you use to whip them) or very low? incorporating the protein powder at this stage is always the most finnicky part, since it sort of melts with contact with liquid!



    • No. It is pure dehydrated egg whites and nothing but. I believe isolate protein you mention is WHEY protein isolate and that’s entirely different. Most grocery stores carry small cans of dried, powdered egg whites it in the baking area. I order the NOW brand on-line in the orange tub.


    • You won’t find it in grocery stores, Julie. I order mine from Googling may find other sources. You only use the tiniest amounts, so a bag lasts a VERY long time. They have flat-rate shipping that is low and a wide variety of low-carb products I use a lot. Been ordering from them for nearly 6 years now.


  2. One more question; finally found powdered egg whites at a local store and found I don’t have glucomannan powder at home; but I do have guar gum and xanthan. Are either of those good substitutes or should I just wait and get the glucomannan powder?


    • You know, Rita, I’m not for sure. Gluc is there for volume and elasticity. You can probably just omit the gluc powder, but one of the gums might be effective. Try 1/2 tsp. of xanthan gum (which is used in baking sometimes) and see if yours come out like my photo. Can’t hurt, and just might work.


      • Okay, just finished baking them. I tried the 1/2 tsp and the yolk/pork rind/butter mix ended up as a yellow lump. Ended up doubling the batch without extra xantan gum, and after I whipped the egg whites added a couple spoonfulls back into the yolk mix and whipped them until it was spreadable. All in all they look sorta like yours; mine aren’t as textured, probably because I had to fold the egg yolk mix in a lot and broke some of the whip – mine definitely wouldn’t have had to be finger-helped out of a mixing cup! But they definitely are firmer than the oopsies were, and as long as they toast who cares what they look like.

        Thanks again!


        • Sounds like you salvaged them OK though, Rita. I agree, if it firms up the original Oopsie recipe (which I’m not too fond of) that’s all goodness in my book.🙂


  3. These look great. Did you try making any larger than 3 inches? I’m thinking regular hamburger bun size, and just want to make sure the outside doesn’t fall apart while waiting for the inside to cook.


    • I’ve only made them with 1/2 cup batter and sort of spread that out. They come out whatever size they come out.🙂 I’m sure you could make them larger round if you want to, though. I’ve thought about it to make sweet version cream-filled cakes and layered with fruit. 🙂 Just recalculate the nutritional info if you do.


  4. Thanks you! This is not about this recipe, but “while I have you on the line”, so to speak, can I ask about your einkorn baking mix? I live in Canada, with no access to this ingredient. I know that you are unable to use lupin flour, but I have a whole bag of it and wonder if it would possibly be a substitute. I know that without trying it yourself you could not say for sure, but do you think that it might be worth giving it a shot, or do you predict it would be a waste of good ingredients? I was thinking I would make a quarter of a batch to test an alternative to einkorn flour in your mix, (I know, then it wouldn’t be einkorn baking mix LOL, but I want to try those recipes), and am unsure what my best option is.


    • As you said, I just can’t know. it might cook up OK. What you need to know about lupin flour is that it is a legume and has a distinct “bean” flavor that comes through everything I baked with it. I didn’t like that so much, so I wasn’t heartbroken when I learned I was allergic to the stuff.🙂 YOU on the other hand, may not be bothered by that background taste. I think your idea of trying a small batch and baking something is the way to test those waters. Let me know how your first baked product comes out with it. I’d be very curious. They’re doing some lupin flour experimenting on Low Carb Friends forums if you interested in checking out their trials and reactions:


  5. I am not sure what pure egg white protein is, and I wonder if you would clarify that for me before I try these? I have some egg white powder (I decanted into a jar so I’m not sure of the brand, but I think it is Deb L) and I wonder if that is appropriate for this use? Many thanks for your advice, and always for your great recipes and inspiration.



    • Kathy, if the ingredients says: egg whites, it’s the same thing and you should be able to use it. If it lists additional ingredients, it’s NOT the same thing. What is sold in grocery stores is usually the pure stuff. I use the NOW brand and have to order mine on-line. There are only 2 grocery stores where I live and neither carries it. But when I lived ont he Gulf coast, I could buy it locally.


Leave a Comment

