Buttery Sriracha Pot Roast

Buttery Sriracha Pot Roast

Buttery Sriracha Pot Roast

The pan juices this roast made, melded with the butter, Sriracha sauce and caramelized onion was so sweet and tasty I was spooning it out onto my meat and licking the pan before I washed it after dinner tonight.  I made sure to not use much Ranch seasoning so as not to drown out the magic of the other flavors.  Man, was this roast ever good! If you’re a pot roast fan, this one is definitely worth.  I’ll bet you add it to your regular rotation roast recipes.  It’s THAT good.    It’s incredibly simple, too.  For those that shy away from spicy foods, there was a bit of tingle on my tongue, but this was not very hot with Sriracha really.  It wasn’t too hot for me, and I don’t like my food very spicy when push comes to shove.  :)  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


2¼ lb. beef chuck roast (this was a very small roast)

½ pkg. Ranch Buttermilk dressing powder

3 oz. onion, sliced pretty thin

2 tsp. Sriracha sauce

4 T. unsalted butter, cut into smaller bits

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Place meat in suitable pan.  I used a 9×9 square metal pan.  Sprinkle the Ranch powder over the top surface of the meat.  Next top with the sliced onions.  Now invert Sriracha bottle and in a zig zag motion like they do chocolate sauce over desserts in the fancy restaurants, zig-zag about 2 tsp. Sriracha sauce over the onion layer.  Next dot with small pieces of the butter to evenly cover.  Top with a good sprinkling of black pepper.  Pop into oven without a cover and bake for about 2 hours.  Chuck takes longer to get tender.  There is a fair amount of shrinkage, so you’ll only end up with about 2 lbs. cooked meat which will serve 4 people nicely, perhaps even 5.  I’m calculating for 4 adult servings.  Cut meat into thick slices and serve with pan juices (that’s the best part!).  No need to thicken the pan juices.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Serves 4 adults, each generous serving contains:

397 calories

19.1 g  fat

2.9 g  carbs, .2 g  fiber, 2.7 g  NET CARBS

50.7 g  protein

432 mg sodium




34 comments on “Buttery Sriracha Pot Roast

    • You could use Franks or Cholula hot sauce and add a pinch of sweetener. Won’t be quite the same though, but probably OK. Not sure how much though, but probably less, as I think they are hotter, personally.


    • It’s a lovely hot sauce used in Chinese cooking. If you’ve ever seen a large bottle of red hot sauce with white lettering on a table at a Chinese restaurant, that would be Sriracha sauce. My Walmart carries it with the Asian foods. I don’t like real hot food, yet I find I can use 1-3 tsp. in a recipe without it “taking off my head” with heat. More than that I avoid, but many people will use more than me. 🙂


  1. Hi, I made this for dinner tonight. It was amazing!! Best pot roast I’ve ever had and my family loved it. We had your pork patties with dipping sauce last night. Your recipes are keeping us happy and satisfied on our low carb diet – thank you!!!


    • Welcome to my site, Gina. I’m so glad you found the pot roast pleasing. We were amazed how good such a simple roast could be, too. And those Asian pork patties are delightful, too. So happy my recipes are making your low-carb menus varied, as food boredom is the kiss of death for any diet plan. 🙂


  2. We have started making this a lot, and sometimes substitute chicken for roast (adding some shredded pepper jack to melt over it near the end). But the roast is my favorite. After 20 years of only cooking roasts in a crockpot this recipe is now the way we prefer it. I guess you can teach an old dog new tricks😉


    • Oh, this isn’t really hot at all, Liana. Honest. I don’t like hot stuff. You get the flavor of the sriracha but not “heat” to me. You have to get in the realm of TWICE this amount of Sriracha to be “hot” IMHO.


Leave a Comment

