Xenia Monaghan’s Hungarian Baked Cauliflower

Hungarian CauliflowerThis tasty dish I am told, is Hungarian.  It should be topped with WHITER breadcrumbs, but hey, we use what is on hand, which was low-carb DARK bread last night.  I will at next baking get a new picture with white breadcrumbs and swap out photos.  It was served to my family when I was in high school by my best friend’s mother.  Her daughter, also named Peggy, and I were inseparable back them.  :)  Mrs. Monaghan, in her 20’s, was a Hungarian ballerina in Budapest, Hungary.  She met and eventually married a US Army Officer stationed there during WWII.  They were our neighbors at Ft. Leavenworth, Kansas.  I think of everything I was served at her house as Hungarian, although it may not have been at all. ;)   What I DO know is that this simple dish is really tasty and ever so easy to prepare.  The flavor has lingered in my memory over the years and I just had to try and reproduce this recipe in a low-carb version.  I think I’ve come pretty close, too!  She used regular white breadcrumbs, but I have subbed in a low-carb bread for the topping.  I may have my amounts wrong, but this taste is pretty close to what I’m remembering she served us.  This dish is suitable once you get to Phase 2 of Atkins, and for all Keto diets.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 medium 6″ head of cauliflower, cut into flowerettes

2 green onions, chopped

4 oz. cream cheese, slightly softened

¼ c. + 2 T. chive and onion cream cheese spread (I use Walmart’s Great Value brand)

2 T. sour cream

Dash each salt and black pepper

1/8 tsp. black pepper

1 slice of my Cheesy “Cornbread” or other low-carb bread of similar carb count, crumbled

3 T. melted butter

DIRECTIONS:   Cook the cauliflower in boiling water until almost tender, but not quite.  Preheat oven to 350º.   Drain cauliflower and add in the green onion, cheeses, sour cream, salt and pepper and stir.  The cheeses will melt from the heat of the cauliflower as your stir them in.  When all is well blended, spoon into a greased baking dish.  I used a 9″ ceramic quiche pan.  Preheat oven to 350º.

In a skillet, melt the butter.  Stir in the bread crumbs.  Sprinkle the buttered crumbs evenly over the top.  Pop into 350º oven and bake for about 20 minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 6 servings, each contains:

247 calories

22.33 g  fat

8.2  g carbs, 3.05 g  fiber, 5.15 g  NET CARBS

6 g  protein

259 mg sodium

10 comments on “Xenia Monaghan’s Hungarian Baked Cauliflower

  1. This looks amazing and I can’t wait to try it! I have one question, though. Does “¼ + 2 T. chive and onion cream cheese spread” mean 1/4 T or was it supposed to be 1/4 C? Thanks!


  2. That is a very interesting recipe, Peggy; i am really looking forward to trying it! And I LOVE your commentary about your friend and her mother. Reading your comments is like sitting across from you at the kitchen table and sharing stories. Truly, the Internet has created many cyber-friends, even though we are separated by many miles! ~~ Mary Huber


    • Thanks Mike. I hadn’t noted I failed to tag a category for this recipe. I was in too much of a hurry when posting it would appear.🙂 Those buttery breadcrumbs are so good on top. Bacon would be good, but will change the flavor impact quite a bit, not in a bad way, just a different way. That variation my palate would see as a totally different dish. BUT A GOOD ONE! How can ya go wrong with bacon? 🙂


Leave a Comment

