Einkorn English Muffin

Einkorn English Muffin

Einkorn English Muffin

Tried my Peggy’s English Muffin as an Einkorn flour version to see how that would improve texture and flavor.  I also decided to add a little psyllium husk powder for elasticity and the results were amazing!  Toasted in my broiler nicer than any other toast to date.  Flavor was like real toast!  Still haven’t achieved that acidic “sour dough” flavor that store-bought English muffins have though.   I’ve never been into messing with sourdough starter and such, quite frankly, so that may never happen.  But I’m pretty happy with this muffin and may not do further experiments on it.  Peggy, who are you kidding?  I can’t quit until I reach Nirvana and this muffin just isn’t quite there yet.  But it is vastly improved over my old version linked above.  I see that as all “goodness”.   :)  As always, if there are further tests and improvements, I’ll come back to this post and make those changes. 🙂

As with all my Einkorn experiments, they are not suitable until you are nearly or at goal weigh.  Keto dieters can have these occasionally if the day’s menu allows the carbs.  These would not be suitable for Primal-Paleo folks.  If you’re wondering, I order my Einkorn flour from Jovial foods.com.  Some people are able to buy it in local grocery stores, but I am not.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1½ T. unsalted butter

¼ c. egg whites (I used the ones in a carton)

2 T. very hot water

3 T. almond flour

1 T. Einkorn flour (for gluten free, use 1 T. oat flour ground from 100% certified gluten-free oats)

1 tsp. oat fiber (for gluten-free, use oat flour ground from 100% certified gluten-free oats)

¼ tsp. baking powder

1½ tsp. psyllium husk powder (I use NOW brand from Netrition.com)

DIRECTIONS:   Melt butter in a small bowl.  I used a 5″ oval dish.  Add the egg whites and hot water.  Add the dry ingredients in the order listed, stirring after each addition.  The mixture will be very fairly soupy at this point.  Add the psyllium husk powder last and the “batter” will now begin to thicken up.  Stir well with your fork to insure all is well-mixed.  Allow 1 full minute for the psyllium to do its job of thickening your batter.  Pop into your microwave and cook on HI for about 1 minute (should be dry to the touch in the center).  Cook a few seconds longer if still damp in the center.  Microwaves vary. Preheat your broiler.

Remove, loosen the edges with a knife tip and tip the muffin out onto a cutting board.  Cool a minute or so and then carefully slice laterally into two slices using a serrated bread knife.  Place on a metal pan and toast/brown the bottoms and then the tops in your broiler or toaster oven to your liking.  Serve hot with butter and your favorite jam.  You can also toast these in your slot toaster if you prefer, but be forewarned, I find they tend to “slump” or crumple down, even with the toaster support wires.  They then are misshapen and inclined to burn when they crumple and touch the elements of the toaster.   Your call on the toasting method.🙂

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes one muffin.  Entire recipe contains:

314 calories

26.5 g  fat

12.2 g  carbs, 7.1 g fiber, 5.1 g  NET CARBS

11.1 g  protein

354 mg sodium

2 comments on “Einkorn English Muffin

    • I’m sure you can, but I wouldn’t know how to advise you on that, having not done it. I’d grease the pan and cook it 15-20 minutes at 350º??? No guarantee it will work though. Just try one and see.


Leave a Comment

