Ranch® Buttermilk Salad Dressing (or dip)

Ranch Buttermilk Dressing

Ranch Buttermilk Dressing

Ranch Dip for Veggie Tray

Ranch Dip for Veggie Tray


I finally came up with a version of Ranch® Dressing for my husband, who just loves it on salads.  I think my version tastes better than what is sold in the bottle (which I actually don’t like).  No unhealthy ingredients in mine, either.




I’m not too fond of dill, so I tend to reduce it in most recipes.  But my husband LOVES dill and likes more in recipes, thus the range of dill shown in the Ranch® Powder recipe linked below.  I basically used equal amounts of the herbs I selected except the dill and thyme.  A tablespoon of thyme would have been waaaaay too much!   This dressing is super yummy!  Try it and see if you don’t agree it’s even better than the famous bottled stuff!  As you well know, this also makes an excellent dip for raw vegetable party trays.  All you have to do for the dip is increase the sour cream to make it thicker.  You’ll have to recalculate carbs to add in the extra sour cream.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 c. homemade mayonnaise

3/4 c. sour cream (add ¼ c. more if using as a veggie dip)

¼ c. buttermilk (only 2 T. if using as a veggie dip)

1 T. my Ranch Dressing Powder Blend

2 tsp. red wine vinegar

1/8 tsp. salt

OPTIONAL:  1/8 tsp. glucomannan powder if you like a thicker dressing

DIRECTIONS:  Measure the first 3 ingredients into a medium bowl.  Whisk well to blend to a smooth mixture.  Add my Ranch Dressing Powder Blend, vinegar and salt and whisk a couple minutes until the herb mixture is thoroughly blended in.  If using the glucomannan thickener, whisk it in last.  Transfer to a saved empty plastic dressing bottle (I always keep and wash them for homemade dressings) if you have one, or a lidded jar.  Close tightly and chill.  Serve on crisp green salads or as a dip for raw veggies.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes two cups or eight ¼ c. servings, each contains:

251 calories

26.8 g  fat

1.81 g carbs, .1 g  fiber, 1.71 g  NET CARBS

1.72 g  protein

66 mg sodium




10 comments on “Ranch® Buttermilk Salad Dressing (or dip)

  1. I’m supposed to be eating dairy free., and I’m honestly trying! Although I do low carb, dairy free is hard! Any alternative on the sour cream? Hellmans mayo is supposed to be dairy-free?


  2. I agree with you, Peggy. If there is dairy in it, there is going to be hidden carbs even if the nutritional info says “zero” carbs. They definitely add up. And I wouldn’t use the powdered stuff in the envelope because it is processed.


    • Heavy cream has carbs. All dairy products have lactose and lactose is a form of sugar therefore it has to have carbs. Granted, it is only .4 g per T. but that adds up to 1.6 carbs per 1/4 cup + herbs have carbs, too. Just be aware, although it’s LOW carb, it isn’t ZERO carb. There’s bound to be some carbs in the Ranch commercial packet, too.


Leave a Comment

