Scrambled Eggs with Sausage Refogado

Scrambles Eggs with Portuguese Refogado

Scrambled Eggs with Sausage Refogado

Portugal is enamored of refogado sauce (onion and tomato sauteed in olive oil).  So am I actually.  They put it on/in EVERYTHING!  This sauce is to Portugal what Sofrito is to Spain and Puerto Rico!  I decided to take it to a new level and add some hot pork sausage and green onion to have with my morning eggs yesterday. Man, oh man, was that ever good!  My readers know by now I’m not too fond of eggs for breakfast and now I have another new way to disguise their heavy taste!  The sweetness from the Roma tomato and the spiciness of the sausage just played so nicely together with my buttery eggs.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets and Paleo-Primal followers as well.  I hope you’ll try this delicious way to prepare eggs.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


4 large eggs

1 T. butter

4 oz. hot pork breakfast sausage

1 oz yellow onion, chopped

1 green onions, chopped

1 Roma plum tomato, cut into fairly large chunks

Dash black pepper (dash salt if desired)

OPTIONAL:  1 T. olive oil for authentic flavor

DIRECTIONS:   Brown the sausage in a non-stick skillet. Add the yellow onion and saute until it is tender.  Add the tomato and green onion and saute just until the tomato begins to break down but is not reduced to mush.  If using, add 1 T. olive oil, but I did not bother as my sausage made enough grease for me.  In a separate skillet, melt the butter and scramble the eggs to your liking.  Spoon half the eggs onto each of two serving plates.  Spoon half the sausage refogado onto each plate as well.  Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 2 servings, each contains:

401 calories

31.9 g  fat

4.15 g  carbs, .9 g  fiber, 3.25 g  NET CARBS

24.3 g  protein

570 mg sodium

4 comments on “Scrambled Eggs with Sausage Refogado

Leave a Comment

