Chicken-Spinach Parmesan

Chicken-Spinach Parmesan with Mushrooms

Chicken-Spinach Parmesan

Having 1 huge baked chicken breast in my refrigerator the other night, I created a tasty Italian dish with it.  With some spinach mushrooms, cheese and sauce this was simple as can be to make.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets if the numbers will fit into your daily limit.   Note:  I use some of my homemade beef spaghetti sauce as that’s what I had available, but I didnt’ care for the beef in it, so I’m recommending you use a meatless sauce for this recipe and have calculated stats as though I used my favorite sauce, Lucini  with basil in it.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


10 oz. cooked chicken breast meat

8 oz. frozen whole leaf spinach

2  4-oz. cans sliced mushrooms, drained (omit if you don’t like)

1½ c. Lucini Spaghetti Sauce (or your favorite brand low-carb sauce)

2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese

½ c. Parmesan grated cheese

½ tsp. dried mixed Italian seasonings or 1 T. fresh (your choice: basil, oregano, crushed fennel or any combination)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease a casserole baking dish lightly.  Squeeze water out of the spinach and evenly place the uncooked spinach in the bottom of the dish.  Tear chicken breast into bite-size pieces and spread it evenly on the spinach. Sprinkle half the Parmesan and half the mozzarella cheese on next.  Drain and add the mushrooms next.  Spoon on the spaghetti sauce and Italian seasonings.  Finish off with the rest of the two cheeses.  Bake at 350º for about 30 minutes.  Serve with a nice green salad and perhaps your favorite low-carb bread or garlic bread.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 6 servings, each contains:

276 calories

14 g  fat

8.35 g  carbs, 2.63 g  fiber, 5.72 g  NET CARBS

29.5 g  protein

841 mg sodium  (use less mozzarella to lower this number)






9 comments on “Chicken-Spinach Parmesan

    • I buy mine at my local Walmart, so I would think other stores would carry it. Google it and you may find a nearby store locator feature on their website. I love those store locator thingies.🙂 Walmart has carried it for several years now where I live. I notice the Lucini folks are shifting from jars to sealed pouches to market it in just recently. Don’t like that, but I can’t control how they package it. But any meatless low-carb sauce will work in this. I just happen to like the light flavor of Lucini. Not so heavy ans sweet to me. 🙂


Leave a Comment

