Cream of Celery Soup

Cream of Celery Soup

Cream of Celery Soup

A simple soup is often all I’m looking for at lunch time.  I occasionally fix myself a can of Cream of Celery Soup when I was growing up.  But that had lots of carbs and junky ingredients.  I’ve made a low-carb version that is much healthier.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


12 stalks celery, chopped coarsely (an entire small bunch)

Water to cover celery in a soup pot

2 c. homemade chicken broth

¼ tsp. salt

4 oz. softened cream cheese

1 c. heavy cream

1/8 tsp. glucomannan powder or your favorite thickener

VARIATION:  Add a light sprinkling of onion powder

DIRECTIONS:  Cut up the celery and add to a pressure cooker or large stew pot.  Cover with water and chicken broth.  Bring to pressure/boil, lower heat and cook/simmer until celery is tender or about 20 minutes (about 10 in a pressure cooker).  Bring down pressure and open pot slowly.  Replace on burner, add the glucomannan powder and using a stick blender, puree the celery in the broth.  If you don’t own a stick blender, transfer to a blender or food processor (DO NOT OVERFILL or it will rise and overflow).  Add glucomannan and pulse to puree and blend in the glucomannan to a smooth mixture.  Add back to the soup pot and stir in cream and cream cheese.  Simmer 2-3 minutes and serve with a salad or by itself.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes eight 1-cup servings, each contains

180.5 calories

16.8 g  fat

2.98 g  carbs, .96 g fiber, 2.02 g  NET CARBS

3.6 g  protein

175 mg sodium



4 comments on “Cream of Celery Soup

    • Gelatin is not really a thickener. I’ve sure never used it for that. I have no idea what will happen, Tracy. I personally don’t think it would work. Think about it a minute. When you heat water or cream, and dissolve gelatin in it for cheesecakes and jello, it does not get immediately thick. You have to put that jello in the refrigerator to set the gelatin up, and you get a “jelly” like result, not a pudding like result. Don’t see how that would work in a hot soup at all.


  1. This sounds really good. I appreciate that you included pressure cooker instructions. Do you know how long this would last in the fridge, or can it be frozen for use in future recipes? Thank you for sharing.


    • I really don’t know about fridge life, as I only had a few servings left. I froze mine and will post my finding when I defrost it. But the cream cheese in it and cream keep both well in the fridge, so I would think a week, maybe even longer? Freezing with cream cheese is tricky as it separates a bit on defrosting, although there is no impact on flavor. But I’ve had good luck re blending soups with cream cheese in them. 🙂


Leave a Comment

