Bacon Gravy with Kale

Bacon Gravy with Kale

Bacon Gravy with Kale

I felt like eating bacon gravy for breakfast today, rather than my usual sausage gravy.  And as I knew neither lunch nor dinner tonight would involve any Vitamin K for my hubby (he has to eat a little bit of Vitamin K each day), I decided to throw in a bit of finely chopped kale to see what that was like.  Well, it was delicious, although the kale took a rear seat to the bacon and green onion flavors. I would definitely make this new breakfast gravy again and it’s sooooooo nutritious with that little bit of kale thrown in the mix.  Hubby gave it a thumbs-up, too!  I served it at breakfast over toast, but I see potential for this being served over baked or broiled fish or chicken as well. 🙂 this recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins (using an Induction-friendly bread) and for Keto diets.  Primal diners could enjoy this occasionally as well.  Paleo folks will want to sub in coconut milk or almond milk for the cream.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1/3  lb. bacon (about 6 slices)

3/4 c. kale (1 medium leaf), stemmed and chopped fine

2 large green onions, chopped

1 c. heavy cream

1 c. water

Dash salt and black pepper

xanthan gum or your favorite thickener (optional)

DIRECTIONS:   Coarsely chop the bacon and brown in a non-stick skillet.  Add the kale and saute over high heat until it begins to get limp (about 2 minutes).  Add the green onion and saute 1 minute to soften. Reduce heat to medium and add the cream, water and seasonings.  As it simmers, lightly dust the surface with xanthan gum and wait to allow it to thicken.  Dust again if necessary to get it as thick as you like, waiting a minute between additions.  Less is always better when it comes to xanthan gum, lest you end up with a slimy gravy.  ;)  Serve at once over low-carb toast as shown, or low-carb biscuits.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 4 generous servings, each contains: (numbers below DO NOT include the toast, biscuit or whatever meat/recipe you serve this on)

387 calories

39 g  fat

4.12 g  carbs, .6 g  fiber, 3.52 g  NET CARBS

6.2 g  protein

382 mg sodium

7 comments on “Bacon Gravy with Kale

    • I make my own 90% of the time, only using commercial tortillas. Lots of recipes here on the blog for biscuits, sheet and sliced breads. I use Mission Carb Balance “whole wheat” tortillas and keep a package int he fridge at all times for tortilla, burrito and wrap needs. They have 3 net carbs per tortilla.


  1. This recipe does look fantastic and the carb count is great. My only question is that we do not like kale. Could I use spinach in place of the kale and not compromise the taste? Please respond because I would like to make this on the weekend.


  2. Can’t wait to try this, Peggy! My daughter will be here for Thanksgiving and the day after, so I know what Friday’s breakfast will feature! Thank you!
    ~~ Mary


Leave a Comment

