Einkorn Pizza Crust

Einkorn Pizza Crust

Today I took my Einkorn Sandwich Bun bread dough and rolled it into a pizza crust.  The flavor was great, as expected.  The texture was great.  I had to use two hands to hold it for the first couple bites of the slice but then I could hold it in one hand for the balance of the slice.  But we liked this crust enough to definitely make it again.  Tastes like real yeast pizza crust!  Smells like it cooking, too!  :)  It browned nicely on the bottom and almost too much on the edge.  But that was my fault as I was trying my new convection oven and had it set too high on the crust pre-cook phase.  Next time I’ll use my conventional oven and it won’t brown that much.  This recipe is not suitable until you get close to goal weight and in Atkins Pre-Maintenance or Maintenance Phase.

I order my Einkorn Flour from Jovial Foods.com.  I order my NOW brand psyllium husk powder from Netrition.

NOTE:  For a lower carb crust, use my Gluten-Free Pizza Crust recipe instead


1½ c. almond flour

5 T. psyllium husk powder

2 tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. dry yeast

¼ tsp. sugar (consumed by yeast)

¼ c. Einkorn Flour

2½ T. apple cider vinegar

3 egg whites

3/4 c. boiling water

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Mix all the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.  Stir well to be sure it is uniformly mixed.  Mix the egg whites and vinegar in a small bowl with a fork.  Add the boiling water and stir.  Add all the wet ingredients all at once to the dry ingredients.  Stir quickly with the fork, to make a thick dough.  Transfer to using a rubber spatula and continue to stir and fold as it thickens up.   Roll the dough between two silicone sheets or 2 sheets of parchment paper.  I did this right on my pizza pan.  Remove top piece of silicone or parchment.  Pop into preheated oven and bake for about 10 minutes to dry off the surface of the bread and partially cook it.  Remove and top with your favorite toppings.  Place back in oven and continue baking for about 20 minutes. Cut into 8 slices.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 8 slices, each contains: (numbers are for crust only!)

156 calories

10.6 g  fat

13.13 g  carbs, 6.98 g  fiber, 6.15 g  NET CARBS

6.53 g  protein

193 mg sodium



8 comments on “Einkorn Pizza Crust

  1. This is awesome, Peggy! I had asked a month or so ago about using the sandwich bun dough as a pizza crust – I can’t tell you how happy I am that YOU tried it first (and with success!) I have no patience as a baker and if I try something and it’s only so so, I pretty much never do the tweaking necessary to work anything out. I’m thrilled that you did the work for me. :))) I cannot wait to try this as a pizza crust! Thanks again!!


    • I thought it was pretty good, Jackson. In all honesty, I’m not sure it’s enough better than my gluten-free recipe to pay the carb price. But it had a good flavor. The two leftover pieces reheat OK, but were less sturdy after reheating (which surprised me); my gluten-free reheats crisper on the bottom from further oven heat. But if your family tends to polish off a pizza with no leftovers, that wouldn’t be a problem in your household.🙂


      • I just wanted to make a comment, because I’m not sure if anyone else knows this. when reheating pizza, don’t use oven or microwave. use a skillet with a lid! turn heat to medium, if gas stove or just a little higher for electric. it crisps the crust without making it too hard and dry (like the oven) and not limp or tough (like microwave)! no need to preheat. just put your slices in the v pan, turn on the heat and cover. keep an eye. you can tell when the toppings are heated and cheese melty.. it is the clisest to last night’s pizza you can get!


        • Welcome to the site, K3llz! And thank you for your reheating tip. I would have never thought to do it that way…..but it makes good sense and I will try it next time I have a piece or two leftover.


  2. Happy New Year Miss Peggy now…. please tell me why u are using this Einkorn stuff when it is so high in cost and very high in CARBS so help me understand cause blowed away


    • If you do a little reading on the Jovial site, some people sensitive to wheat find they are NOT sensitive to this particular non-GMO ancient wheat. Jovial’s comes from Italy. I’m not GF or celiac personally, Sheila, but just wanted to see what happened if I tried a little in my recipes to improve texture and flavor, without jacking up the carbs TOO much. It DOES bring a flour taste that nothing else can duplicate IMHO. And I’m still able to keep carb counts under 10 per serving. My husband was just not too pleased with the all nonn-flour bakedk goods. He’s a lot pickier than I in that regard, so he asked me to start experimenting with tiny amounts in my other LC recipes to see if that would give them the taste he is wanting in baked goods. AND ITS WORKING! He’ll actually eat things I add the wee bit of Einkorn to, where he was actively avoiding the other ones.


  3. That looks DELICIOUS! Definitely going to make it tomorrow to celebrate the first day of 2015. Thank you, Peggy, for all you do, and Happy New Year to you and your hubby.


    • thank you and I do hope you like this crust, Mary. I just had to try it. Not sure it’s any better than my gluten-Free crust though. Got to be honest. It’s good….just not necessarily better with Einkorn added.🙂


Leave a Comment

