I calculate my nutritional stats at, which utilizes the USDA Foods Database.  Foods that are not in their database, I key into an additional personal database of custom foods the data that appears on the Nutritional label on the food package/can/jar/bottle itself.   When I list nutritional info for my recipes, as a rule, I only include calories, fat, carbs, fiber, net carbs, protein and sodium.  I used to calculate other macronutrients  but it just got to be too time consuming to calculate and type them all out.  And so many readers have told me they don’t really look at that kind of detail anyway.



  1. I have been using MyFitnessPal but at the end of Aug-2014 I bought a Fitbit and sync the two – maybe I should use the Fitbit data base and see how that works. I find Sodium levels are handy to keep track of as so many products a loaded with salt. Love your site.


    • Welcome, Nelda. Glad you like my recipes, Nelda. I’m not familiar at all with Fitbit. I use Fitday and really like the detail it provides. About the only things it doesn’t track: folic acid, omega 3’s and omega 6’s. 🙂


  2. I agree. I don’t use the “details”, but I do appreciate the ones you include each time. I know that is a time consuming job as I started doing that years ago on Fitday with my own recipes…before so many wonderful low-carbers started including the information. Thank you so much for all your work, and great recipes!


    • Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback, April. I really appreciate that. And WELCOME to my blog! With over 850 recipes here now, I hope you browse the categories on the right and see lots of my recipes you want to try. I love user feedback when they try them. Helps me understand problems they may have encountered, and they often have recommendations for changes. LOVE those and often incorporate their suggestions into the recipes.🙂


Leave a Comment

