Eggs Poblano with Bacon


Eggs Poblano with Bacon

Eggs Poblano with Bacon

These can be baked in two mini-casserole dishes (mine are 6″ long) or you can do it right on the serving plates.  The flavor on these was absolutely scrumptious!   I will definitely be making THIS again!  One of the best egg dishes I’ve EVER created!   Didn’t really taste the poblano as such either, although not sure why.  For some bizarre reason I kept tasting POTATO in this!  ??  When I started making these two breakfasts, my husband was willing to try it (he’s not fond of peppers).  But when it came time to construct them, he came in the kitchen and announced a change of mind, so the toppings, so as not to be wasteful, went all on the one dish in the photo.  Then when he tasted mine, he LIKED IT!  We agreed double toppings was way too much, but said he WOULD eat this recipe in future just as I made it. Don’tcha just love when you can win them over? 🙂

This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets as well as Primal.  Paleo folks naturally need to omit the cheese.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


4 slices bacon (weighed 4 oz), chopped

1 oz. onion, chopped

2 oz. poblano pepper, chopped

Tiny Dash of chipotle powder  (chile powder or taco seasoning will work)

2 T. chopped cilantro

¼ c. shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese

2 T. unsalted butter

4 large eggs, beaten

DIRECTIONS:  Brown the bacon in a non-stick skillet. Add the onion and poblano pepper.  Saute until slightly browned.  Add cilantro and spice.  Turn fire off and spoon out mixture onto a paper plate.  Wipe out skillet with paper towel and melt the butter in the pan next.  Add the beaten eggs and scramble/saute as usual. Spoon half the eggs into each of two small individual casserole dishes (or directly onto their plates).  Sprinkle half the cheese over each.  Spoon half the bacon-pepper mixture on top of each.  Pop them into microwave and heat for 1-2 minutes on a LOW setting just long enough to melt the cheese well.  Or you can use a regular oven at 350º.  Serve at once and ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 2 servings, each contains:

408 calories

34.5 g  fat

3.3 g  carbs, .65 g  fiber, 2.65 g  NET CARBS

22.6 g  protein

480 mg sodium




8 comments on “Eggs Poblano with Bacon

  1. I do eggs like this except I use a locally produced green chile sauce, from here in New Mexico. I put a couple of teaspoons of it in a bowl covered with grated sharp cheddar. Nuke it for 30 seconds to melt the cheese and then add two softboiled eggs. It is so good!


  2. I’ve been looking for some really different egg recipes and I think this will fit the bill! However, is there a typo on the fat grams? It does look terribly high.



    • Yes, I left out my decimal point. Should be 34.5 and I’ve corrected that. Thanks so much for noticing my error, April. Hope you like this dish. I was just blown away at how good this was. 🙂


Leave a Comment

