Curried Carrot Soup

Curried Carrot Soup

Curried Carrot Soup

To have been so simple today’s lunch creation was so tasty!  I used 3 cans of carrots drained of all their water.  I really wanted to clear them out of my pantry.  If I could just get the hubs to stop buying canned veggies I’d be ever so happy, but he has incredible memory lapses when he’s at the store shopping alone.  I cooked a lovely chicken stew night before last and the leftover stock was so rich, that went into this soup pot with my carrots.  The spices below speak for themselves.  Carrots are not as low carb as some veggies, but I will consume them from time to time.  Not as high as you would think really.   This soup is suitable once you are out of the first two week Induction phase of Atkins or keto diets.  Primal followers can enjoy this but Paleo should sub in coconut milk for the cream, which would be very good I think.


3   15-oz cans of carrots, no salt added, drained (or 6 c. “loosely filled” fresh sliced carrots)

1 qt. (4 c.) rich chicken stock

1½ tsp. curry powder (any brand will do, I used “hot” but the soup wasn’t too spicy)

1 tsp. Garam Masala Spice Blend

½ tsp. sea salt

Dash black pepper

½ c. cilantro

½ c. heavy cream

DIRECTIONS:  Bring the stock to a boil. Add canned carrots.  If using fresh carrots, simmer them until very tender.  Add all other ingredients (but the cilantro and cream) as the carrots are simmering.  When the carrots are very tender, puree them with a stick blender.  If you don’t yet own one, you really ought to ask Santa for one if you do many pureed soups.  They are so cheap and so much nicer for pureeing right in your cook pot rather than pureeing in small batches in a blender or food processor and having to return each batch back into the soup pot.  Return all your pureed carrots to the pot. Stir in the chopped cilantro and cream and simmer for 1-2 more minutes.  Serve garnished with a cilantro leaf and a sprinkle of Garam Masala.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes seven 1-cup servings, each serving contains:

143 calories

8.27 g  fat

9.97 g  carbs, 2.91 g  fiber, 7.06 g  NET CARBS

4.8 g protein

238 mg sodium





4 comments on “Curried Carrot Soup

  1. Peggy, I made this soup today. It was so easy and quick and just what I needed in this cold rainy weather. Keep up the good work. I have made many of your recipes and they are wonderful


    • Shucks, Karen. You’re makin’ me blush. Glad you like my cooking!🙂 We loved that soup, too. I don’t cook carrots too often as they are not a favorite of the hubs…..but he did like this soup.🙂 Have a nice evening, Karen.


Leave a Comment

