Raspberry Banana Jello®

Raspberry Banana Jello®

Raspberry Banana Jello®

This was my Dad’s favorite way to eat Jello® and certainly one of mine.  Although I don’t think of this as a “recipe” in the creative sense, I thought I’d share it with you as it is indeed very tasty if you’ve never had it before.

I was rummaging around in  my freezer today deciding what to fix for dinner and saw the tail end of a bag of frozen raspberries I had totally forgotten was in there.  You know how that is with a big chest freezer.  I just then remembered I had bought quite a lot of sugar-free Jello last week at the store and luck would have it, I had 2 packages of raspberry in the batch!.  I haven’t made Jello in ages, and when I realized I also had one banana left on the counter, Dad’s favorite immediately came to mind.

This is so good, the usual whipped cream I have on Jello just isn’t needed to enjoy this.  Funny how sometimes the simplest of desserts can still be very satisfying.  This recipe is not suitable until you get to the higher fruits level in Phase 2 of Atkins.  You can enjoy this on Keto diets if you can fit the carbs into your daily carb limit.


2 small 4-serving boxes sugar-free raspberry gelatin

2 c. boiling water

1 cup ice water (2 c. cold water if you need 8 servings or want less intense/tart flavor)

1 cup frozen, unsweetened raspberries (use less for lower carbs)

1   7″ banana sliced (use less for lower carbs)

DIRECTIONS:  Bring a kettle of water to boil.  Place gelatin powder in a serving dish.  Pour 2 cups boiling water over the gelatin and stir until the gelatin is totally dissolved.  Add the frozen berries and stir until they have defrosted.  Add the cup of ice water.  Stir again.  Slice the banana into the jello as evenly as you can get the slices.  Be sure each slice is submerged in the gelatin to seal if from air and darkening.  Place dish in refrigerator.  In 30 minutes, go back and push the banana slices down again to be sure they stay submerged (I get mad at myself when I forget to go back and do that, which I have done often).  When dessert is totally gelled, in about 2-3 hours, serve in individual cups or bowls.  although the gelatin boxes say this serves 8, I don’t think those serving sizes are realistic for adults, so I have calculated this recipe at 6 servings.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 6 servings, each contains:

50 calories

.33 g  fat

9,.63 g  carbs, 3.21 g  fiber, 6.42 g  NET CARBS  (4.81 NC if you made 8-svg. method)

2.6 g  protein

80 mg sodium

Leave a Comment

